San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Women Studies

About

The following bibliography is a selective guide to resources available in the J. Paul Leonard Library or through the Internet. Women Studies is an interdisciplinary field and the focus of this guide is on information sources related to women in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.

Also, consult the research guides in other academic areas depending on your topic.

Locating Books

Books at SF State:

To find books go to the Library’s homepage: www.library.sfsu.edu, and select Find Books & More. You can search InvestiGator, the Library’s online catalog, by “Keyword”, “Author”, or “Title”. Also, you can search by “Subject,” using Library of Congress (LC) subject heading terms. Below is a list of LC subject terms used in the SFSU catalog. The following links take you directly to a current list of books and other resources for each topic in the SFSU Library.

Asian American women Muslim women
Ecofeminism Sex discrimination in employment
Feminism Women—Cross-cultural studies
Feminist theory Women--Education
Matriarchy Women’s studies

Books at Other Libraries

1. From the Library homepage under “FIND: More”, select Link+, a union catalog of more than 30 California libraries, all in one searchable database; borrowing books is free, and they usually arrive within 3-5 days. To use Link+, SFSU students, faculty, and staff must go to the Library’s Home Page to set up a Library PIN.

2. From the Library homepage under “FIND: More,” select WorldCat. This database contains records for books in libraries nationwide and internationally. To order the books you locate, first search InvestiGator (the SFSU library catalog) to see if we have the book here. If we do not, SFSU students, faculty and staff may request (free of charge) books through Document Delivery Services. Try Link+ first; if it's not available there, use the iLLiad service. This process can take anywhere between 3 days - 3 weeks, so you need to plan ahead!

More info: Finding Books research guide

Locating Journal, Magazine, & Newspaper Articles

SFSU databases can be accessed from the Library’s homepage under “Find : Articles & Databases.” To access databases off-campus, SFSU students, faculty, and staff should create a Library PIN from the link “Library Services: Library Accounts & PIN” provided on the Library’s homepage.

More info on how to search: Finding Articles research guide

Source Content Location
Most useful:
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) Full text documents from scholarly and popular journals, reports, pamphlets, newsletters, fact sheets, & literature from non-profit organizations, NGOs, IGOs, and government agencies.(1992 forward) ONLINE
GenderWatch A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.(1970 forward) ONLINE
Sociological Abstracts Indexes journals and dissertations in Sociology, with many full-text links. (1963 forward)) ONLINE
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.(1975 forward) ONLINE
Women and Social Movements in the U.S. Includes primary documents, document projects with introductory essays that interpret the documents, a definitive bibliography, related web links, a Dictionary of Social Movements, and a collection of images. (Coverage varies) ONLINE
Also useful:
Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary, provides full-text and/or abstracts for peer-reviewed publications and general magazine articles.(1975 forward) ONLINE
America: History and Life Scholarly/research journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada. Includes articles published from (1964 forward) ONLINE
Bibliography of Native North Americans Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles and dissertations on Native North American history, life and culture. (1991 forward) ONLINE
Chicano Database A comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics. (1992 forward) ONLINE
ERIC Journal articles and unpublished research reports in education, curriculum studies, teaching.(1966 forward) ONLINE
Family & Society Studies Worldwide Citations and abstracts to family studies literature. (!970 forward) ONLINE
GPO (Government Printing Office) Citations to U.S. federal documents. (1976 forward) ONLINE
HAPI Online The Hispanic American Periodicals Index includes citations and some full-text links to journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.(1970 forward) ONLINE
Historical Abstracts Includes citations and some full-text links to journals & books on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) (1955 forward) ONLINE
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 25 core Black Studies periodicals (1900 forward) ONLINE
JSTOR Full-text to back files of core scholarly/academic journals in a number of disciplines. Does not include the most recent two or three years.(Coverage varies) ONLINE
Literature Online (LION) Full-text of English & American literary texts. Also, includes the MLA International Bibliography, critical & scholarly articles on world literature, and a collection of African American poetry from the earliest times to the 20th century.(600 forward) ONLINE
PsycINFO Indexes journals, book chapters and other research in psychology. (1887 forward) ONLINE

