Literary Criticism
About
The following bibliography is a selective guide to resources available in the J. Paul Leonard Library or through the Internet.
Other Bibliographies and Research Guides that may be helpful include: Theatre.
Locating Books
Books at SF State:
To find books go to the Library’s homepage: www.library.sfsu.edu, and select Find Books & More. You can search InvestiGator, the Library’s online catalog, by “Keyword”, “Author”, or “Title”. Also, you can search by “Subject,” using Library of Congress (LC) subject heading terms. Below is a list of LC subject terms used in the SFSU catalog. The following links take you directly to a current list of books and other resources for each topic in the SFSU Library
| American fiction -- Criticism and interpretation | Feminism and literature |
| American literature – African American authors | Feminist criticism |
| American poetry | Fiction -- History and criticism |
| Canon (literature) | Gay's writings |
| Children’s stories | Literature – History and criticism |
| Criticism | Literature, Comparative |
| Deconstruction | Postmodernism (Literature) |
| Dramatic criticism | Romanticism |
| English drama | Science fiction |
| English Fiction –Women authors | Structuralism (Literary analysis) |
| English literature -- History and criticism | |
| Epic poetry, English – History and criticism | Violence in literature |
The Library’s books are shelved by call numbers according to the Library of Congress alpha-numeric system, which organizes all knowledge into 21 classes. Language and literature is identified by the letter P. Below is a broad outline of the P classification and sub-classifications for literature. All books in the main collection with the beginning class letter of P are located on the 2nd floor of the library.
| P Philology & Linguistics | PN General & Comparative Liter |
| PA Classical Languages & Literature | PQ Romance Literatures, Spanish Literature |
| PC Romance Languages | PR English Literature |
| PD-PF Germanic Languages, including: | PS American Literature |
| PE English | PS 8000+ Canadian Literature |
| PG Slavic Languages & Literatures | PT Germanic Literature |
| PJ-PL Oriental Languages & Literature | PZ Fiction in English (Juvenile Literature) |
Locating Books at Other Libraries
1. Link+: A network of libraries in California that share books. Items usually arrive between 3-5 days, and you may check them out 28 days, initially.
- You can search Link+ both for specific titles or by topic.
- Click on REQUEST THIS ITEM to order the item. SFSU students, faculty, & staff may request books on LINK+ with a Library PIN. Refer to the Library homepage for information on creating a PIN.
2. WorldCat: A database of books and other material in libraries nationwide.
- You can search WorldCat for both specific titles or by topic (see the instructions above for searching for published primary sources at the SFSU library).
- To order the books or microfilm that you locate, first search InvestiGator (the library catalog) to see if we have the item here at SFSU. If we do not, SFSU students, faculty and staff may request (free of charge) books and microfilm through Document Delivery Services. Try Link+ first; if not available there, use the iLLiad service. This service can take anywhere between 3 days - 3 weeks, so you need to plan ahead!
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
The following databases can be accessed from the library’s home page:
www.library.sfsu.edu under “Find : Articles & Databases.” To access databases off-campus, SFSU students, faculty, and staff should create a Library PIN from the link “Library Services: Library Accounts & PIN” provided on the Library’s homepage.
