Business Research: International Marketing
About
For the latest information about library services and resources, go to the Library Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu).
The following bibliography is a selective guide to sources of information located in the J. Paul Leonard Library and to selected Internet sources. If you are importing into the U.S., ask for the Marketing research guide at the Reference or Government Publications Desks.
Many of the databases listed in this bibliography are only available in the Library or to SFSU students, faculty and staff outside the Library.For information about the location of, and access, to these databases, go to the Library's home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Find...Articles & Databases".
While the focus of this bibliography is on international marketing, many of these sources are relevant to other aspects of international business.
Most of the print materials in this guide are located in the Reference or Government Publications Area. Location symbols are as follows:
Govt Government Publications, 5th floor
Per Periodicals/Microforms, 2nd floor
Ref Reference, 1st floor
Handbooks, Dictionaries and Guides
Basic Guide to Exporting. Irregular. (Ref HF1416.5 .B37 and Govt C61.8 Ex7/3 and http://www.unzco.com/basicguide/index.html). U.S. International Trade Administration guide to data sources, marketing strategies, and directories of contacts. Also useful is Breaking into the Trade Game (http://www.sba.gov/oit/info/Guide-To-Exporting/all.html) and Export Basics (http://www.export.gov/exportbasics/index.asp).
Export/Import Procedures and Documentation. 4th ed. New York: American Management Association, 2002. (Ref HF 1416.5 J64)
Export Programs Guide: A Business Guide to Federal Export Assistance. 2005. (Govt C61.8:Ex7/8) The latest edition is available on the Trade Information Center Web site: (http://tradeinfo.doc.gov).
Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics. Irregular. (http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/guide/index.html) Also useful is the article on "Trade Statistics On-line" (http://web.ita.doc.gov/ticwebsite/FAQs.nsf/6683dce2e5871df9852565bc00785ddf/).
Hinkelman, Edward G. Dictionary of International Trade. 4th ed. Novato, Calif.: World Trade Press, c2000. (Ref HF1373 .H55)
IEBM Handbook of International Business. Ed. By Rosalie L. Tung. New York: International Thomson Press, 1999. (Ref HD 62.4 I38)
Importing into the U.S. Irregular. (Govt T17.17: [year] and http://www.cbp.gov/xp/cgov/toolbox/publications/trade/) Guide to procedures including quotas, invoice preparation, etc.
Incoterms 2000. Paris: International Chamber of Commerce, 1999. (Ref K 1029.3 .I53)
International Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It.2nd ed. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx, 1998. (Ref HF 54.5 P33)
International Trade Sources: A Research Guide, 1997. (Ref Z 7164C8 S33)
Shim, Jae K. Dictionary of International Business Terms. New York: AMACOM, 1998. (Ref HD 62.4 S524)
Country Background Information
These sources are good starting places for obtaining background information on business, marketing and socio-political conditions in other countries.
Country by Country (World Outlook). (Economist Intelligence Unit) (Ref HC 59 E387a) Forecasts short-term political and economic trends.
Country Commercial Guides. Available on the NTDB on the STAT-USA database and on the Export.gov Web site: http://www.export.gov/mrktresearch/index.asp. Provide an overview of the economic, marketing and investment environment and data including a list of best prospects. Also useful are the Country Commerce and Country Finance databases (EIU).
Country Files (irregularly updated pamphlets on foreign countries). (Govt)
Background Notes. U.S. State Department (http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/).
Provide basic information on country.
Foreign Labor Trends. U.S. Labor Department.
Also available on the NTDB on the STAT-USA database.
Country Reports on the Business Source Premier database. Publications include: [Country name] Business Forecast Report, [Country name] Quarterly Forecast Report (Business Monitor International), [Country name] Country Monitor (Global Insight), [Country name] Country Profile (Datamonitor), [Country name] Country Review (CountryWatch), [Country name] Economic Competitiveness, [Country name] Economic Studies (ICON), Country Profile [Country name] (EIU), Country Report [Country name] (EIU) (the availability of the latter is delayed), Political Risk Yearbook: [Country name] (PRS Group). To retrieve a list of Country Report titles, search the country name in Publications (with by Subject and Description selected). You can also search the country you are interested in as a Subject (combined with other Text words as appropriate), and then look at the sources listed under the sub-category, Country Reports.
