San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Map & Atlas Collection

About

The Library Map & Atlas Collection is located on the 1st Floor. Ask for help at Research Assistance Desk. Materials can be checked out and returned at the Circulation Desk on the 1st Floor. Most items may be checked out for 28 days.

How to Find Maps and Atlases

Locate printed maps and atlases by using the online catalog InvestiGator. All maps are located on the 5th floor, but atlases may be in the main collection, reference collection, or atlas collection. Be sure to check the location information when using InvestiGator.

Search by titles, authors, or keywords. In keyword searches, always include the word "maps" even if you need an atlas. For example:

"san francisco maps"
"petroleum maps"
"earthquake maps"

To limit the search to items in the Map and Atlas Collection, use the Advanced search option.

Map Card Catalog: Check for older maps by using the Map Card Catalog. This card file is organized alphabetically by geographical names (countries, cities, oceans, world, universe, etc.). Subject [such as "climate," "earthquakes," "population," etc.] are only listed after the name of a place.

Atlases: Atlases with the location "Atlas Collection" are shelved in call number order in the map area. Call numbers begin on the wall shelving and continue under the large tables.

Library Map Collections

There are several distinct collections of maps within the Map Collection:

General Map Collection [G 3000 - G 9999]

These maps are filed by "G" call numbers in the map cases; the drawers have labels indicating general geographical areas for browsing. This collection includes general maps from various government agencies and private publishers such as the National Geographic Society. This collection includes examples of "topographic quadrangles" for California (maps showing elevation). A current collection for western states is in the Geography Department.

CIA Map File

The U.S. Central Intelligence Agency publishes a popular series of briefing maps for foreign countries, regions, and occasionally cities. Most are basic political maps in good sizes for class presentations or papers. These are in a file cabinet and organized by place name. They are available online at CIA Maps and Publications; older titles may be available online at the University of Texas at Austin.

Road Map File

Arranged by place name in a file cabinet. Current maps for local areas are shelved at the Government Publications Desk and the last floor Reference Desk.

Defense Mapping Agency/Army Map Service Maps

This is a closed collection of maps no longer shared with libraries. These maps were published in cooperation with mapping agencies throughout the world. The maps are organized into series which are indexed in the Map Card Catalog and in a large AMS Binder with index maps to each series. Some series are large, simple briefing maps but the majority are topographic maps at scales from 1:250,000 to 1:1,000,000 published between the 1940s and 1980s. The collection is focused on non-United States maps.

Miscellaneous Collections

There are several smaller collections of maps which are indexed in the Map Card Catalog or available for browsing such as aeronautical and hydrographic charts, park and forest maps, geology map series, SF Bay Conservation & Development Commission series, plastic relief maps, and posters.

Other Map Collections

SF State Geography Department Map Library

The Geography and Human Environmental Studies Department maintains a map library that is available for campus and public use in HSS 289. The collections include a US Geological Survey depository collection of topographic maps at 1:24,000 for the western states. The Geography Department also maintains the Institute for Geographic Information Science (IGISc) that is "is devoted to increasing campus and community literacy in spatial methods and technologies, as well as enhancing the educational environment through the cultivation of research."

California Historical Society Library

The Library contains material relating to the history of California and the West from the early explorations to the present time including maps.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection

Online collection of rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials.

San Francisco Public Library Map Collection

The main library's Government Information Center maintains a collection of maps from government agencies. This collection includes nautical charts.

Stanford University Map Collection

Located in the Branner Earth Sciences Library.

University of California, Berkeley Map Collections

Located in the Earth Sciences and Map Library

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.