More info on how to search: Finding Articles research guide
| Source | Content | Location |
| Most important: | ||
| LITERATURE ONLINE (LION) | Contains full-text of 350,000+ English, American, and Canadian literary works, critical analyses of literature with links to some full-text articles from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), 1920 to present, and the MLA International Bibliography, 1884- to present. | ONLINE |
| MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY | Indexes 3,000+ international journals and series, monographs, working (unpublished) papers, conference proceedings, and bibliographies. ( 1884 forward) | ONLINE See Also: Literature Online (Lion) |
| HUMANITIES FULL-TEXT | Scholarly journal articles on the humanities, including literature & history (1984 forward) | ONLINE |
| Also Useful: | ||
| L’Annee Philologique | A database published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, with the Database of Classical Bibliography. 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004. | ONLINE |
| Academic Search Premier | A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text of many journal articles.(1975 forward) | ONLINE |
| Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature | International bibliography of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays. (1920 forward) | SEE LITERATURE ONLINE (LION) |
| ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language | Full-text of a broad range of written French—in literature, philosophy, arts, economics and sciences from the 12th to 20th centuries. Includes separate collections of Provencal poetry and French women writers. | ONLINE |
| Arts and Humanities Citation Index | Indexes arts and humanities journals. Available online in Web of Science database (1975 forward) | ONLINE |
| Bibliography of Asian Studies | Contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. ( 1971 forward) | ONLINE |
| Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography | Includes biographical and bibliographical information, and critical essays on 90,000+ writers. (Coverage varies) | ONLINE |
| Essay and General Literature Index | Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.(1985 forward) | ONLINE |
| Hapi Online | The Hispanic American Periodicals Index includes citations and some full-text links to journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.(1970 forward) | ONLINE |
| Index to Chinese Periodical Literature | 1977-1996. Text in Chinese. | REFERENCE INDEX AREA |
| International Medieval Bibliography | Covers all subjects relating to the European Middle Ages (c.400-1500), including history and literature. | ONLINE |
| JSTOR | Full-text to back files of core scholarly/academic journals in a number of disciplines. Does not include the most recent two or three years.(Coverage varies) | ONLINE |
| Project Muse | Full text of articles in the arts and humanities, social sciences. (Coverage varies) | ONLINE |
| Twayne’s Authors Series | Includes critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, or the development of literary genres.(Coverage varies) | ONLINE |
| Year’s Work in critical and cultural theory | Provides a narrative bibliography of work in the field of critical and cultural theory. (1992 forward) | Ref PN80.Y43 |
| Year’s Work in English Studies | A bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. ( 1919 forward) | REFERENCE INDEX AREA |
| Year’s Work in Modern Language Studies | An annual critical bibliography of work of scholarship on European and Latin American languages and literatures. (1930 forward) | REFERENCE INDEX AREA |
Electronic Journal List
In addition to using library databases to find articles, you can search specific journals online if they are covered in the Library’s Electronic Journal List. From the Library’s homepage, select “Find: Electronic Journal List.” You can search by title or by broad subject categories. Some relevant online journals for literary criticism include:
| American literary history | Paragraph: the journal of the Modern Critical Group |
| American poetry review | Poetry |
| Arabic and Middle Eastern literatures | Postmodern culture |
| Black American literature forum | Research in African literatures |
| Comparative literature | Review of contemporary fiction |
| The Chaucer review | Romance quarterly |
| Dickens quarterly | Russian literature |
| Eighteenth-century fiction | Shakespeare quarterly |
| German life and letters | Studies in American Indian literature |
| Hispanic review | Studies in English literature, 1500-1900 |
| Journal of Commonwealth literature | Twentieth-century literature |
| Journal of modern literature | Victorian poetry |
| Milton quarterly | World literature today |
| Novel | Yale French studies |
Locating Dissertations & Theses
SFSU Masters Theses:
Records for theses written by SFSU students are in InvestiGator, the Library’s online catalog. To retrieve these items:
- Do a KEYWORDS search (for example: Shakespeare and women)
- Then select "Master's Theses Collection" from the LOCATION pull-down menu. This will retrieve any SFSU thesis with the keywords Shakespeare and women in the record. These items all begin with the call number AS36, and are located on the 4th floor.
Dissertations & Theses Written Nationwide:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is a SFSU Library database that indexes dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. Coverage is from 1861 to the present, providing full text for most indexed dissertations from 1990-present. Database features include searching by elements such as title, author, keyword, adviser, subject, school, language and degree.
For more assistance with dissertations and theses, see the Master's Theses & Dissertations research guide
Document Delivery Services
If a book or article is not available in the SFSU Library, you may be able to request the item through one of the Library's document delivery services (also known as Interlibrary Loan).
Current students, faculty and staff with a valid SF State ID number and Library PIN can use these services to determine if a book, article, thesis/dissertation, etc. is available from another institution. If available, items are generally delivered quickly, without charge and are either available for you to pickup in the Library or are delivered directly to you electronically.