Country Reviews. Semi-annual. Available on the CountryWatch database. Includes data and political, economic, business and environmental background for each country.
Culturgrams: The Nations around Us, annual. (Ref GT 1 C85) Provide information about manners and customs.
Dos And Don'ts Around The World A Country Guide To Cultural And Social Taboos And Etiquette (Ref BJ 2137 .N83...)
Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World, 2001. (Ref HF 1416 M78)
Economic Surveys. (Govt) Several IGOs publish annual surveys that provide useful information about economic issues: for example, the OECD Economic Surveys (Govt IIS microfiche 2300-S-2 and Business Source Premier database), the Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific (Govt: United Nations. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific), the Inter-American Development Bank's Economic and Social Progress in Latin America (Govt HC125 .I514), the World Economic Outlook (Govt: International Monetary Fund) and the World Economic and Social Survey (United Nations) (Govt E/yr./50).
EIU Viewswire database, 2003- . Analytical and statistical extracts from EIU publications such as their Country Reports. Viewswire and other Economist Intelligence Unit publications are also searchable on the Factiva database (Viewswire coverage there more selective but more current and goes further back in time).
Europa World Year Book. (Ref JN 1 E85) Regional yearbooks are also available: Africa South of the Sahara (Ref DT 351 A37), The Far East & Australasia (Ref DS 1 F3), The Middle East and North Africa (Ref DS 49 M5), South America, Central America, and the Caribbean (Ref F 1406.5 S68), Western Europe (Ref D 967 W47x) and Eastern Europe (Ref HC 244 E225x).
ISI Emerging Markets database. Macroeconomics section, Legal section, etc. Data, forecasts and analysis for Latin American, East European and selected Asian, African and Middle Eastern countries.
Marketing Statistics and Research
Consumer demographics, product and industry information, etc.
Business Source Premier database. Search country name and product/industry name and select "Industry Profiles" and "Market Research Reports" to retrieve Datamonitor industry research reports.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries. (Ref HD 2324 .E53 2003).
European Marketing Data and Statistics, annual. (Ref HA 1107 E87).
Global Industry Surveys on the Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database. For U.S. products and industries see the Industry Surveys on the same database.
International Marketing Data and Statistics, annual. (Ref HA 42 I56). Provides key marketing statistics for non-European countries.
ISI Emerging Markets database. Industry section. For Latin American, East European and selected Asian, African and Middle Eastern countries.
Snapshots North America database. Industry analyses for many US and Canadian product lines.
U.S. Census Bureau. Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Govt Desk C 3.134 and Ref Desk HA 202 S72x and http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/). Also searchable on the LexisNexis Statistical database. Also useful is the American FactFinder (http://factfinder.census.gov) and other data access tools on the Census web site (http://www.census.gov).
U.S. Commerce Dept. National Trade Data Bank database (NTDB). Available on the STAT-USA database. Includes market research reports and key economic indicators. The Market Reports are also searchable on LexisNexis Academic (under the Business tab, select Country Profiles and then World Business Opportunities) and are also available on the Export.gov (http://www.export.gov) site. The Department of Agriculture's FAS (Foreign Agriculural Service) reports are also searchable on the Department's Web site (http://www.fas.usda.gov/fassearch.asp).
U.S. Commerce Dept. State of the Nation. Data for the U.S.; available on STAT-USA database.
World Market Share Reporter. (Ref HD 2757.15 W67 2001).
A few business and marketing sources that focus on single markets are also available: for example, Market Research Handbook (Canada) (Ref HC111 A19) and European Business Facts and Figures (Ref HC 241.2 .P313; updated by Govt IIS fiche 1600-P32). Ask for the Foreign Country Statistics research guide at the Research Assistance Reference Desk or the Government Publications Desk. The Business Reference Suite databases (Business & Industry and TableBase), the Business Source Premier database, the LexisNexis Statistical database and the Factiva database are particularly useful for locating highly specific marketing statistics. For locating marketing data about developing countries the ISI Emerging Markets database is excellent.
Trade Statistics
U.N. International Trade Statistics Yearbook. (Govt Desk Int'l #51& 51a). Tables by country and by commodity. Some more current data available on the UN Commodity Trade Statistics (UN Comtrade) database.