Electronic Journal List

In addition to using library databases to find articles, you can search specific journals online if they are covered in the Library’s Electronic Journal List. From the Library’s homepage, select “Find: Electronic Journal List.” You can search by title or by broad subject categories. Some relevant online journals for Women Studies include:

European journal of women’s studies (1999- ) Journal of women’s history (1992- )
Feminist studies (1972- ) NWSA journal (1988- )
Gender & history (1997- ) Resources for feminist research (1992- )
Hypatia (1986- ) Women in Judaism (1997- )
Journal of feminist studies in religion (2002- ) Women’s studies quarterly (2002- )

Retrieving Books and Articles not in the SFSU Library

If a book is not in the Library's collection or not "available," you may be able to request it through Link+, at the top of the screen where you were searching for books. If our library does not own the periodical, book or other publication you need, go to the Library's homepage and select“ Library Services - Requesting Items We Don't Have”. There is no charge for this service for SFSU students, faculty and staff.

Government Publications

The Government Publications Department, 5th floor, houses many useful publications relevant to women studies research. The collection includes materials published by city, state, federal, foreign, and international organizations. Government publications are particularly valuable as sources of statistical information.

For information on major indexes, databases, and Internet sites for locating government documents and statistical information, go to the Government Information and Finding Statistical Information: a Basic Toolkit.

Also, the Government Publications Department has U.S. government census data by gender and other social indicators in print and CD-ROM formats for various years.

Selected Documents & Sites:

  • Agreed conclusions of the Commission on the Status of Women on the critical areas of concern of the Beijing Platform for Action, 1996-2005 (Govt Stacks ST/ESA/304)
  • Statistics and indicators on women and men (2007)(United Nations) http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/indwm/
  • U..S. Dept. of Labor. Women’s Bureau http://www.dol.gov/wb/
  • Women in the labor force: a databook (2006)(Govt Stacks L 2.71:996)

Media Access Center and Computer Lab

The Media Access Center (MAC), 3rd floor, houses non-print media and equipment for use by students and faculty. The collection includes DVD’s, CD’s, films, video cassettes, sound cassettes, and software. Most of the media collection is listed in the Library's online catalog. In addition, the Media Access Center's computer lab has an array of computers available for personal computing.

Academic Technology (AT), located on the ground floor of the Library, also has an extensive collection of films which may be used in SF State courses with the instructor present or by individual students and faculty members in viewing booths, in the Media Access Center.

The following titles represent examples from the collection related to Women Studies:

  • Beyond killing us softly : the impact of media images on women and girls (MAC VideoTape 93393)
  • Daughters of the dust (AT VideoTape 85322)
  • Ida B. Wells: a passion for justice (A T VideoTape 82632 ) and (MAC VideoTape 90807)
  • The quilts of Gee's Bend (MAC VideoTape 93462 )
  • Under the willow tree : pioneer Chinese women in Canada (MAC VideoTape 92998)
  • When food is the enemy : [eating disorders] (MAC VideoTape 93405)

Reference Sources

Bibliographies

United States Government Documents on Women 1800-1900 Main Z7964 .U49 H85 1993
Wisconsin Bibliographies in Women’s Studies http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/bibliogs/biblmain.htm
Women : a selective bibliography, 1988-1999 (UN Library) Main Z7963.S9 W66 2000
Women’s Studies: a recommended Bibliography Main Z7963.F44 K75 2004

Biographical Sources:

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Database) ONLINE
Black Women in America Ref E185.86 B42 2005
Latinas in the United States Ref E184.S75 L35 2006
Significant Contemporary American Feminists Ref HQ1412.S56 1999
Who’s Who of American Women Ref E176 W647
Women in Science Ref Q141.W6795 2001
Women in World History Ref HQ1115.W6 1999

Chronologies:

Timelines of American Women’s History Ref HQ1410.H45 1996
The Women’s Chronology: A Year-By-Year Record from Prehistory to the present Main HQ1122.T73 1994

Directories:

Directory of Financial Aids for Women (1978- ) Ref LB2338.S342
Encyclopedia of Women’s Associations Worldwide Ref HQ1883.E53 1994

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries, Atlases:

Dictionary of Feminist Theory Main HQ1115.H86 1995
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory Ref & Main PN98.W64 E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories Main HQ1190.E63 2000
Encyclopedia of Women in American History Ref HQ1410.E53 2002
International Encyclopedia of Women’s Suffrage Ref JF851.H28 2000
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women Ref HQ1115.R69 2000
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe Ref HQ1147.W665 2006
Women in the Third World Ref & Main HQ1870.9.W6548 1998
The Women’s Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism Ref HQ1115.W644 2006
Women’s Studies Encyclopedia Ref HQ1115.W645 1999

Statistics:

The World’s Women, 2000: Trends & Statistics Govt Desk & Main HQ1154.W95 2000

Primary Sources

Also see the Library Guide: History: Primary Sources.

