Human Sexuality Research Guide
Overview
This bibliography is a selective guide to scholarly and professional resources in Human Sexuality. This guide assumes that undergraduate students have completed their information competence requirement and therefore have some experience with research in the library. For more information on this requirement, see the Basic Information Competence Requirement page.
Library research begins with your own in-depth analysis of the topic—for example, outlining the component parts of the topic, generating lists of keywords and variations, deciding how current or historical the articles should be, identifying key researchers in the field. For more information on how to successfully research your topic, see the Research Help menu. For library research asssistance in Psychology, contact the library specialist:
- Chris Mays, chrism@sfsu.edu, 415-338-3874, LIB 212
Citing References
The Library guide to Citing References includes sample citations for citing print and electronic information. When writing a paper, ask your professor which style guide he or she prefers. The most commonly used in Psychology and other social sciences is "APA":
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association ("APA Manual")
[ Reference Collection BF76.7 .P83 2001 ]
There are also books to help guide
- Sexology Research (Subject)
- Academic Writing (Subject)
- Writing reports generally (Subject)
Locating Books & Masters Theses
Use InvestiGator [ http://opac.sfsu.edu/ ], the library's online catalog, to locate books, SF State masters theses, periodicals, and media. InvestiGator will also tell you if a book is checked out or in a special location. For more information, see Find Books Overview. To locate electronic and print materials on reserve for classes, see Find Course Materials & Reserves Overview or use the course/instructor search options on the InvestiGator menu.
You may search InvestiGator by author, title, keyword, subject and other identifiers. You may limit searches by date, language, words, format (such as video), and locations (such as Internet). To locate masters theses, you may
- Search using the Theses tab in InvestiGator
- Modify any search by the location “Masters Theses Collection” or
- Do a Basic Keyword search using the word “theses,” for example: “sexuality and theses.”
- You can also browse the most recent theses in Human Sexuality.
For more information on finding theses and dissertations from other universities, see Theses & Dissertations.
Selected InvestiGator searches for:
- Sex (Subject)
- Women Sexual Behavior (Subject)
- Men Sexual Behavior (Subject)
- Sex Role (Subject)
- Lesbians (Subject), Middle Aged Lesbians (Subject), Older Lesbians (Subject)
- Gays (Subject)
- Gay Men (Subject), Middle Aged Gay Men (Subject), Older Gay Men (Subject)
- Transsexuals (Subject)
- Transsexualism (Subject)
- Bisexual (Subject)
- Bisexuality (Subject)
- Coming Out (Sexual Orientation) (Subject)
To access the catalogs of other libraries, see Other Libraries . If the book you want isn't here, see Borrowing Items from Other Libraries.
Locating Journals & Articles
Finding Periodicals in the Library: Most journals and other periodicals are shelved in the Periodicals Collection on the 2nd floor, in alphabetical order by title. Current issues are in the Current Periodicals area; back issues may be bound, microfiche or microfilm. Some journals are located in Government Publications on the 5th floor. To find out whether the Library has a particular journal, search InvestiGator by Title.
Selected InvestiGator searches for:
- Sex (Subject, in Journals tab)
- sex Periodicals (Keyword)
Finding Electronic full-text periodicals: Many online journals are listed in InvestiGator but others are available within an electronic database such as Academic Search Premiere or Lexis Nexis Academic. For more information see Finding Articles Guide.
Locating Articles in Journals: Browsing current journals can be a useful strategy but it is best to use indexes, abstracts and electronic databases to search systematically. The Reference Department provides access to hundreds of print and electronic search services; this guide lists a few of those most useful for your discipline. Please ask about other possibilities if these are not retrieving your topic. To see the complete list of available databases, see Find a Database. Most students will need a Library PIN to use these databases from off campus; for more information, see Off-Campus Database Access.
Databases: To see the complete list of available databases for Psychology, connect to the Find a Database page, pull down the “Choose a subject” list to “Human Sexuality” and click “Go."
There are also directories of older LGBT publications:
- International directory of gay and lesbian periodicals / compiled by H. Robert Malinowsky.
- Phoenix : Oryx Press, 1987.
- [ Reference Collection HQ76.25 .M35 1987 ]
- The lesbian periodicals index / compiled & edited by Clare Potter.
- Tallahassee, Fla. : Naiad Press, 1986.
- [ Main Collection HQ75.6.U5 P68 1986 ]
- Directory of homosexual organizations and publications
- Hollywood, Calif. Homosexual Information Center.
- [ Reference Collection HQ76.25 .D57x 1985-86 ]
Borrowing Items from Other Libraries
If the Library does not own the book or article that you want, you still have several means of getting it. For more information, see Borrowing Items from Other Libraries. Your request may take a few days to a few weeks to fulfill, depending upon the lending source. It is always faster to substitute something else already in our collection that will aid your project. For more information, see Research Help.
Guides to the Literature
- Adam Kuper and Jessica Kuper. The social science encyclopedia.
- New York: Routledge, 2004.