U.S. Census Bureau. U.S. Exports and U.S. Imports databases.(Govt C3.278/3 & /2). Detailed U.S. imports and exports by commodity/country. Data available down to the Customs district level; includes values, weight, quantity and shipping method. Historical data also available (Govt). Data also included on the RAND California database. Links to Census Bureau and other trade data sources are also available on Export.gov (http://www.export.gov/tradedata/index.asp).
U.S. Census Bureau. USA Trade Online database. Detailed U.S. export and import statistics by commodity/country and country/commodity. Data available down to the Customs district level; includes quantity and value data.
U.S. Office of Trade and Industry Information. Industry Trade Data and Analysis (http://ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/OTII/OTII-index.html).
World Trade Organization. Annual Report and International Trade Statistics. (Govt IIS microfiche, 4790 -S7 and -S8). Also useful are the International Trade Centre's International Trade Statistics.
Trade Regulations/Tariffs/Logistics
"Business Operations in..." Tax Management Foreign Income Portfolios series. Looseleaf. (Ref HJ2381 .B78). Business operations overview, investment and import regulations, detailed tax analysis for selected foreign countries.
Code of Federal Regulations. Updated by the Federal Register. (Govt). The Code and the Federal Register are searchable on LexisNexis Academic and LexisNexis Congressional. Both are also searchable on GPO Access (http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html). U.S. Government regulations including those governing importing, labeling, etc.
Country Commerce and Country Finance (EIU) databases (formerly Investing, Licensing and Trading (ILT) and Financing Foreign Operations (FFO)).
(Croner's) Reference Book for World Traders. Queens Village, N.Y.: Croner, looseleaf. (Ref HF 1010 C66). Vol. 1 contains information about importing and exporting to and from the U.S. including postal and shipping/air transport information. Vol. 2-3 provides marketing information and contacts country by country.
Export Administration Regulations (U.S. Commerce Department), looseleaf. (Govt Desk C63.23). Also available on the NTDB on the STAT-USA database and on GPO Access: http://www.access.gpo.gov/bis/index.html.
Exporter's Encyclopedia. (Ref HF 3011 E9) New York: Dun & Bradstreet, annual with suppls. Provides information and sources of information for U.S. exporters and importers and, for each country, provides import regulations and information on documentation, tariffs, shipping, communications, etc. For more information about foreign tariffs, go to the World Customs Organization Web site (http://www.wcoomd.org/ie/index.html).
Harmonized Tariff Schedules of the U.S. Annotated (HTS). (Govt Desk ITC 1.10: and http://dataweb.usitc.gov/), looseleaf. For each commodity gives the current duty. Includes alphabetical index to commodity classification. Additional information is also available on the Customs Service site for export (http://www.customs.gov/xp/cgov/export/) and import (http://www.customs.gov/xp/cgov/import/).
Importers Manual USA. San Raphael, CA: World Trade Press, irregular. (Ref HF 1419 I46x). A comprehensive reference source for importers to the U.S.
U.S. Commerce Dept. Trade Information Center. (http://www.tradeinfo.doc.gov). This ITA site includes a useful section on "Tariff and Tax Information".
U.S. Custom House Guide. (Ref KF 6652 O35). Includes the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the U.S., Customs regulations, port information and other information of use to importers.
U.S. Trade Representative. National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers, annual. (Govt Desk PrEx9.10 and http://www.ustr.gov).
UNCTAD. Database on Trade Control Measures (http://www.unctad-trains.org/). Select link to "TRAINS on Internet." Provides indicators of Trade Control Measures (Tariff and Non-tariff measures) at the 6-digit Harmonized System level for many countries.
Other sources of tariff information include the WTO's Trade Policy Reviews (Govt IIS mf 4790-S4 and http://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/tpr_e/tpr_e.htm).
Company Background
The following sources provide detailed financial information on major companies and multinationals outside the U.S.
Datamonitor reports on major companies on the Business Source Premier database.
Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) database.
Hoover's Handbook of World Business, annual. (Ref HG4009 H66 and database). Also searchable on Factiva and on LexisNexis Academic (under the Business tab, select Country Profiles). Some information also available free on Hoover's Online (http://www.hoovers.com).
