Schools
Use basic call numbers listed below to browse for additional titles.
HIGHER EDUCATION COLLEGES / UNIVERSITIES
General Directories:
- American Universities and Colleges (2001, irregular) (Ref LA 226 A65)
- Barron's Profiles of American Colleges (2003, irregular) (Ref L 901 P723)
- College Blue Book (2002, irregular, 4 vols) (Ref L 901 C676)
- Index of Majors and Graduate Degrees (2004, irregular) (Ref L 901 C774)
- Peterson's Annual Guide to Graduate Study (annual, 6 vols.) (Ref L 901 .P46) Organized by discipline.
- Peterson's Annual Guide: Two-Year Colleges (2001, annual) (Ref L 901 P452x)
- Peterson's Annual Guide: Four-Year Colleges (2001, annual) (Ref L 901 P454x)
- Peterson's (http://www.petersons.com)
Specialized Fields:
- AWP Official Guide to Writing Programs (2002) (Ref PN 181 A8)
- Admission Requirements of United States and Canadian Dental Schools (2001, annual) (Ref RK 91 A582a)
- American Art Directory (2003-04, irregular) (Ref N 50 A54)
- Barron's Guide to Graduate Business Schools (1999, irregular) (Ref HF 1131 M538)
- Barron's Guide to Law Schools (2000, irregular) (Ref KF 266 B37)
- Barron's Guide to Medical & Dental Schools (2003, irregular) (Ref R 690 W558)
- Business Week's Guide to the Best Business Schools (1999) (Ref HF 1131 B95)
- Graduate Faculty and Programs in Political Science (2002, irregular) (Ref JA 88 U6 G8)
- Graduate Study in Psychology (2003, irregular) (Ref BF 77 G73)
- Health Professions Career and Education Directory (2003-04) (Ref R 847 D57)
- Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical Psychology (1990) (Ref RC 467.7 M39)
- Journalism & Mass Communication Directory (2002-03, annual) (Ref PN 4788 J6)
- Medical School Admission Requirements (2004-05, annual) (Ref R 745 M43x)
- Peterson's Guide to Nursing Programs (1998, irregular) (Ref RT 79 P48)
- Pharmacy School Admission Requirements (2003-04, irregular) (RS 110 A64x)
Ratings:
- America's Best Colleges / U.S. News & World Report (2003) (Ref LB 2331.63 .A43x)
- Best...Colleges / Princeton Review (1998) (Ref L 901 .S836)
- Educational Rankings Annual (2003) (Ref LB 2331.63 E34)
- The Gourman Report: a Rating of Undergraduate Programs in American and International Universities (1998) (Ref LB 2331.62 G68x)
International:
- Commonwealth Universities Yearbook (2002) (Ref LB 2310 Y5)
- International Handbook of Universities (2001, annual) (Ref L 900 I58)
- World List of Universities and Other Institutions of Higher Education (2002, biennial) (Ref L 900 I57)
- World of Learning (2003, annual) (Ref AS 2 W6)
Accreditation/Certification:
- Accredited Institutions of Postsecondary Education, Programs, Candidates (2002-03, annual) (Ref L 901 A48)
- Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools (2003-04, annual) (Ref LB 1771 W6)
- Western Association of Schools and Colleges (U.S.) Directory (2000-01, annual) (Ref L 903 W4 W48x)
By Focus Group:
- How to Succeed on a Majority Campus: A Guide for Minority Students (1998) (Ref LB 2343.32 .L49)
- 100 Best Colleges for African-American Students (1998) (Ref L 901 W58)
Admissions Information:
- College Admissions Data Handbook (2002-03, annual, 4 vols) (Ref LB 2351.3)
- College Choice and Admissions (1998) (Ref LB 2350.5 .C5)
- College Handbook (1999, annual) (Ref LB 2351 A1 C6)
Internships:
- Internships / Princeton Review (2003) (Ref LC 1072 .I58 P75)
- Peterson's Internships (annual) (Ref L 901 I66)
College Catalogs/Bulletins:
For specific course and program descriptions of a college/university, use the college catalog collection available from College Source Online which can be accessed from the Library's list of databases on the Library Web site: http://www.library.sfsu.edu. (Remote access to this database is limited to Students, Staff and Faculty of SFSU. For more information, see the Library Web site.) Additionally, many schools have their catalogs available on their web sites.
SFSU Bulletin information is available from the SFSU web site at http://www.sfsu.edu. Printed copies of the Bulletin are in Periodicals/Microforms on the 2nd floor of the Library and in RBR on the ground floor of the Library.
ELEMENTARY / SECONDARY SCHOOLS
- California Private School Directory (2000-01, annual) (Ref L 903 C2 C27; 5th flr GP desk)
- California Public School Directory (2000, annual) (Ref L 903 C2 C28; 5th flr GP desk)
- Independent Schools Yearbook (2002-03, annual) (Ref L 915 I53)
- Patterson's American Education (2003, annual) (Ref L 901 P3)
- San Francisco Bay Area School Ratings (1997) (Ref L 9033 .C25 S2655)
- Which School? (2003, annual) (Ref L 915 S36x)
ALTERNATIVE, OCCUPATIONAL & CONTINUING EDUCATION
- Campus-Free College Degrees (1998) (Ref LC 6251 .C33)
- College Blue Book (2002, irregular) (Ref L 901 O3 v.4 Occupational Education)
- College Degrees by Mail and Modem (1998) (Ref L 901 .C696)
- Peterson's Vocational and Technical Schools (1994) (Ref LC 1046 W39 P48)
INTERNET / WORLD WIDE WEB
Peterson's Education Center. Online reference for US and Canadian two- and four-year colleges and universities and graduate study. URL: http://www.petersons.com
(2-99 CG/rev. 9-03 GMattioli)
Last updated:


