Theatre
Media Access Center
The Media Access Center, third floor Library, has a large collection of plays on film and video, including the complete BBC productions of Shakespeare's plays available on video. Consult the Media Access Center for further information.
Invistigator (Online Catalog)
Use InvestiGator, the library's online catalog, to locate all books and periodicals owned by the Library, as well as audio-visual and other non-print materials. InvestiGator will tell you if a book is checked out or in a special location such as the Reserve Book Room. Searches on InvestiGator may be done two ways - by browse (exact match of author, title, or subject) or by keyword. The keyword search is especially useful for finding individual plays in collections and anthologies. Information Guides explaining how to use InvestiGator, as well as floor plans and other aids, are available at the Reference Desk and the Information Desk, first floor.
Subject Headings: When performing a subject search in InvestiGator keep in mind that specific subject headings are needed to get the most accurate results. The Library uses subject headings created by the Library of Congress. These subject headings can be found in a multi-volume paper source called the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), which is located near the Reference Desk on the 1st floor. Examples of useful subject headings for theatre research are:
Drama
Dramatists
Playwriting
Theater
Theaters
Keep in mind that subject headings can be complicated and often incorporate various elements of geography and history (e.g. Theater -- United States -- History --19th Century). For the most accurate subject heading always consult the LCSH or ask reference librarian for assistance.
Guides to the Literature
American Playwrights Since 1945: a Guide to Scholarship, Criticism and Performance. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. (Ref Z1231 D7 A53)
Blazek, Ron. The Humanities: A Selective Guide to Information Sources. 4th ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1994. (Ref Z 6265 B53)
Simons, Linda Keir. The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1994. (Ref Z 6935 S56)
Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays. 3 vols. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. (Ref PS 153 N5 P43)
Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays from Ancient Greece to Modern Times. New York: Crown Publishers, 1984. (Ref PN 6112.5 S45)
Shakespearean Criticism. . . 22 vols. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1984 (Ref PR 2965 S43)
Yearbooks
The Best Plays. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company. (PN 6112 B45)
Willis, John, ed. Theatre World. New York: Crown Publishers, Inc. (PN 2277 N5 A17)
Dictionaries
Brownstein, Oscar Lee and Darlene M. Daubert. Analytical Sourcebook of Concepts in Dramatic Theory. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1981. (Ref Z 5781 A55)
Hodgson, Terry. The Batsford Dictionary of Drama. London: B.T. Batsford, 1988. (Ref PN 1625 H62)
Lounsbury, Warren C. Theatre Backstage from A to Z. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1972. (Ref PN 2035 L6)
Trapido, Joel, ed. An International Dictionary of Theatre Language. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985. (Ref PN 2035 I5)
Vaughan, Jack A. Drama A to Z. New York: Frederick Ungar Publ. Co., 1978. (Ref PN 1625 V3)
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Anderson, Michael. Crowell's Handbook of Contemporary Drama. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Company, 1971. (PN 1861 C7)
Billington, Michael. The Guinness Book of Theatre Facts and Feats. Enfield, Middlesex: Guinness Superlatives, 1982. (Ref PN 2037 B54)
Cambridge Guide to Theater. Martin Banham, ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992. (Ref PN 2035 O363)
The Encyclopedia of the New York Stage 1940-1950. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992. (Ref PN 2277 N5 L365)
Esslin, Martin. Illustrated Encyclopedia of World Theatre. London: Thames and Hudson, 1977. (Ref PN 2035 I35x)
Gassner, John and Edward Quinn. The Reader's Encyclopedia of World Drama. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Company, 1969. (Ref PN 1625 G3)
Matlaw, Myron. Modern World Drama: An Encyclopedia. New York: E.P. Dutton and Company, 1972. (Ref PN 1851 M36)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: an international reference work in 5 volumes. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984. (Ref PN 1625 M3)
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre. Phyllis Hartnoll, ed. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1983. (Ref PN 2035 O93)
Stein, Rita and Friedhelm Rickert, comps. & eds. Major Modern Dramatists. 2 vols. New York: Ungar, 1984. (Ref PN 1861 M27)
Databases
For a complete list of recommended databases for Theatre go to the recommended list for Theatre Arts databases. Here is further information on databases that provide bibliographic (citation) information or full-text articles:
Academic Search Premier -(EBSCOhost)
This database provides abstracts and full-text articles in several different disciplines, including theatre. Includes full-text access to magazines such as "American Theater". A good resource to start your search with.
Academic Universe -- Lexis/Nexis
This source provides various full-text news publications, in addition to a variety of other information sources. Of particular interest in the News category is the Arts & Sports section that allows for the searching of arts related reviews.