LexisNexis Academic database (under the Business tab, select Company Profiles and then International Company Reports).
ISI Emerging Markets database. Company section. For Latin American, East European and selected Asian, African and Middle Eastern companies.
Mergent Online database. International company data including annual reports.
For publicly-owned American firms, principal sources are the Mergent (Moody's) Manuals (Ref HG 4961 (updates available at http://www.mergent.com/publish/news_reports.asp) and database), the Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) database and the LexisNexis Academic database (company information available under the Business tab) and the Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database.
Directories
Companies
To locate suppliers, buyers and your competition, use directories. The following sources typically provide such information as company address, chief officer(s), sales, type of business, and, sometimes, number of employees. In some directories, product listings are by SIC number; the SIC manual is shelved in Ref and at the Govt Desk. In some cases, the SIC classification system has been replaced by the NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System): see http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html for more information and comparability tables. The NAICS manual is available in Ref and at the Govt Desk (Ref HF1042 .N67 and Govt PrEx2.6/2:In27/). The San Francisco Public Library, Civic Center, has a good collection of foreign company directories.
Corporate Affiliations: International. LexisNexis, annual. (Ref HG 4057 A217). Useful for locating affiliates of U.S. companies abroad and of foreign companies in the U.S. Alphabetical, brand name, country and SIC & NAICS indexes.
D&B Principal International Businesses. Dun and Bradstreet, annual. (Ref HF 54 U5 P74). Arranged by country in which headquarters is located, by SIC number, and by company name.
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries. 18th ed. New York: Simon and Schuster, 2005. 3 vols. (Ref HG 4538 A1 D5). Arranged by company name and by the country in which the companies operate.
Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. 13th ed. New York: Simon and Schuster, 2006. (Ref HG 4057 A21943). Arranged by country in which headquarters is located, by name of foreign parent and by name of subsidiary.
Global Connections. San Francisco Chamber of Commerce, annual. (Ref HF 3163 S4 I58x). Lists San Francisco firms and organizations involved in international business.
World Trade Centers Association (WTCA). World Business Directory. Detroit: Gale, irregular. (Ref HF 54 U5 W667). Arranged geographically with company, product and industry indexes.
Directories are also available for specific countries: Canadian Trade Index (Ref HF 3223 C25); Japan Trade Directory (Ref HF 3823 J343).
Major directories of U.S. companies arranged by industry/product and geographical area include: D & B Regional Business Directory (SF Bay Area, Ref HG4058 S4 D86), California Manufacturers Register (Ref T 12C15), Directory of California Wholesalers and Service Companies (Ref HD 9981.7 C2 C34), Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (RefT 12 T6 and http://www.thomasregister.com), Standard and Poor's Register on the Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database, and the Million Dollar Database.
Importers/Exporters/Trade Opportunities
International Directory of Importers: North America. Healdsburg, CA: Blytmann International, biennial. (Ref HF 54 U5 I56). Directory of U.S. and Canadian importers arranged by commodity imported.
LexisNexis Academic database (under the Business tab, select Country Profiles and then World Business Opportunities).
Trade Opportunities Program leads. Listings of export opportunities for U.S. products are available on the GLOBUS & NTDB part of the STAT-USA database.
Other Trade Contacts
Trade associations, consulates and Chambers of Commerce are frequently helpful sources of information.
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations Volume. Detroit: Gale, annual. (Ref AS 7 E52x vol.4; also searchable on the Gale's Ready Reference Shelf database).
For American trade associations use: Encyclopedia of Associations and National Trade and Professional Associations (Ref HD2425 .D53).
Foreign Consular Offices in the U.S. Washington, D.C.: G.P.O., annual. (Govt Desk S 1.69/2 and http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco/).
(Croner's) Reference Book for World Traders, the Directory of Corporate Affiliations: International, the NTDB database and Europa World Year Book also list sources of information such as Chambers of Commerce here and abroad, consulates here and abroad and foreign trade associations.