Users who are not currently affiliated with SF State may be able to use similar services at their nearest public library.
Contact Document Delivery Services for more information regarding these services.
Reference Sources: General
Bibliographies
- Bibliography of Contemporary American Fiction 1945-1988: An Annotated Bibliography (Ref Z 1231 F4 M36 1989)
- Facts on File Bibliography of American Fiction Through 1865 (Ref Z 1231 F4 F33 1994)
- Facts on File Bibliography of American Fiction,1866-1918 (Ref Z 1231 F4 B46 1993)
- New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature (Main Z 2011 N45)
- Twentieth Century Literary Movements Index (Ref Z 6514 L57 T9 1991)
Biographical/Critical Sources
- American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present (2000) [Electronic Resource—Access via Investigator]
- American Writers Before 1800 (Ref PS 185 A4)
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
- British Writers (Ref PR 85 B688)
- Chelsea House Library of Literary Criticism: The Critical Perspective (Ref PR 85 C76 1985)
- Twentieth-Century American Literature (Ref PS 221 T834)
- Twentieth-Century British Literature (Ref PR 473 T84 1985)
- Collin's Biographical Dictionary of English Literature (Ref PR 106 K36 1997)
- Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (Ref PS 153 L46 C65 1993)
- Contemporary Novelists [Electron Resource—Access via Investigator)
- Critical Survey of Literary Theory (Ref PN 45 C74 1987)
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction (Ref PN 3451 C75 2000)
- Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English & American Literature from the Beginning to Present (Ref PR 83 C77)
- Cyclopedia of World Authors (Ref PN 451 M36 1997)
- Feminist Writers (Ref Z 5304 A8 F46 1996)
- Gale Literary Criticism Series (Excerpts of previously published criticism):
- Black Literature Criticism (covers 19th-20th centuries) (Ref PS 153 N5 B556 1992)
- Children's Literature Review (Ref PN 1009 A1 C5139)
- Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (Authors deceased before 1400) (Ref PN 86 C52x)
- Hispanic Literature Criticism (covers late 19th & 20th centuries) (Ref PQ 7081 A1 H573 1994)
- Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (Ref PN 86 L53 1984)
- Native North American Literature (Authors from 18th to 20th centuries) (Ref PS 508 I5 N38 1994)
- Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (Authors who died between 1800 and 1899) (Ref PN 761 N5)
- Poetry Criticism (Ref PN 1010 P499)
- Shakespearean Criticism (Ref PR 2965 S43 1984)
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (Authors who died between 1900 and 1959) (Ref PN 771 G27)
- Modern British Literature. (Ref PR471.M57 2000)
- Notable British Novelists. (Ref PR 821.N57 2001)
- Oxford Companion to English Literature. (Ref PR19.O94 2006)
- Oxford Guide To British Women Writers (Ref PR111 S48 1993)
- Twentieth-Century Science-Fiction Writers (Ref PS 374 S35 T89 1991)
- Twenty-First Century British and Irish Novelists (2003) (Ref PS221 D5x vol. 267)
- Who’s Who in Lesbian and Gay Writing (Ref HQ75.13.G75 2002)
- Women Writers of Great Britain and Europe: An Encyclopedia (Ref PN 471 W565 1997)
- Writers of Multicultural Fiction for Young Adults (Ref PS 374 Y57 W75 1996)
Chronologies
- Annals of American Literature, 1602-1983 (Ref PS 94 L83 1986)
- A Chronological Outline of American Literature (Ref PS 92 R67 1987)
- A Chronological Outline of British Literature (Ref PR 87 R57 1980)
- Literature and Its Times (Ref PN 50 L574 1997)
Dictionaries, Glossaries of Literary Terms & Criticism
- Dictionary of Critical Theory (Ref PN 98 S6 O77 1991)
- Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms (Ref PN 44.5 Q56 2000)
- Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory (Ref PN 41 C83 1998)
- Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory (Main PN 44.5 H37 2000)
- A guide to the Oxford English Dictionary (Ref PE 1617 O94 B47 1993)
- A Multicultural Dictionary of Literary Terms (Ref PN 41 C28 1999)
- The New Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms (Ref PN 1021 N39 1994)
- OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary Online)
- Oxford English Dictionary (Ref PE 1628 O87 1989)
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- The Cambridge History of American Literature (Ref PS92.C34 1994)
- The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism (Main BH 39 C62 1995)
- Columbia Literary History of the United States (PS92.C64 1988)
- Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory (Ref PN 41 H36 1992)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms (Ref PN 81 E43 1993)
- Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory (Ref PN 98 W64 E53 1997)
- Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism (Main PN86.E63 1999)
- Feminism in Literature (Ref PN 471 F43 2005)
- Gay and Lesbian Literature (Ref PN 56 H57 G36 1994)
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism (Ref PN 81 J554 2005)
- Literary History of the United States (Spiller) (Main Non-Circ PS 88 L522 1974)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (Ref PS 21 E537 2004)
Indexes For Locating Poems, Plays, Short Stories and Essays
- Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies. 12 ed. (PN 1022.H39 2007)
- Essay and General Literature Index (Ref Index Table & Online)
- Index of American Periodical Verse (Shelved as American Periodical Verse) (Ref Index Area)
- Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections...1900-1985 (Ref PN1655.O88 1988x))
- Play Index (Ref Index Area)
- Roth's American Poetry Annual (Main PS 580 R68 1990)
- Short Story Index (Ref Index Area)
Literary Characters
- Characters in 19th Century Literature (Ref PN 56.4 H69 1993)
- Characters in 20th Century Literature (Ref PN 56.4 H37 1995)
- Common Knowledge: A Reader's Guide to Literary Allusions (Ref PN 43 G68 1987)
- Companion to Literary Myths, Heroes and Archetypes (Ref PN 56 M95 D4813 1992)
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters (Ref PN 44 M3 1998)
- Dictionary of American Literary Characters (Ref PS 174 C43 D5 2000)
- Dictionary of Literary Characters (Ref PR 19 D52 2004)
- An Explanatory and Pronouncing Dictionary of the Noted Names of Fiction (Ref PN 43 W4 1894)
- Imaginary People: A Who's Who of Modern Fictional Characters From the Eighteenth Century to the Present Day (Ref PN 56.4 P75 1996)
Plot Summaries
- Masterplots/Magill's Literary Annual (Ref PN 44 M33)
- Masterplots. American Fiction Series (Ref PN 843 M15 1985)
- Masterplots. British Fiction Series (Ref PR 825 M37 1985)
- Masterplots. European Fiction Series (Ref PN 3326 M37 1985)
- Masterplots II. African American Literature Series (Ref PS 153 N5 M2645)
- Masterplots II. American Fiction Series (Ref PN 846 M37 1986)
- Masterplots II. American Fiction Series (Ref PS 373 M37 2000)
- Masterplots II. NonFiction Series (Ref PN 44 M345 1989)
- Masterplots II. Short Story Series (Ref PN 3326 M27 1986)
- Masterplots II. Women's Literature Series (Ref PN 471 M37 1995)
- Plot Locator: An Index to Summaries of Fiction and Nonfiction (Ref PN 44 P58 1991)
- Survey of Contemporary Literature (Ref PN 44 M34 1977)
- Survey of Modern Fantasy Literature (Ref PN 56 F34 S97)
Reference Sources: Geners
Drama and Theatre
See the research guide for Theatre.