- [ Reference Collection H41 .S63 2004 ]
- From the publisher: Some 500 entries cover a variety of enduring and newly vital areas of study and research methods. Experts review theoretical debates from neo-evolutionism and rational choice theory to poststructuralism, and address the great questions that cut across the social sciences. What is the influence of genes on behaviour? What is the nature of consciousness and cognition? What are the causes of poverty and wealth? What are the roots of conflict, wars, revolutions and genocidal violence?
- Li, Tze-chung. Social Science Reference Sources: A Practical Guide. 3rd ed.
- New York: Greenwood Press, 2000.
- [ Reference Collection Z 7161 A1 L5 2000 ]
- Contains about 2,200 entries on the general social sciences and subdisciplines: cultural anthropology, business, economics, education, geography, history, law, political science, psychology and sociology. Includes online databases and CD-ROM sources.
- Baxter, Pam M. Psychology: A Guide to Reference & Information Sources.
- Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1993.
- [ Reference Collection Z 7201 B39 1993 ]
- Brings together information on over 500 selected sources in psychology and social sciences including economics, sociology, social work, anthropology, history, political science and criminal justice.
Reference Sources
- Dictionaries:
- Search InvestiGator for Sex Dictionaries (Subject)
- Encyclopedias and Handbooks:
- Search InvestiGator for Sex Encyclopedias (Subject)
- Dynes, Wayne R., ed. Encyclopedia of Homosexuality.
- New York: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1990. 2 vols.
- [ Reference Collection HQ76.25 E53 1990 ]
Reviews
Reviews are publications (often issued annually) devoted to specialized subjects, e.g. infancy research, behavior modification, or developmental disabilities. They are collections of scholarly papers reflecting current research and theory in the field. The following list is a sample of reviews.
- Annual review of psychology (BF30 A56)
- Annual review of clinical psychology
- Annual review of neuroscience (QP351 .A68)
- Advances in the study of behavior (QL750 A38)
- Advances in experimental social psychology (HM251 A35)
Internet Resources
- SFSU Human Sexuality Studies Program Home Page
- http://hmsx.sfsu.edu/
- EROS (SFSU Education and Referral Organization for Sexuality)
- http://www.asisfsu.org/eros/
- Directory of Open Access Journals in Gender Studies
- The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
- http://www.doaj.org/doaj?func=subject&cpid=123
- National Sexuality Resource Center
- http://nsrc.sfsu.edu/
- Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Concerns (American Psychological Association)
- http://www.apa.org/pi/lgbc/
- CSU Northridge: Other Resources on Human Sexuality
- http://www.csun.edu/~sr2022/links.htm
- UC Davis: Sexual Orientation: Science, Education, and Policy
- http://psychology.ucdavis.edu/rainbow/index.html
- 50-State Rundown on Gay Marriage Laws
- http://www.stateline.org/live/ViewPage.action?siteNodeId=136&languageId=1&contentId=15576
- Gay Bears: The Hidden History of the Berkeley Campus
- http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/gaybears/
- GLBT Historical Society
- http://www.glbthistory.org/
- OAC: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society Finding Aids: http://www.oac.cdlib.org/institutions/ark:/13030/tf8j49p7c9
- glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
- http://www.glbtq.com/
- A San Francisco Bay Area Progressive Directory: sex
- http://bapd.org/kseeex-1.html
- San Francisco Public Library: Gay & Lesbian Center
- http://sfpl4.sfpl.org/librarylocations/main/glc/glc.htm
- Queer Cultural Center — The San Francisco Center for Lesbian, Gay, Bi, Transgender Art and Culture
- http://www.queerculturalcenter.org/
- New York Public Library: Gay and Lesbian Studies: A Research Guide
- http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/grd/resguides/gay/index.html
- Society for Human Sexuality
-
http://www.sexuality.org/ The Society for Human Sexuality is a social and educational organization whose purpose is to promote understanding and appreciation for the many forms of adult intimate relationships and consensual sexual expression.
- San Francisco Sexuality Resources: http://www.sexuality.org/sanfrancisco.html
- The National Gay & Lesbian Task Force
- http://www.thetaskforce.org/ Founded in 1973, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation (the Task Force) was the first national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) civil rights and advocacy organization and remains the movement's leading voice for freedom, justice, and equality.
- Resource Library: http://www.thetaskforce.org/reslibrary/index.cfm
- Scarleteen — Sex Education for the Real World
- http://www.scarleteen.com/ Committed to delivering the best contemporary teen sex ed on the net since 1998.
- CLGS — The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies in Religion and Ministry
- http://www.clgs.org/ CLGS Mission: To advance the well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered people and to transform faith communities and the wider society by taking a leading role in shaping a new public discourse on religion and sexuality through education, research, community building and advocacy.
- Yahoo! Social Science -> Sexology
- http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Sexology/
- Yahoo! Directory > Social Science > Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered Studies
- http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Lesbian__Gay__Bisexual__and_Transgendered_Studies/


