Marketing
About
The following guide lists some of the primary sources for locating marketing information. For additional information sources see research guides to: Business Research: Company Information; Industry Information; International Marketing.
Some databases listed in this bibliography may only be available in the Library or to those with SFSU Internet accounts. For information about the location of, and access, to these databases, go to the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Electronic Databases."
How To Find Books About Marketing
InvestiGator workstations located throughout the building provide access to books on a variety of topics: specific industries, products, marketing strategies, etc. Search by author, title, keywords (in titles, subjects or notes) or subject of interest. When doing a subject search, first check the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to determine appropriate terms to use in your search. You may also use the name of a company in a subject search. After doing the initial search, you may limit the results by date and other variables.
How To Find Articles About Marketing
The indexes and databases listed below will lead you to a number of articles about market conditions and marketing strategies, companies and specific products and industries. Both print and electronic sources are indicated. Please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk in identifying other general and discipline specific sources.
ABI/Inform Dateline database. Dates vary. Focuses on hard-to-find local and regional business news of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance and industry news.
ABI/Inform Global database. 1971- . Abstracts and selected full text articles from approximately 1500 journals on all aspects of business, including industries and specific companies. Especially good for management and business theory.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database. 1971- . Provides coverage of 750 major industry periodicals and newsletters focused on industry news, market trends, product and competitive information. Full text of many articles.
Academic Search Premier database. 1990- . World's largest scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database. Contains articles about business, hospitality management, management and marketing. Updated daily.
Business Reference Suite databases. 1994- . Citations to articles from trade and business journals and other sources; some articles are full-text; some include statistics. Two databases: Business & Industry, Tablebase.
Business Source Premier databases. 1998- . Full text articles and PDF images for several thousand business journals, including the Harvard Business Review. Updated daily.
Dow Jones Interactive database. See Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters).
Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) database. Dates vary. Leading U.S. and International newspapers, magazines, trade journals, transcripts and newswires including Wall Street Journal. Citations and full-text articles; also company financials, industry ratios, stock and bond prices.
LexisNexis Academic databases. Online, full text access to a wide variety of databases: newspapers and wire services, SEC filings, patents, financial information, legal resources, some tax services, government documents, etc.
LexisNexis Congressional database. 1983- . Index to U.S. Congress hearings, documents, reports and committee prints; including reports of expert testimony on key business and industry related issues; some full-text.
LexisNexis Statistical database. Invaluable databases for identifying statistical business information from the public and private sector, both national and international in scope. Data sources usually on microfiche in Government Publications.
ProQuest Newspapers database. 1985- . Citations & full text articles from major national newspapers including: New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
San Francisco Business Times. (Library keeps current two years only.) (Also searchable on ABI/Inform Dateline.)
San Francisco Chronicle Index. 1904- . (Ref Indexes). Recent years also searchable on LexisNexis Academic, Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters), ProQuest Newspapers, and at SFGate http://www.sfgate.com.
San Francisco Examiner. Current: http://www.examiner.com
San Jose Mercury News. 1994- . (available on Factiva database and Mercury News http://bayarea.com)
Guides To Business Information, Trade Associations And SIC Codes
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources. (Ref HF 5353 E53 2002). Guide to industry sources.
NTPA (National Trade and Professional Associations of the U.S.). (Ref HD 2425 D53). Annual; latest in Reference.
North American industry classification system (NAICS). 2002 (Ref HF1042 .N67 2002, Govt Desk, and http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html). Standard classification system which is gradually replacing SIC codes.
Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC). 1987. (Ref (HF 1042 S73), Govt Desk, and http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html). Many business directories and statistical sources are arranged by SIC number. Use this manual to identify the SIC number of the industry you are researching.
Small Business Sourcebook. (Ref HD 2346 U5 S65 2005). A guide to information sources for 163 business fields. Includes both print sources, e.g., reference works, trade publications, and directories, and non-print sources, e.g., trade associations by industry, trade shows, data bases, and appropriate government agencies.
Industry Surveys
In addition to the specialized sources listed below, check the newspaper and periodical indexes for information about performance, projections, and trends for a specific industry.
