San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Communication Studies

About

For the latest information about library services and resources, go to the Library Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu).

Some databases listed in this bibliography may only be available in the Library or to SFSU students, faculty and staff outside the Library. For information about the location of, and access, to these databases, go to the Library's home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Find Articles & Databases."

Locating Books

Use InvestiGator the Library's online catalog, to locate books. You can search InvestiGator by author, title, subject, keyword and other identifiers. You can also limit your search by date, language, format and other variables. Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) volumes to locate appropriate subject headings. Computers with access to InvestiGator are located throughout the Library, and the online catalog is also available via remote access (http://opac.sfsu.edu).

If a book is not in the Library's collection or not "available," you may be able to request it through Link+ (http://opac.sfsu.edu/screens/linkplus.html), an online catalog for a number of California academic and public libraries.

To access CSU, UC and other online catalogs, go to the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Find/Other Libraries".

Guides to the Literature/Research Guides

Rubin, R.B., Rubin, A.M., & Piele, L.J. (2005). Communication research: Strategies and sources. (6th ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth. (Ref P 9l.3 R83). See also Rubin's Communication research measures: A sourcebook (Ref P 91.3 C62).

Two guides to social science research methodology are:

Handbook of applied social science research methods. Ed. by Leonard Bickman and Debra J. Rog. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 1998. (H62 H24534)

Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. Ed. by Michae S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman and Tim Futing Liao. 3 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2004. (Ref H62 L456) Searchable on the Sage eReference Encyclopedias database.

To locate other guides, do a keyword search on InvestiGator. Examples: communication and bibliography, communication and research, communication and guide*, communication and method**.

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks

Devito, J.A. (l986). The communication handbook: A dictionary. New York: Harper and Row. (Ref P 87.5 D46 1986). Provides definitions and brief essays on specific terms, e.g. attribution, small group communication, persuasion, nonverbal communication, and self-disclosure.

Encyclopedia of language and linguistics. (1994). (Vols. 1-10). Oxford: Pergamon. (Ref P 29 E48) Articles include bibliographic references. Glossary and extensive index in vol. 10.

Gudykunst, W.B. & Mody, B. (Eds.). (2002). Handbook of international and intercultural communication. Newberry Park, CA: Sage. (P94.6 .H36).

International encyclopedia of communications. (l989). (Vols. 1-4). New York: Oxford University. (Ref P 87.5 I5 l989). Articles with brief bibliographies covering communication systems and organizations, communication modes, media and codes, communication behavior and effects. Also includes name entries, illustrations. Topical guide and index in volume 4.

International encyclopedia of linguistics. (2003). (Vols. 1-4). (2nd ed.). New York: Oxford University Press. (Ref P 29 I58). Articles (with bibliographies) cover language research as broadly defined. Maps, charts, tables and illustrations are included. Index and glossary in vol. 4.

Knapp, Mark L. & Daly, John A. (Eds.) (2002). Handbook of interpersonal communication. (3rd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage. (BF 637 C45 H287).

To locate other relevant dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks, do a keyword search on InvestiGator. Examples: communication and dictionaries, communication and encyclopedias, communication and handbooks.

Yearbooks/Annuals

Communication yearbook: An annual review published for the International Communication Association, l977- . (P 87 C5974).

International and intercultural communication annual, 1974-1977, 1983- . Published in cooperation with the Speech Communication Association's International and Intercultural Communication Division. To locate call numbers, look in InvestiGator under series title.

Progress in communication sciences, l979- . (irregular). (P 87 P74).

Sage annual reviews of communication research, l972-1994. Cataloged separately. To locate call numbers, look in InvestiGator under series title.

To locate other yearbooks, annuals and series, do a keyword search on InvestiGator. Examples: communication and yearbooks, communication and periodicals.

Style Manuals

Gibaldi, J. (2003). MLA handbook for writers of research papers. (6th ed.). New York: MLA. (Ref LB 2369 G53). The same author's MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing (Ref PN 147 G444 1998) includes discussions of scholarly publishing issues.

American Psychological Association. (2001). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. (5h ed.). Washington, DC: APA. (Ref BF 76.7 P83).

For examples of how to cite online publications, see Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association (http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html) and the Library's Citing References research guide.

Subject Guides To Articles

To locate articles in magazines and scholarly journals (periodicals), search indexes and abstracts. Print indexes and abstracts are located in the Reference Area, 1st floor, but most guides to articles are available in electronic (database) format. Most of these databases are available via remote access. For a list of database indexes with access instructions, go to the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) under Find Articles & Databases. You may wish to begin searching the databases listed under the Subject: Communication Research. Some of these databases include the full text of the articles they cite. Good place to check to see if a particular periodical is available in one of the Library's full text databases are the Library's Electronic Journal List (http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sfsu/a-z/default) and CUFTS (http://lib-cufts.lib.sfu.ca/CUFTS/sbt.cgi). The following are just some of the relevant indexes and abstracts in the field of communication studies. To locate additional indexes and abstracts, ask a reference librarian. Copies of research guides focusing on various subjects related to communication research are available on the Library's Web site (for example, Ethnic Studies and Women Studies).

ABI/Inform Global database, 1971- . (Business; organizational communication)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost) database, dates vary.
 Multidisciplinary index to popular and scholarly articles; some articles are full-text.
America: History and Life database, 1964- .
Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Searchable as the Web of Science database, 1975- .
ComIndex database, beginning dates vary-2002.
Communication Abstracts, 1979-2004.
 Includes citations to journal articles and book chapters.
Communication and Mass Media Complete database, dates vary.
 Absorbed and expands on the coverage provided by the CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index
 databases. Indexes popular and scholarly articles and some book chapters and conference papers.
Current Index to Journals in Education, l969- . (Searchable on the ERIC database)
Education Index, 1929- . Searchable as the Education Full Text database.
Education Research Complete database, dates vary.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, l966- .
 Includes references to conference papers, research reports and curricular materials.
Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) database, dates vary. (Full-text news sources)
Google Scholar. http://www.library.sfsu.edu/find/scholar.html
 Multidisciplinary; includes "cited by" references.
Humanities Index, l974- . Searchable as the Humanities Full Text and
 Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective databases, 1907- .
Index to Journals in Communication Studies. (Matlon) (Z 5630 M37, latest print ed. in Ref Stacks;
 searchable as the Communication and Mass Media Complete database).
IngentaConnect database, 1988-
 Including article alert and article delivery services.
LexisNexis Academic database, dates vary.
 Full-text print and broadcast news and speeches.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, l967- . (Title varies) Searchable as a database, 1973- .
MLA International Bibliography, l884- .
 (Searchable as a separate database and as part of the LION database)
Papers and Proceedings databases, 1993- .
 Index conference papers and proceedings.
ProQuest Newspapers database, dates vary. (Full-text news articles)
PsycInfo database, 1887- .
Social Sciences Citation Index. Searchable as the Web of Science database, 1956- .
Sociological Abstracts database, 1963- .

If you want to know where a particular periodical is indexed, consult Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory (database) or the Library's Electronic Journal List (http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sfsu/a-z/default) or CUFTS (http://lib-cufts.lib.sfu.ca/CUFTS/sbt.cgi).

In most cases, periodicals are located on the 2nd floor, arranged in alphabetical order by title, or online. InvestiGator and the Library's Electronic Journal List (http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sfsu/a-z/default) list our periodical holdings. If you already have an article citation, you can try using the Library's Citation Lookup Tool. To determine if other local libraries have a periodical, check their online catalogs (many local online catalogs are accessible from the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) under "Find/Other Libraries").

Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI). Searchable as the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database, 1861- . Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and master's theses. For many recent dissertations and theses the full-text is available.

If the library owns a dissertation, it will be listed in InvestiGator. You may try to get dissertations through Document Delivery or, usually, you can purchase them on the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database if the full text is not available there.

Document Delivery Service

If a book is not in the Library's collection or not "available," you may be able to request it through Link+ (http://opac.sfsu.edu/screens/linkplus.html), an online catalog for a number of California academic and public libraries. If our library does not own the periodical, book or other publication you need, you may request that Document Delivery Services obtain a photocopy of an article or borrow the book from another library. Document Delivery Services is located in the Circulation Services area, 1st floor. Subsidized self-service document delivery for selected articles not in the library collection is available through the IngentaConnect database. For more information about these services (including online order forms), go to the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Services/Borrowing Items from Other Libraries" (Document Delivery Services). If you would rather visit another library in person, you can connect to the online catalogs of local libraries from the Library's Web site under "Find/Other Libraries".

8-89 lcv (Rev. 6/23/08 ak)
SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.