Applied Science and Technology
Useful for finding articles related to the technical/production elements of theatre arts. Covers several technical disciplines outside of theatre.
Ethnic Newswatch
This is a resource for news and information on cultures and ethnic groups around the world. Contains good coverage of different theatre traditions around the world.
Humanities Full-Text
Full-text or abstracts for over 400 publications related to the humanities. This is the electronic equivalent of the paper Humanities Index.
International Index to the Performing Arts
"IIPA covers nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Most IIPA records in the current file (1998 forward) contain an abstract. IIPA draws its current content from more than 130 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post." Indexing goes back to the 19th Century.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association this is the premier source of citations to articles in the scholarly study of literature and language. Coverage includes all aspects and time periods of theatre as literature.
Project Muse
This resource provides full-text access to journals online including important theatre journals such as TDR, Theatre Journal, and Theatre Topics. With this source you have the option to search or browse the source.
San Francisco Chronicle (available from ProQuest Newspapers database)
Provides full-text coverage of local newspaper from 1985-current.
Electronic Journals
These sources come from two different e-journal providers, JSTOR and Project Muse. Available dates vary according to publisher and provider. Please check the library catalog Investigator for a record of complete holdings (Access for SFSU users only).
- Shakespeare Quarterly
- American Literature
- MLN (Modern Language Notes)
- Asian Theatre Journal
- TDR (The Drama Review)
- Theatre
- Theatre Journal
- Theatre Topics
- PAJ (a journal of performance and art)
Theatre Libraries and Other Library Resources
- San Francisco Performing Arts Library & Museum (PALM)
- Yale School of Drama Library
- Folger Shakespeare Library
- New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture The New York Public Library
- Library of Congress
- Bibliotheque Nationale de France (in French and English)
- The British Library
- Project Gutenberg (Full-text resources including some pre-1923 plays.)
- MELVYL System (UC Library System Catalog)
- UC Berkeley Libraries
- San Francisco Public Library
- World Cat (Library catalogs worldwide; access for SFSU users only.)
Play Publishing and Performance Licensing Companies
Institutes, Associations and Organizations
- Theatre Bay Area
- Association for Theatre in Higher Education
- International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employes (IATSE)
- Entertainment Services and Technology Association
- Actors' Equity Association
- National Endowment for the Arts
- "Live Broadway"
- North American Performing Arts Managers and Agents
- International Society for the Performing Arts
- Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute
- Society of American Fight Directors
- Institute of Phonetic Sciences (IFA)
Theatre Companies and Festivals
- Magic Theatre
- Berkeley Repertory Theatre
- American Conservatory Theater (A.C.T)
- El Teatro Campesino
- foolsFURY theater
- Asian American Theater Company
- Theatre Rhinoceros
- EXIT Theatre (home of SF Fringe Festival)
- Impact Theatre
- Crowded Fire
- Steppenwolf Theatre Company
- Public Theatre (New York City)
- The Wooster Group (New York City)
- Oregon Shakespeare Festival
Higher Education
Technical Information
Other Theatre Resources
- Inter-Play (play index from Portland State University)
- Librarian's Index to the Internet (including "performing arts topics")
- Infomine - Visual & Performing Arts
- Digital Librarian - Performing Arts
- The WWW Virtual Library - Theatre and Drama
- Theatrepedia from ELAC
- East Los Angeles College Theatre Arts Links (ELAC)
- Scott's Theatre-link.com
- Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies (Professor Ken McCoy's list at Stenson University in Florida)
- LSU Libraries Webliography -Theatre
- The Dramaturgy Pages
- Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress
- World Wide Art Resources (including a theatre category)
- Theatricopia (for musical theatre fans)
- Bay Area Art Source (listing of local events and organizations)
- CultureFinder (listings of events in major metropolitan areas)
- Theatre Central (from Playbill Online)
- Jack Wolcott's Theatre History on the Web
- Noh Plays
- Kabuki for Everyone
- The Puppetry Home Page
Paper Indexes and Abstracts
For a subject guide to articles in magazines or newspapers, refer to the indexes and abstracts on the first floor near the Reference Desk. The indexes are alphabetically arranged by title on numbered tables. Following is a selection of index titles which would be especially helpful in various aspects of the field of theater.
Applied Science and Technology Index, 1958-
Valuable to use for specialized articles on technical aspects of theater production: stage lighting, stage sound equipment, stage scenery and construction, and theater building construction from an architectural engineering standpoint.
