San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

International Law--A Checklist

Overview

For the latest information about Library resources and services, go to the Library Web site: http://www.library.sfsu.edu. For information about federal state and local law resources, see the Law: Checklist (http://130.212.18.81/instruction/guides/Law.html) and Legislative Resources (http://130.212.18.81/servcoll/legis.html).

GOVT=Government Publications, 5th floor
REF=Reference, 1st floor
PERS=Periodicals, 2nd floor
MAIN JXs and Ks, 3rd floor

The following bibliography is a selective guide to sources located in the J. Paul Leonard Library and on the Internet. Some databases listed in this bibliography may only be available in the Library or to SFSU students, faculty and staff outside the Library. For information about the location of, and access, to these databases, go to the Library's home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select Find...Articles & Databases.

Dictionaries, Handbooks, Compendia

American Treaties and Alliances (GOVT Desk KZ236 2000)

Basic Documents in International Law (REF KZ64 .B37)

Dictionary of International and Comparative Law (REF JX 1226 F69)

Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances (REF KZ 1160 P48)

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements (REF KZ 4968 O84)

International Law: The Essential Treaties and Other Relevant Documents (REF JX 171 I535)

International Organization and Integration: Annotated Basic Documents of International Organizations and Arrangements (REF JX 171 I55)

Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century: A History and Guide with Texts (GOVT Desk KZ64 .M35 2001)

Parry and Grant Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Law (REF KZ 1161 P37)

Treaties and Alliances of the World (GOVT Desk JX 4005 T72)

World Encyclopedia of Peace, vol. 3 (REF JX 1994 W67 v. 3)

Treaties and Other International Agreements--Indexes

Recent treaties and agreements may be reproduced in news sources such as those available on the LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Newspapers and Factiva (Dow Jones &Reuters) databases. Law review articles on LexisNexis Academic are also a good source for locating citations to treaties. The secretariats for some recent conventions maintain Web sites which include treaty texts and ratification status (search Internet search engines such as Google or use the sources in the International Law--Internet Sites section listed below to locate relevant Web sites).

Catalogue of Treaties, 1814-1918 (GOVT Desk JX 171 A4)

Index to Multilateral Treaties (GOVT Desk JX 171 H35 1965)

International Legal Materials (index each November and on ASILEX: http://www.asil.org/system/advancedsearch.htm) (GOVT). Also available on the LexisNexis Academic database. Abbreviated as ILM.

LexisNexis Academic, database. Searchable full text of U.S. treaties, 1776-

Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (GOVT Desk ST/LEG/SER.E)

Multilateral Treaties: Index and Current Status (GOVT Desk Z 6464 T8 B69x)

Treaties in Force (U.S.) (GOVT Desk S9.14 and http://www.state.gov/s/l/treaty/treaties/) Updated by the GPO database, the State Department Web site (http://www.state.gov/s/l/) and GPO Access (http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/cdocuments/index.html). For Congressional actions also use the LexisNexis Congressional database or the CIS Index (GOVT) and the Senate Web site (http://www.senate.gov/pagelayout/legislative/d_three_sections_with_teasers/ treaties.htm).

United Nations. Treaty Series. Cumulative Indexes (GOVT Desk)

World Treaty Index (GOVT Desk JX 171 R63) Beta database searchable at http://depts.washington.edu/hrights/Treaty/trindex.html.

Treaties and Other International Agreements--Texts

BEVANS Treaties and Other International Agreements of the U.S., 1776-1949 (GOVT Stacks S9.12/2:). Also available on the LexisNexis Academic database.

BFSP or BSP British and Foreign State Papers, 1812-1930 (GOVT mf)

HUDSON International Legislation, 1922-1941 (JX 171 H8)

ILM International Legal Materials, 1962- (GOVT) Also available on the LexisNexis Academic database.

LNTS League of Nations. Treaty Series (GOVT Stacks)

MILLER Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America, 1776-1863 (texts in English and other official languages) (GOVT Stacks S9.5/1:) Also available on the LexisNexis Academic database.

STAT United States Statutes at Large (includes treaties up to 1950) (GOVT)

TIAS Treaties and Other International Acts Series (GOVT Stacks S9.10:). Update UST. Texts of treaties pending Senate approval are published as Senate Treaty Documents (Y1.1/4: GOVT mf; recent treaty documents also available at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/cdocuments/index.html), formerly called Senate Executive Documents.

UNTS United Nations. Treaty Series (GOVT Stacks)

UST United States Treaties and Other International Agreements, 1950- (GOVT Stacks S9.12:) Also available on the LexisNexis Academic database.

WIKTOR Unperfected Treaties of the United States of America, 1776-1855 and 1905-1945 (JX 236 1776 U56)

Cases

ILM (see above). Indexed on on ASILEX: http://www.asil.org/system/advancedsearch.htm. Also available on the LexisNexis Academic database.

International Court of Justice. Reports of Judgements, Advisory Opinions and Orders, Pleadings, Oral Arguments and Documents and Yearbook (GOVT Stacks; latest Readex U.N. mf). Many documents also available on the ICJ Web site (http://www.icj-cij.org/). For Summaries of the Reports, 1948-1996, see GOVT Stacks ST/LEG/SER.F/1. and /ADD.1. For Permanent Court of International Justice (the World Court's predecessor) reports, see World Court Reports (JX 1971.5 A63).

International Law Reports (formerly Annual Digest and Reports of International Law Cases) (JX 68 A65). 1931-1970 ONLY. Index available for vols. 1-35.

LexisNexis Academic database.