The Novel
- The Columbia History of the American Novel (Main PS 371 C7 1991)
- The Continental Novel: 1967-1980 (Ref Z 5916 F57 1983)
- The Continental Novel: 1900-1966 (Ref Z 5916 K4)
- The Contemporary Novel: A Checklist of Critical Literature on the British and American Novel Since 1945 (Ref Z 1231 F4 A34)
- Encyclopedia of the Novel (Ref PN 41 E487 1998)
Poetry
- Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies (Ref PN 1022 H39 2007)
- Contemporary Poets (Ref PR 603 C6 2001)
- Contemporary Women Poets (Ref PS 151 C67 1998)
- Critical Survey of Poetry. English Language Series. (Magill's) (Ref PN 1111 C7x 1992)
- Encyclopedia of American Poetry (Ref PS 316 E53 1998)
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry (Ref PS 303 G74 2006)
- Guide to American Poetry Explication: Colonial & Nineteenth Century (Ref Z 1231 P7 L46 1989 v. 1) ; Modern & Contemporary (Ref Z 1231 P7 L46 1989 v. 2)
- Guide to Chinese Poetry and Drama (Ref Z 3108 L5 L85 1984)
- Last Lines: An Index to the Last Lines of Poetry (Ref PN 1022 K55 1992)
- New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics (Ref PN 1021 N39 1993)
- Notable Poets (Ref PN 1021 N68 1998)
- Poetry Criticism (Ref PN 1010 P499)
- Poet's Dictionary (Ref PN 44.5 P3 1989)
- Roth's American Poetry Annual (1988 to present. Merged Annual Survey of American Poetry, Annual Index to Poetry, & American Poetry Index) (Main PS 580 R68)
Also, the Poetry Center & American Poetry Archives, San Francisco State University (Hum. 512), has an extensive contemporary poetry library & archives, including books, journals, and video and audio recordings of writers reading and in performance. Visit the Center’s web site: http://www.sfsu.edu/~poetry/
The Short Story
- American Short-Fiction Criticism and Scholarship, 1959-1977: A Checklist (Ref Z 1231 F4 W43)
- Critical Survey of Short Fiction. 2nd ed., rev. (Magill's) (Ref PN 3321 C7 2001)
- Masterplots II. Short Story Series (Ref PN 3326 M27)
- Short Story Criticism (Ref PN 3373 S386)
- Short Story Index (Ref Index Table #11)
- Twentieth Century Short Story Explication (Main Z 5917 S5 W33)
- Twentieth Century Short Story Explication; New Series (Ref Z 5917 S5 W35 1993)
American Ethnic Groups
General
- American Ethnic Writers. 2 vols. (Ref PS 153 .M56 A414 2000)
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature (Ref PS 153 M56 G74 2005) African American
- African American Writers (Ref PS 153 N5 A344 2001)
- Black American Women Novelists (Ref Z 1229 N39 W47 1989)
- Black Literature Criticism (Ref PS 153 N5 B556 1992)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Ref PS221.D5x, vol…) See:
- Vol..33: Afro-American Fiction Wrtiers After 1955
- Vol. 38: Afro-American Wrtiers after 1955: Dramatists & Prose Writers
- Vol. 41: Afro-American Poets Since 1955
- Vol. 50: Afro-American Writers Before The Harlem Renaissance
- Vol. 51: Afro-American Writers From the Harlem Renaissance
- Vol. 76: Afro-American Writers: 1940-1955
- Handbook of African American Literature (Ref PS 153 N5 E78 2004)
- Index to Black Poetry (Ref PS 153 N5 C45)
- Masterpieces of African-American Literature. (Ref PS 153 N5 M264 1992)
- Masterplots II. African American Literature Series (Ref PS 153 N5 M2645 1994)
- Writing African American Women: an Encyclopedia of literature by and about Women of Color (Ref PS 153 N5 W756 2006)
See also the African American poetry collection in Literature Online (LION)
Asian American
- Asian American Literature: An Annotated Bibliography (Ref Z 1229 A75 C47 1988)
- Asian American Literature: Reviews and Criticism of Works by American Writers of Asian Descent (Ref PS 153 A84 A82 1999)
- Asian American Playwrights (Ref PS338.A74 A9 2002)
- Asian American Poets (Ref PS 153 A84 A826 2002)
- Asian American Short Story Writers (Ref PS 153 A84 A828 2003)
- Asian American Women Writers (Main PS 153 A84 A83 1997)
- Asian American Writers (2005) (Ref PS 221 D5x vol. 312)
- A Resource Guide to Asian American Literature (Ref PS 153 A84 R47 2001)