Forbes. See January Issue for "Annual Report on American Industry" (Current Periodicals and http://www.forbes.com). Brief descriptions of 31 major industries, ranking of industries and 1,000+ companies for profit, growth, etc.
Business Week. See January Issue for "Industry Outlook" (Current Periodicals and Business Week web site http://www.businessweek.com). Analyzes 24 key industries.
Standard and Poor's Analysts Handbook. (Ref HG 4519 S772). Annual. Financial statistics for the past 30 years for industries represented in the S & P 500 Index.
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys. Online See Database: Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage. (Ref HC 106.6 S74). Detailed analysis of 22 industry categories and summary financial statistics for major companies within a given industry.
U. S. Industry and Trade Outlook. (Government Publications). Emphasizes the globalization of U.S. industry and presents overview of selected industries.
WEFA Industrial Monitor. (Ref HC101 .W434). Provides industry data and economic forecasts.
Locate sources for particular industries by using InvestiGator, the online catalog, and the LexisNexis Statistical database. Examples include: Ward's Motor Vehicle Facts & Figures, Adams Wine Handbook, Electronic Market Data Book, and Trends in the Hotel Industry.
Consumer Surveys
The library has the following examples of market research studies which quantify characteristics of product users, media audiences and types of users and audiences.
Nielsen Ratings and Reports. (Ref HE 8700.66 U6...)
Simmons Market Research Bureau. Study of Media and Markets. Choices II. CD-ROM
Ask for "How to Use..." guide at the Reference Desk. See also online tutorials: Simmons Choices II Tutorial
http://www.lib.washington.edu/business/guides/simmons/simmons.html Using Simmons Choices 3
http://www.lib.utk.edu/refs/business/simmons.html
Simmons Study of Media and Markets
http://www.libs.uga.edu/ref/simmons.html
Simmons Choices II CD-ROM
http://www.library.georgetown.edu/bic/help/choices/simmain.htm
Market Reports
Market Share Reporter. Annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products & services (Ref HF 5410 M35).
Snapshots North America database. 2001- . Contains 600 market research reports covering a broad range of industries. Includes market size, segmentation, share, and forecasts.
Market Statistics: Consumers And Industries
The following sources are good starting places for locating statistics on consumers and industries at the national and state level:
Almanac of the 50 States. (Ref HA 203 A5)
CQ's State Fact Finder. (Ref HA 214 V36)
California Statistical Abstract. (Ref HA 261 C3 and Govt Pubs and http://www.dof.ca.gov/html/fs_data/stat-abs/toc.htm).
Counting California (http://countingcalifornia.cdlib.org/)
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Ref Desk HA 202 S72x and Govt Pubs and http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/).
Market Statistics For Local Area: Consumers
The following sources provide statistics such as population, income and retail sales for counties, cities and metropolitan areas as well as state or national data..
Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG). Projections. (Govt Pubs).
California Economic Growth: Regional Market Update and Projections. (Ref HC 107 C2 C24x).
California County Projections. (Ref HB 3525 C2 C35x).
County and City Data Book. (Govt Pubs C3.134/2:C83/2).
County & City Extra. (Ref HA 203 C68 and Gov Pubs C3.134/2:C83/2).
Demographics USA (County ed.). (Ref HF 5415.3 S852x).
McCormack's Guides [to bay area counties]. (Ref LA 244 M...).
Rand McNally. Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide. (Ref Atlas Case G 1201 Q4 C65X).
Regional Markets: the Demographics of Growth and Decline. (Ref HA214 E94 1999 2 vols)
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. (Govt Pubs C3.134/5).
State Profile. California. (includes forecasts) (Ref HC 107 C2 H64x).
Survey of Buying Power & Media Markets. (Ref Desk HF 5415 S96x). Online see: Sales & Marketing Management in InvestiGator.
These sources provide some statistical information on residential populations at the neighborhood level, either by census tract or zip code:
Census of Population and Housing. [Compiled every 10 years] (Govt Pubs). Some data is updated by annual surveys. Check the Census Bureau web site (http://www.census.gov) or ask for advice in Government Publications. Data available by blocks & block groups, census tracts, zip codes, congressional districts and larger areas.