United Nations. Legal Affairs Office. Reports of International Arbitral Awards (R.I.A.A.), vol. 1-19 (1990) (GOVT Stacks). Also useful is the Survey of International Arbitrations, 1794-1989 (JX 1937 S85).

Digests

Digest of United States Practice in International Law (JX 21 R68).

Updated by regular column in the American Journal of International Law (PERS). Predecessors are Digest of International Law by Whiteman, Hackworth and Moore (JX 237 W55/GOVT Stacks S7.12/2:, GOVT Stacks S7.12: and GOVT Stacks S7.12a, respectively).

United Nations Legal Activities

United Nations. Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs. (GOVT Stacks and http://www.un.org/law/repertory).

United Nations. International Law Commission. Yearbook, 1976-1991 (GOVT Stacks A/CN.4/SER.A, formerly JX 1977 A2).

United Nations. Legal Affairs Office. Juridical Yearbook, 1963-1990 (GOVT Stacks ST/LEG/SER.C).

United Nations. Legal Affairs Office. Legislative Series (GOVT Stacks ST/LEG/SER.B).

United Nations. Political and Security Council Affairs Office. Repertoire of Practice of the Security Council (GOVT Stacks ST/PSCA/1 and Add. and http://www.un.org/Depts/dpa/repertoire).

United Nations. Public Information Office. Yearbook (Latest GOVT Desk).

To locate other United Nations materials, look at the United Nations bibliography and explore the International Law and Human Rights sections of the United Nations ( http://www.un.org/law/ and http://www.un.org/rights/) home page.

European Union (EU) legislation and treaties are available on LexisNexis Academic.

Locating Books

To locate books, use InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog. Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to establish the relevant subject headings to search by subject in InvestiGator.

If a book is not in the Library's collection or not "available," you may be able to request it through Link+ (http://opac.sfsu.edu/screens/linkplus.html), an online catalog for a number of California academic and public libraries.

To access CSU, UC and other online catalogs, go to the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Find...More/Other Libraries".

Locating Periodical Articles

To locate periodical articles, use indexes and abstracts. Print indexes are shelved in alphabetical order by title in the Reference Indexes and Abstracts Area, but most indexes are available online. To access the indexes in electronic (database) format, go to the Library home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) under "Find...Articles & Databases". The following are most useful for locating articles on international law topics:

Academic Search Premier database, dates vary

ASILEX (http://www.asil.org/system/advancedsearch.htm), 1990-

Current Law Index, 1988-2005.

International Court of Justice. Bibliography, 1973- (GOVT Stacks; latest Readex U.N. mf) Subject indexes cumulate.

International Political Science Abstracts, 1952-

LexisNexis Academic database (Law Review articles 1982- , Legal News, General News)

Social Sciences Citation Index searchable as the Web of Science database, 1956-

Social Sciences Index (titles varies), 1916-

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts database, 1975-

In most cases the periodicals themselves are alphabetically arranged by title on the 2nd floor or are online. Use InvestiGator and the Library's Electronic Journal List (http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sfsu/a-z/sfsu) to determine if the Library has a periodical and in what format. If you already have a citation to an article from a footnote, bibliography or other source, you can use the Citation Lookup Tool (http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sfsu/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi) to find the article. To see if another local library has a periodical, search their online catalog.

Borrowing Items from Other Libraries

If a book is not in the Library's collection or not "available," you may be able to request it through Link+ (http://csul.iii.com/), an online catalog for a number of California academic and public libraries. If our library does not own the periodical, book or other publication you need, you may request that Document Delivery Services obtain a photocopy of an article or borrow the book from another library. Document Delivery Services is located in the Circulation Services area, 1st floor. Subsidized self-service document delivery for selected articles not in the library collection is available through the IngentaConnect database. For more information about these services (including online order forms), go to the Library's Web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select "Borrowing Items from Other Libraries". If you would rather visit another library in person, you can connect to the online catalogs of local libraries from the Library's Web site under "Find...More/Other Libraries & Searching Tools".

Other Useful Library Guides

Government Publications

Foreign Country Information

Law

Searching for U.S. and International Treaties (UC Hastings Research guide)

Treaties and International Agreements (UCB Research guide)

United Nations

For more information about international legal research, ask to see the booklet, Researching International Law, available at the REF and GOVT Desks and consult the Guide to International Legal Research (Ref JX 1297 G84) and the ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law guide (http://www.asil.org/resource/home.htm).

International Law--Internet Sites

The following is a selective list of Internet sites that are useful for international legal research.

EISIL (American Society of International Law)
http://www.eisil.org/

ForInt Law (Washburn University School of Law Library)
http://www.washlaw.edu/forint/forintmain.html

LLRX.com Resource Center - International Law Guides & Comparative and Foreign Law Guides
http://www.llrx.com/international_law.html
http://www.llrx.com/comparative_and_foreign_law.html

Electronic Reference Desk (Emory Law School) International Law Research & Foreign Law and Governments
http://www.law.emory.edu/cms/site/index.php?id=3049
http://www.law.emory.edu/cms/site/index.php?id=2554

Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases (NYU School of Law)
http://www.law.nyu.edu/library/foreign_intl/index.html

Foreign and International Law Sources (Cornell Law Library)
http://www.lawschool.cornell.edu/library/Finding_the_Law/Guides_by_Topic/ foreign.htm

Law Library of Congress/International (GLIN Multinational Legal Database, etc.)
http://www.loc.gov/law/guide/multi.html

WWW Virtual Library: International and National Law
http://www.etown.edu/vl/intllaw.html

(Rev. 1/11/08 AK)

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.