Business Research: Industry Information
About
This is a selective list of resources - books, periodicals, databases -- located in the J. Paul Leonard Library. For the latest information about library services and resources, go to the Library web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu). Library locations are:
Reference (Ref), 1st floor
Periodicals, 2nd floor
Main, 1st -- 4th floors
Government Publications (GP), 5th floor
Books
In the J. Paul Leonard Library.
Use InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog, to locate materials owned by the Library. Search by keyword, title, author, or Library of Congress subject headings (LCSH). Below are selected LCSH related to Business.
In Other Libraries - Borrowing Items (Document Delivery Services)
If a book is not "available" or not owned by the Library, click the Search Link+ button at the top of the InvestiGator screen. Link+ (http://csul.iii.com/) is an online catalog for other California academic and public libraries. If a book is not available from Link+, go to Borrowing Items From Other Libraries (Document Delivery Services) (http://www.library.sfsu.edu/services/requesting/index.html).
Periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers)
In the J. Paul Leonard Library.
Most periodicals are on the 2nd floor. Arrangement is alphabetical by title. Current issues are in Current Periodicals, back issues are bound or in microformat (microfilm or fiche). For a specific title, e.g. Industry Week, do a "journals" title search in InvestiGator, the online catalog. To find if a periodical is available electronically, check the Electronic Journal List. To find periodicals by subject, do a "subject heading" search in InvestiGator, e.g. "industrial management--periodicals." Can't find the periodical? Ask a reference librarian or try Borrowing Items from Other Libraries.
In Other Libraries - Borrowing Items (Document Delivery Services).
For Information and online order forms go to Borrowing Items from Other Libraries.
Periodical Articles by Topic
Use databases to find periodical articles by topic. Databases are electronic indexes that identify periodical (newspapers, magazines, journals, etc.) articles by topic. To access databases the Library subscribes to, at the Library home page, click Find Articles & Databases under Quick Links. For an overview, refer to the Finding Articles Guide. Some electronic databases include the full text of the articles they cite; some include an e-mail delivery feature. Most are also available off-campus to SFSU students, faculty, and staff. For information see "Off-Campus Database Access."
Click here for an overview of the Content and Search Features of some of the databases.
Business Databases
ABI/INFORM: Dateline (database, SFSU users only). Local and regional business publications.
ABI/INFORM: Global (database, SFSU users only). Indexing for journals in business, management and related disciplines. Full text for many.
ABI/INFORM: Trade & Industry (database, SFSU users only). Major industry periodicals and newsletters. News, market trends, product and competitive information. Full-text for many articles.
Business & Industry. See Business Reference Suite.
Business Reference Suite (database, SFSU users only). Indexes core business publications, trade association reports, investment research firms, statistical annuals, etc. The two Suite databases, which can be searched separately or together, are: Business & Industry for company and industry news, market research data; and Tablebase for tabular data, market share, rankings, etc. from full text articles.
Business Source Premiere (database, SFSU users only). Full text articles and PDF images for several thousand journals including the Harvard Business Review. Also company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, market research, and product reviews.
Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) (database, SFSU users only). US and international newspapers, journals, and newswires, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as company financials, industry ratios, stock prices and indexes, exchange rates.
LexisNexis Academic (database, SFSU users only). Articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers and business, trade, and general interest journals. Also SEC filings and legal and tax documents.
Tablebase. See Business Reference Suite.
Other Useful Article Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost) (database, SFSU users only)
Regional Business News (database, SFSU users only)
Web of Science (database, SFSU users only)
Industries:
Overview/Outlook Statistics/Data Specific Industries
Overview/Outlook
Snapshots North America (database, SFSU users only). Market research reports covering a broad range of industries in the United States and Canada.
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys--access via Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage (database, SFSU users only) and Ref HC 106.6 S74. Detailed analysis of major U.S. industries with summary financial statistics for major companies within a given industry.
Also:
Business Week (Periodicals). See early January issue for the annual "Industry Outlook."
Encyclopedia of American Industries (Ref HD 9721 E53). Essays on every industry "recognized by the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system." Arranged by SIC code with reference to the NAICS code. Subject and industry index.
Forbes. (Periodicals). See mid - January issue for their "Annual Report on American Industry" which provides brief industry and company profiles.
Panorama of EU Industry (Ref HC 241.2 P313). European Union industries.
WEFA Industrial Monitor: 1991 - 2000 (Ref HC 101 W434). A "comprehensive review of the major industries in the U.S. economy."
Statistics/Data
Business Statistics of the United States, 1997 (Ref HC 101 A13122). Historical data for U.S. industries taken from industry publications.
LexisNexis Statistical (database, SFSU users only). The indexes listed below are searchable in the LexisNexis Statistical database. The complete text of selected publications is available online. Other publications are available on microfiche in the Government Publications department on the 5th floor.
- ASI (American Statistics Index), 1974- U.S. government publications
- IIS (Index to International Statistics), 1983- . Statistical publications from international organizations.