Indexes to Periodical Articles, Government Publications, Etc
To find current and highly specific information about companies, countries, industries, products and topics, consult the following indexes to periodicals and other publications. To access the indexes in electronic (database) format, go to the Library's home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Find...Articles & Databases". To determine if the library has a particular periodical or other publication, consult InvestiGator (http://opac.sfsu.edu), the online catalog, and the Library's Electronic Journal List (http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sfsu/a-z/default). You can also look up the periodical in CUFTS (http://lib-cufts.lib.sfu.ca/CUFTS/sbt.cgi) for additional suggestions about where the periodical is indexed and whether full text is available. If you already have a citation to an article from a footnote, bibliography or other source, you can use the Citation Lookup Tool (http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sfsu/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi) to find the article. To determine if other local libraries have a periodical or other publication, check their online catalogs (many local online catalogs are accessible from the Library's home page under "Find...More/Other Libraries").
ABI/INFORM Global database, 1971- .
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database, 1971- .
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost), database, dates vary.
Business & Industry database on Business Reference Suite, 1994- .
Business Source Premier database, dates vary.
EIU Viewswire database, 2003- . Articles pulled from various Economist Intelligence Unit periodicals and research reports.
Emerald Fulltext database, dates vary.
Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) full-text databases, dates vary. Guide: http://www.library.sfsu.edu/research/instruction/lndjcommands.html.
ISI Emerging Markets database, dates vary. Business news in English and local languages for Latin American, East European and selected African, Asian and Middle Eastern countries.
LexisNexis Academic (databases). Provides full-text access to news, business and legal articles (often as recent as today's). Guide: http://www.library.sfsu.edu/research/instruction/lndjcommands.html.
LexisNexis Statistical database (includes selected full text). Indexes periodicals and other publications that include key statistics. Corresponds to the print Index to International Statistics, Statistical Reference Index and American Statistics Index.
OxResearch database, 1986- Succint analyses of international issues.
ProQuest Newspapers database, dates vary.
Locating Books
To locate books, you need to use InvestiGator (http://opac.sfsu.edu), the Library's online catalog. InvestiGator is searchable throughout the Library and via remote access. Examples of useful keyword searches are:
BUSINESS AND CHINA
CHINA AND ECONOMIC
CHINA AND STATISTICS
COMMERC* AND CHINA
CORPORATIONS AND JAPAN*
EXPORT MARKETING
EXPORTS
FARM PRODUCE MARKETING
FOREIGN TRADE
IMPORTS
INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS
INTERNATIONAL TRADE
INVESTMENTS AND FOREIGN
JAPAN AND GUIDEBOOKS
JAPAN AND POLITICS
MARKETING
MIDDLE EAST AND ECONOMIC
TOYOTA
TRADE AND JAPAN
The Library of Congress Subject Headings list serves as a guide to the subject headings used in the online catalog.
To access CSU, UC and other online catalogs, go to the Library's home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Find...More/Other Libraries".
Borrowing Items from Other Libraries
If a book is not in the Library's collection or not "available," you may be able to request it through Link+ (http://csul.iii.com/), an online catalog for a number of California academic and public libraries. If our library does not own the periodical, book or other publication you need, you may request that Document Delivery Services obtain a photocopy of an article or borrow the book from another library. Document Delivery Services is located in the Circulation Services area, 1st floor. Subsidized self-service document delivery for selected articles not in the library collection is available through the IngentaConnect database. For more information about these services (including online order forms), go to the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Borrowing Items from Other Libraries". If you would rather visit another library in person, you can connect to the online catalogs of local libraries from the Library's Web site under "Find...More/Other Libraries".
Internet Sites for International Marketing
The following is a selective list of useful sites:
STAT-USA-the NTDB and domestic economic news and statistics (access restricted to SFSU users)
TradePort-provides access to the NTDB and other data and information of use to the international trader
http://www.tradeport.org
globalEDGE Resource Desk
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp
Virtual International Business & Economic Sources (VIBES)
http://library.uncc.edu/vibes/
CSU Sacramento's International Marketing guide (with links)
http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/intlmrk.htm
Yahoo's International Business links
http://www.yahoo.com/Business/Trade
Google's International Business links
http://www.google.com/Top/Business/International_Business_and_Trade/
Foreign Country/ International Affairs Internet Sites
http://www.library.sfsu.edu/research/guides/foreign-country-info.html#sites
Rev. 8/24/07 AK