Hispanic American
- Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States (Ref PQ 7420.2 K3 1989)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography. (vol. 82, 122) (Ref PS 221 D5x)
- Hispanic Literature Criticism (Ref PQ 7081 A1 H573 1994)
- Hispanic Literature in the United States (Ref PS 153 H56 K36 2003)
- Masterpieces of Latino Literature (Ref PQ 7081 A1 M29 1994)
- Latino literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction [Electronic Resource—Access via Investigator]
Native American
- Dictionary of Native American Literature (Ref PM155 .D53 1994)
- Native North American Literature: Biographical and Critical Information on Nature Writers and Orators From the United States and Canada From Historical Times to the Present (Ref PS 508 I5 N38 1994)
- Native American Literatures: an Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes. (Ref PS 153 I52 W47 1999 and [Electronic Resource--Access via Investigator]
World Literature
World and Comparative Literature:
- Companion to Literary Myths, Heroes and Archetypes (Ref PN 56 M95 D4813 1992)
- Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century (Ref PN 771 E5 1999)
- Encyclopedia of World Writers: 19th & 20th Centuries (Ref PN 451 E55 2005)
- Reference Guide to World Literature (2003) [Electronic Resource—Access via Investigator]
- Twentieth-Century Literary Movements Dictionary (Ref PN 597 T94 2000)
- World Authors, 1900-1950 (Ref PN 451 W674 1996)
- World Authors, 1980-1985 (Ref PN 451 W67 1991)
- World Authors, 1985-1990 (Ref PN 451 W67 1995)
- World Authors, 1995-2000 (Ref PN 451 W676 2003)
- Yearbook of Comparative and General Literature (Main PN 851 Y4)
Asian
- The Chinese Classic Novel: An Annotated Bibliography (Main Z 3108 L5 B47 1988)
- Classical Chinese Fiction (Ref Z 3108 L5 Y29)
- Dictionary of Oriental Literatures (Ref PJ 31 D5)
- Guide to Chinese Literature (ref PL2271.I3413 1997)
- Guide to Chinese Poetry and Drama (Ref Z 3108 L5 L85 1984)
- Guide to Chinese Prose (Ref Z 3108 L5 P34 1984)
- A Guide to Eastern Literatures (Ref PJ 307 L3 1971b)
- Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature (Ref Z 3108 L5 I53 1986)
- Modern Chinese Fiction (Ref & Main Z 3108 L5 Y293)
- South Asian Writers in English (Ref PS221 .D5x vol. 323)
- Ying Yi Zhongwen Shi Ci Qu Suo Yin (Chinese literature—translations into English) (Ref PL2518.5.W36 2000)
Caribbean and African
- African Authors: A Companion to Black African Writing (Ref PL 8010 H38)
- African Literature and its Times (Ref PL8010 .M65 2000)
- African Literature in the 20th Century: A Guide (Ref PL 8010 A43 1986)
- African Writers (Ref PL 8010 A453 1997)
- Caribbean Women Novelists: An Annotated Critical Bibliography (Main Z 1595 C364 1993)
- Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Encyclopedia (Ref PN 849 C3)
- The Companion to African Literatures (Ref PR9340.C65 2000)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography. (vols.: 117, 125, 157) (Ref PS 221 D5x)
- Encyclopedia of African Literature (Main PL 8010 E63 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature (Ref PN849.C3 E53 2006)
- A History of Literature in the Caribbean (Ref PN 849 C3 H57 1994)
- Twentieth-century Caribbean and Black African writers (1996) (Ref PS221 D5x vol.157)
- Writers of the Caribbean and Central American: A Bibliography (Ref Z 1595 F46 1992)
European
- Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature (Ref PN 771 C575 1980)
- An Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers (Ref PN 481 E5 1991)
- European Writers (The Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century) (Ref PN 501 E9 1983)
- Reader's Encyclopedia of Eastern European Literature (Ref PN 849.E9 R38 1993)
- Twentieth-Century Eastern European Writers (Ref PS 221 D5x vol. 232)
- Women Writers of Great Britain and Europe: An Encyclopedia (Ref PN 471 W565 1997)
French
- Dictionary of Modern French Literature (Ref PQ 41 D65 1986)
- Dictionnaire des Lettres Francaises (Ref PQ 41 D53)