CPA: Community Profile Analysis; San Francisco County CA, annual.(Ref HC 108 S7 M37x). Population & income estimates for S.F. census tracts and zip codes.
RAND California database; California Statistics including some at the zip code level. Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics. (Ref HA 203 S66).
Market Statistics For Local Areas: Industries
Many of the sources listed above are useful for industry research but the following sources may provide more detailed information such as number of establishments, employees, payrolls, sales or shipments.
Economic Censuses of the U.S. [Compiled every 5 years] (Govt). For example, Census of Retail Trade, Census of Service Industries, etc. Updated by Zip Code Business Patterns, County Business Patterns and other surveys. Check the Census Bureau web site (http://www.census.gov), or ask for advice in Government Publications.
Taxable Sales in California. (California. Equalization Board) (Govt Pubs).
To locate additional statistics, use LexisNexis Statistical, RAND California and business databases such as Business Reference Suite.
Ratios
To see what the standard ratios for advertising vs. sales, R & D vs. sales and sales costs vs. inventory and payables are for various industries, consult:
Financial Studies of the Small Business. (Reserve Book Room HD 2346 U5 F55a).
RMA Annual Statement Studies. (Reserve Book Room HF 5681 B2 R6).
Business Research: Financial Ratios (http://www.library.sfsu.edu/instruction/guides/ratios.html)
Advertising Expenditures And Costs
The following sources will tell you how much companies spend on their advertising:
Standard Directory of Advertisers. (Ref HF 5805 S7). (Advertising Redbooks)
The following sources give advertising rates or costs for magazines, business publications, newspapers, radio and television:
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. (Ref Z 6951 A97 and available online in Gale's Ready Reference Shelf).
Nielsen. Household and Persons Cost Per Thousand. (Ref HE 8700.66 U6 C76x).
Legal/Political Environment
To locate articles and documents on legal and political issues, use the Current Law Index, LexisNexis Congressional, and LexisNexis Academic in addition to the business databases. Laws and regulations are available in Government Publications and on the Internet. For more specific advice, ask for the following guide: Law: Checklist of Federal, State and Local Sources which lists both print and internet resources.
Directories: Lists Of Companies, Organizations, Services
The following sources are useful directories (address books) for marketing:
Adweek. Directory of Advertising, Western ed. (Periodicals and http://www.adweek.com).
Direct Marketing Market Place (Ref HF 5415.1 D57).
Encyclopedia of associations. International organizations. (Ref AS 7 E52x and available online in Gale's Ready Reference Shelf).
Green Book: Worldwide Directory of Marketing Research Companies and Services. (Ref HF 5415.2 G69).
NTPA (National Trade and Professional Associations of the U.S.A. (Ref HD 2425 D53).
Standard Directory of Advertisers & Agencies. (Ref HF 5805 S72). (Advertising Redbooks)
The following directories list companies by industry/product and geographical area:
Dun's Regional Business Directory. (Ref Desk HG 4058 S4 D86). Hoover's database. Information on 40,000 public and private U.S. companies.
In addition, the library has the following Hoover's handbooks:
* Hoovers' Guide to Computer Companies (Main HD 9696 .C63 .H66 1995)
* Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies: Profiles of Major U.S. Private Enterprises (Ref HG 4057 .A25).
* Hoover's Handbook of American Business (Ref HG 4057 A28622)
* Hoover's Handbook of World Business (Ref HG 4009 H66)
* Hoover's Hot 250: the Stories Behind America's Fastest Growing Companies (Ref HF 4057 A28623 1997)
* Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies (Ref HG 4057 .A33)
Million Dollar Database (Dun & Bradstreet / D&B).
Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives. (Ref HG 4057 A4).
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. (Ref T 12 T6 and http://www.thomasregister.com/).
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies (Ref HG 4057 .A575 1999)
To establish subsidiary/parent relationships use the following:
LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations. (Ref HG 4057 A217).
To find out which company sells under a trade name and their advertising expenditures:
Standard Directory of Advertisers. (Ref HF 5805 S7). (Advertising Redbooks)
(8-97 em/rev. 8/06)