- SRI (Statistical Reference Index), 1980- . Non-federal U.S. statistical publications, e.g. municipal, state, and private organizations.
Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A. (Ref HD 9721 M364). Manufacturing, wholesale and retail trade data from federal statistical sources. Arranged by SIC and NAICS code.
Mergent Industry Review (formerly Moody's) (Ref HG 4961 M68). Ranks top companies in over 100 industries by revenues, income, return on capital, etc.
Standard and Poor's Analysts' Handbook (Ref HG 4519 S772). Financial statistics for industries represented in the S&P 500 Index.
U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Current Industrial Reports. (Government Publications C3.158: M 3-1 and http://www.census.gov/cir/www/alpha.html)
U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Economic Census. (http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html). Quinquennial. Profiles the U.S. economy at the national and state levels. The industry series covers mining, construction, and manufacturing. The geographic series covers wholesale and retail trade, real estate, education, health care, etc.
U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining and Trade Corporations (Selected tables available on LexisNexis Statistical. Also available at (http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/qfr-mm.html)
Also:
Trade associations are a good source for industry information. To find the association(s) for a particular industry check the following sources:
- Encyclopedia of Associations (database, SFSU users only, and Ref AS 22 .E5)
- National Trade and Professional Associations (Ref HD 2425 .D53)
Specific Industries
This is a partial list of specific industry sources. For additional sources, check databases for articles about performance, projections, and trends for a specific industry.
Resources identified as ASI or SRI are part of the ASI and SRI microfiche collection, Government Publications, 5th floor. Detailed information about these and other resources is in the LexisNexis Statistical database.
Advertising
Plunkett's Advertising & Branding Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-16)
Aerospace
Aerospace Facts and Figures (SRI A0250-2)
Plunkett's Engineering & Research Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-6)
Apparel
Plunkett's Apparel & Textiles Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-18)
Autos
Automotive News Market Data Book (SRI C2710 - 3.231, SRI C2710 - 230)
Plunkett's Engineering & Research Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-6)
Plunkett's Automobile Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-12)
Beverages
Adams Beer Handbook (Ref HD 9397 .U5 J62)
Adams Liquor Handbook (Ref HD 9392 .L5)
Adams Wine Handbook (Ref HD 9372 .W5)
Biotechnology
Plunkett's Biotech & Genetics Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-7)
Computer Industry & Products
Plunkett's Engineering & Research Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-6)
Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-1)
Plunkett's Telecommunications Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-4)
Construction
Plunkett's Real Estate & Construction Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-15)
Consulting
Plunkett's Consulting Industry Almanac (SRI C76990-14)
Electronics
Electronic Market Data Book (Ref HD 9696 .A3 U539 and SRI A4725-1)
Energy
Sales of Natural Gas Liquids and Liquefied Refinery Gases (SRI A2575-19)
Statistical Yearbook of the Electric Utility Industry (SRI A4700-1)
Energy Information Administration. Electric Power Annual (Government Publications GP E3.11/17-8 and ASI 3164-11 and online)
Gas Facts (SRI A1775-3)
Plunkett's Energy Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-8)
Engineering
Plunkett's Engineering & Research Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-6)
Plunkett's Nanotechnology & MEMS Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-17)
Plunkett's Telecommunications Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-4)
Entertainment
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac (Ref P 88.8 .P57 and SRI C7699-5)
Financial Institutions
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. Statistics on Banking (Government Publications microform Y3.F31/8:1-2 and ASI 9294-4 and http://www2.fdic.gov/SDI/SOB/)
Plunkett's Financial Services Industry Almanac (Ref HG 65 .P58 2002-2003 and SRI C7699-9)
Food
Plunkett's Food Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-13)
Health Care
Plunkett's Biotech & Genetics Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-7)
Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-2)
Information Industries
Plunkett's E-commerce & Internet Business Almanac (SRI C7699-3)
Plunkett's Engineering & Research Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-6)
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac (Ref P 88.8 .P57 and SRI C7699-5)
Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-1)
Insurance
Source Book of Health Insurance Data (SRI A5173-2)
Life Insurers Fact Book (Ref HG 8943 .L5 and SRI A1325-1)
Lodging
Trends in the Hotel Industry (Ref TX 909 .A1 H3)
Plunkett's Airline, Hotel, and Travel Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-10)
Paper
Statistics of Paper, Paperboard, and Wood Pulp (SRI A1630-6)
Real Estate Business
Plunkett's Real Estate & Construction Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-15)
Retail Trade
Operating Results of Independent Supermarkets (SRI A4950-4)
Convenience Store Industry Fact Book (SRI A6735-2)
Plunkett's Retail Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-11)
Telecommunications
Plunkett's Telecommunications Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-4)
Textiles
Plunkett's Apparel & Textiles Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-18)
Transportation
Plunkett's Automobile Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-12)
Plunkett's Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-19)
Travel & Tourism
Plunkett's Airline, Hotel, and Travel Industry Almanac (SRI C7699-10)
Rev GMC 9/24/2007