- Dictionnaire des Litteratures de Langue Francaise (Ref PQ 41 B42 1994)
- Dictionnaire Pratique des Auteurs Quebecois (Ref PQ 3904 H3)
- Modern French Literature (Ref PQ 306 M57)
- The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French (Ref PQ 41 N49 1995)
- Seventeenth-Century French Writers (Ref PS221.D5x vol. 268)
- Writers of the French Enlightenment (Ref PS221.D5x vol. 313,etc)
Italian
- Dizionario Critico della Letteratura Italiana (Ref PQ 4057 D59 1986)
- Dizionario Critico della Letteratura Italiana del Novecento (de Bellis Ref PQ 4057 G48 1997)
- Dizionario Enciclopedico della Letteratura Italiana (Main PQ 4006 D5)
- Dictionary of Italian Literature (de Bellis Ref PQ 4006 D45 1996)
- Italian Prose Writers, 1900-1945 (Ref PS221.D5x vol. 264)
- Letteratura Italiana. Dizionario delle Opere (de Bellis PQ 4006 L48 1999)
- Storia della Letteratura Italiana (de Bellis Ref PQ 4037 S9 1995)
Portuguese, Spanish
- Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (Ref PQ 7081 A1 C35 1996)
- Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature (Ref PQ 7081 A1 E56 2000)
- Dicionario de Literatura: Literatura Portuguesa, Literatura Brasileira, Literatura Galega, Estilistica Literaria (Ref PQ 9006 C65 1973x)
- Diccionario de Escritores Mexicanos (Ref PQ 7106 O24)
- Dictionary of Brazilian Literature (Ref PQ 9506 D53 1988)
- Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula (Ref PN 849 S6 D54 1993)
- Dictionary of Mexican Literature (Ref PQ 7106 D53 1992)
- Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature (Main PQ 7081 A1 E56 1997)
- The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature (Main PQ 6055 F46 2002)
- Handbook of Latin American Literature (Main PQ 7081 A1 H36 1992)
- Hispanic Literature Criticism (Ref PQ 7081 A1 H573 1994)
- Hispanic Writers (Ref PQ 7081.3 H58 1991)
- Historia de la Literatura Espanola (Ref PQ 6032 V3 1957)
- Latin American Writers (Ref PQ 7081 A1 L37 1989)
- Masterpieces of Latino Literature (Ref PQ 7081 A1 M29 1994)
- Mexican Literature: A History (Ref PQ 7111 M49 1994)
- Modern Spanish and Portuguese Literatures (Ref PQ 6072 M57 1988)
- The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature (Ref PQ 6006 O93x)
- Portuguese Writers (2004) (Ref PS221.D5x vol. 287)
- New History of Spanish Literature (Ref PQ 6033 C45 1991)
- Spanish American Authors of the 20th Century (Ref PQ 7081.3 F57 1992)
- Spanish Women Writers (Ref PQ 6055 S63 1993)
- Spanish, Catalan, and Galician Literary Authors of the Twentieth Century: An Annotated Guide to Bibliographies (Ref Z 2691 A1 Z83 1992)
- Twentieth-Century Spanish Fiction Writers (Ref PS221 D5x vol. 322)
German
- Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature (Main PT 41 F46 1997)
- Handbuch der Deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur (Ref PT 403 K8)
- Kindlers Literaturgeschichte der Gegenwart: Die Literatur der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik (Ref PT 3716 F7)
- The Oxford Companion to German Literature (Ref PT 41 G3 1986)
- Reallexikon der Deutschen Literaturgeschichte (Ref PT 41 R43x)
Slavic
- The Cambridge History of Russian Literature (Ref PG 2951 C36 1992)
- Dictionary of Russian Women Writers (Ref PG 2997 D53 1994)
- Handbook of Russian Literature (Ref PG 2940 H29 1985)
- The Modern Encyclopedia of East Slavic, Baltic and Eurasian Literatures. (1977-1996) 10 vols. (Ref PG 2940 M6)
- Modern Slavic Literatures: A Library of Literary Criticism (Ref PG 501 M518)
- Reference Guide to Russian Literature (Ref PG 2940 R44 1998)
- Russian Writers Since 1980 (2004) (Ref PS221.D5x vol. 285)
Commonwealth
- Dictionary of Irish Literature (Ref PR 8706 D5 1996)
- Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English (Ref PR 9080 A52 E539 1994)
- The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature (Ref PR 9600.2 W55 1994)
- The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature (Ref PR 9180.2 O94 1997)
Other
- Contemporary Turkish Writers (Main Z 7049 U5 M57 1988)