SF State Library Databases

The SF State library subscribes to the following databases that contain full-text (reproductions and/or transcripts) of historic documents:

Women and Social Movements in the U.S. Includes primary documents, document projects with introductory essays that interpret the documents, a definitive bibliography, related web links, a Dictionary of Social Movements, and collection of images.
Black Thought and Culture Full-text reproductions of books, speeches, essays, interviews, and oral histories relating to African Americans. Search for individual women, such as “Truth, Sojourner,” or in the index for subjects beginning with “Women.”
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) Full-text reproductions of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States and American colonies from 1639 to 1800. See section: Women as Authors.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Full-text reproductions of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States and American colonies from 1639 to 1800.
Oral History Online Full-text transcripts and audio/video files of oral history interviews from a wide range of subjects. See index for subjects beginning with “Women.”

SFSU Primary Resources in Microform

The following microfilm sets are located in Periodicals, 2nd floor.

  • Herstory, 1972-76.(Microfilm Reels 1317-1319) Provides a compilation of articles from 821 newsletters, journals and newspapers published by women’s rights groups between 1956-1974. There is no subject index to this microfilm set, but the following printed guides provide more detailed information about the content of each microfilm reel in the collection:
    • Herstory Microfilm Collection:Table of Contents (Ref Z7962.H47x)
    • Reel Guide to Herstory. Supplementary Set (Ref Z7962.H472x 1956-73 & 1973-74)
  • Women And/In Law, 1974-75.(Microfilm Reels 1321-1327) Periodical articles, clippings, and pamphlets arranged by topic.
  • Women and Health/Mental Health, 1964-74. (Microfilm Reel 1320) Periodical articles, clippings, and pamphlets arranged by topic.

Primary Collections in Bay Area Libraries

Microform Sets in Gender and Women’s Studies (U.C. Berkeley) http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/doemoff/womstu/wsmicro.html

Selected Internet Resources

Aid and Career Opportunities (Resources for WMST Students) (University of Maryland)
http://research.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/jobsetc.html

American Women's History: A Research Guide (Ken Middleton)
http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html

Center for Women and Information Technology (University of Maryland)
http://www.umbc.edu/cwit/

Distinguished Women of Past and Present (Danuta Bois)
http://www.DistinguishedWomen.com/

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement:: An On-line Archival Collection, Special Collections Library, Duke University.
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/wlm/

Feminist Bookstores, Publishers, Reviews, Lists and Electronic Versions of Women's Studies Books
http://www.Library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/books.htm

Feminist Majority Foundation
http://www.feminist.org/

National Women's History Project
http://www.nwhp.org/

National Women's Studies Association
http://nwsa.org/

San Francisco State University. Women Studies Dept.
http://www.sfsu.edu/~woms/

UNIFEM--(United Nations Development Fund for Women)
http://www.undp.org/unifem/beijing+5/index.html

Violence against Women Office (U.S. Dept. of Justice)
http://www.usdoj.gov/ovw/

Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2711

Women's Bureau (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
http://www.dol.gov/wb/

Women's Studies Database (University of Maryland)
http://www.mith2.umd.edu/WomensStudies/

Women's Studies Librarian Office - U. Wisconsin
http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/

Women's Studies Programs, Departments and Research Centers (Joan Korenman, University of Maryland)
http://research.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/programs.html

Women's Studies Resources (Karla Tonella, University of Iowa)
http://bailiwick.lib.uiowa.edu/wstudies/

Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites (Joan Korenman. University of Maryland)
http://research.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/links.html

WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites (Women’s' Studies Section of The Association of College & Research Libraries)
http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html

Yahoo's Women's Studies Links
http://www.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Women_s_Studies/

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.