Art Index, 1929-
This index is useful for locating information on the artistic architectural aspects of theaters.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1977-
Covers scholarly journals and includes reviews. Also useful is the Social Sciences Citation Index. (Citation indexes list by author all the references found in footnotes and bibliographies of the articles indexed. The Permuterm volume lists every key word which appears in the title of each article indexed.)
Bibliographic Guide to Theatre Arts, 1982-
This is a comprehensive bibliography of all materials cataloged annually in the subject area of theater arts (including film, radio, television) by the New York Public Library and the Library of Congress.
British Humanities Index, 1962-1991 (Located in Reference South West Range [SWR] )
This index is particularly useful for researching British theatre, both past and present.
Humanities Index, 1974-
Indexes scholarly and literary journals. Older volumes of the set were under the title Social Science and Humanities Index. Prior to that title the index was called International Index.
MLA Bibliography, 1921-1980. (Located in Reference South West Range [SWR] )
and MLA International Bibliography, 1981-85 SWR, 1986-
Useful for locating scholarly articles and books dealing with drama.
New York Theatre Critics' Reviews, 1948-1994
Offers a photocopy of theatre reviews from various New York newspapers and TV broadcasts.
New York Times Index, 1851-
An index to this newspaper covers both the New York and international theaters.
The New York Times Theater Reviews
(Ref PN 1581 N4) Library has: 1920-70; 1973-74; 1981-82; 1985-86; 1987-88; 1989-90; 1991-92; 1993-94 to date.
Has theater reviews which appeared in the New York Times.
Newsbank Performing Arts Indexes, 1978-1996
This index features newspaper reviews of films, books, plays, art exhibits, concerts, television and other cultural endeavors from 190 newspapers in 130 major cities and reproduced in their entirety on microfiche.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900-
Helpful for locating reviews and articles of general interest from popular magazines.
San Francisco Chronicle Index, 1976-
Indexes San Francisco Bay Area theater.
The Times (of London) Index, 1790- Valuable index for keeping abreast of theatrical activities in British theatre.
Locating Plays
To locate specific plays check the AUTHOR/TITLE card catalog or InvestiGator looking under either the play title or playwright. To locate a play which appears in an anthology consult the following sources:
Inter-Play
An on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals, Inter-Play, was developed by librarians, Robert Westover and Janet Wright, at Portland State University. (Note: All sources may not be at the J. Paul Leonard Library. Please double check the library catalog Investigator for availability and call number accuracy.)
Samples, Gordon. The Drama Scholar's Index to Plays and Filmscripts.
2 vols. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1974 and 1980. (Ref Z 5781 S17)
Biographical Sources
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television: A Biographical Guide. . . Detroit: Gale Research Co. (Ref PN 2285 C58)
Great Writers of the English Language: Dramatists. James Vinson, ed. New York: St. James Press, 1979. (Ref PR 106 G9 1979x v.3)
Kirkpatrick, D.L, ed. Contemporary Dramatists. 4th ed. Chicago: St. James Press, 1988. (Ref PR 737 C57)
Kolin, Philip C. American Playwrights Since 1945: A Guide to Scholarship, Criticism, and Performance. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. (Ref Z 1231 D7 A53)
Performing Arts Biography Master Index. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1981. (Ref PN 1583 M37)
Variety: International Showbusiness Reference, 1983. Mike Kaplan, ed. New York: Garland Publ., 1983. (Ref PN 1579 V3)
Who's Who in Entertainment. Wilmette, IL: Marquis Who's Who. (Ref PN 1583 W467x)
Directories
Brooks, Jack. Front Row Center: A Guide to Northern California Theatres. San Francisco: 101 Productions, 1981. (Ref PN 2275 C3 B7)
Handel's National Directory for the Performing Arts. 4th ed. Dallas: NDPA, 1988. (Ref PN 2289 H34)
Kullman, Colby H., and William C. Young, eds. Theatre Companies of the World. 2 vols. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. (Ref PN 2052 T48)
The Lively Arts Information Directory. Steven Wasserman, ed. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1982. (Ref PN 2289 L55)
Theatre Directory: A Professional Resource Guide to the Bay Area. San Francisco: Theatre Bay Area, 1989. (Ref PN 2275 C3 T47)
Miscellaneous Sources
The Dramatist's Bible. Fort Pierce, FL: International Society of Dramatists, 1988. (Ref PN 161 D72x)
Dramatists Sourcebook: Complete Opportunities for Playwrights, Translators, Composers, Lyricists and Librettists. New York: Theatre Communications Group, 1988. (Ref PN 2289 D73)
The Playwright's Companion. Nashville, IN: Feedback Services, 1988. (Ref PN 2289 P57)