- Dictionary of Scandinavian Literature (Ref PT 7063 D5 1990)
- Filipino Writers in English (Ref PR 9550 A52 V35 1987)
- History of Norwegian Literature (Ref PT 8363 H57 1993)
Classical Literature
- Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome (Ref PA 3002 A5 1982)
- Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (Ref PN 86 C52x)
- The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature (Ref PA 31 H69 1993)
- Crowell's Handbook of Classical Literature (Ref PA 31 F4)
- Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000 (Ref PA 31 G7)
- Greek and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism (Main Z 7016 G9 1982)
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary (Ref DE 5 O9 2003)
- The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature (Ref PA 31 H69 1993)
Selected Internet Sites
Contemporary Literary Theory (John Lye, Brock University)
http://www.brocku.ca/english/courses/4F70/
Contemporary Philosophy, Critical Theory & Postmodern Thought
http://carbon.cudenver.edu/~mryder/itc_data/postmodern.html
Contains critical essays on postmodern theory and individual theorists. Links to e-journals and web sites.
Early Modern Literary Studies
http://www.shu.ac.uk/emls/emlshome.html
Online journal containing articles on 16th & 17th century English literature.
ECLAT: The Essential Comparative Literature and Theory Site: (University of Pennsylvania)
http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/Complit/Eclat/
Encyclopedia Mythica (M.F. Lindemans)
http://www.pantheon.org/mythica/
Contains brief articles on mythological characters, creatures, and places from all over the world.
Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection (University of Michigan)
http://www.ipl.org/ref/litcrit/
Lists critical and biographical sites.
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies (Georgetown University)
http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html
Links to web sites, primary and full-text documents.
Literary Resources on the Net (Jack Lynch, Rutgers)
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
Searchable guide to literary resources, including many critical sites.
Luminarium (Annina Jo Kinen)
http://www.luminarium.org/lumina.htm
Biographical and critical essays on Medieval, Renaissance, and 17th century European writers.
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature: A Research and Reference Guide (Paul P. Reuben) http://www.csustan.edu/english/reuben/pal/TABLE.HTML A research guide to American literature from its beginnings to the 20th century. Arranged by literary periods, site includes an outline, bibliography, and study questions for each period.
Poetry Center & American Poetry Archives at San Francisco State University
http://www.sfsu.edu/~poetry
Features information, news, and a calendar of up-coming readings sponsored by the Center. Includes issues of an online journal produced by the center, Narrativity: a Critical Journal of Innovative Narrative. Also, links to other online poetry journals are included.
Romanticism on the Net
http://www.ron.umontreal.ca/
An online journal devoted to Romantic studies. Features articles, book reviews, and recommended web sites.
San Francisco State University. Department of English
http://www.sfsu.edu/~english
Information on SFSU Department of English, including degrees and programs offered, faculty and student information, and internet literary links.
Victorian Women Writers Project (Perry Willett, Indiana University)
http://www.indiana.edu/~letrs/vwwp/
Electronic texts of works written by 19th century British women. Works include novels, poetry, drama, children's books, political pamphlets, and religious tracts.
Voice of the Shuttle: Website for Humanities research (Alan Lui, UC, Santa Barbara)
http://vos.ucsb.edu/
An important, comprehensive site for links to world literature and literary theory. A useful starting place to search for all literary topics.
(Rev. 8/07 LBA)


