San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

History Research Guide

LOCATING BOOKS

Books at SF State:

InvestiGator is the library's online catalog (searchable database of books in the library).



Books at Other Libraries:

 

1. Link+: Lets you borrow books (for free!) from more than 30 California libraries. Books usually arive within 3-5 days.

  • Search for specific titles or by topic.
  • Click on REQUEST THIS ITEM to order the book.

2. WorldCat: Books at libraries nationwide.

  • Search for specific titles or by topic.
  • To order the books you locate, first search InvestiGator (the library catalog) to see if we have the book here at SFSU. If we do not, SFSU students, faculty and staff may request (free of charge) books through Document Delivery Services.  Try Link+ first; if it's not available there, use the iLLiad service.  This process can take anywhere between 3 days - 3 weeks, so you need to plan ahead!
  •  

More info: Finding Books research guide



LOCATING JOURNAL, MAGAZINE, & NEWSPAPER ARTICLES


More info on how to search:  Finding Articles research guide


SOURCE

CONTENT

LOCATION

Most useful:

AMERICA: HISTORY & LIFE
Scholarly/research journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada. Includes articles published from 1964-present ONLINE
HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS Scholarly/research journal articles on the history of the world (non-United States/Canada) from 1500-present. Includes articles published from 1955-present. ONLINE
INTERNATIONAL MEDIEVAL BIBLIOGRAPHY Scholarly/research journal articles on medieval history. ONLINE
 

Also useful:

L'Annee Philologique Classical studies; includes history (Rome, Greece, etc.) ONLINE
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
ONLINE
Humanities Full Text Scholarly journal articles on the humanities, including history. Particularly useful for those researching pre-1500 historical topics. ONLINE
JSTOR
Full-text access to core scholarly/academic journals in a number of disciplines, including history. ONLINE
Regesta Imperii Opac
Articles and books on the European Middle Ages in a number of disciplines, including history. ONLINE
ViVa:A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals
Women's history. ONLINE
 

Related Sources:

Academic Search Premiere (EBSCOHost)
Scholarly/academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles from a number of disciplines. Includes some history articles. ONLINE
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Scholarly/academic journal articles, books, essays, and conference proceedings related to Asian Studies. ONLINE
Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies (1941-65)
Scholarly/academic journal articles, books, essays, and conference proceedings related to Asian Studies. Reference Collection, Index Area (1st floor)
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Scholarly/academic journal articles, books, essays, and dissertations related to Native North Americans. ONLINE
California Information File
California newspapers, periodicals, county histories, and biographical encyclopedias, as well as the California State Library's manuscript collections and vertical files. Material cited dates from the 1840's to 1985. Reference Collection , Index Area (1st floor)
C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974.
  Reference Collection, Index Area (1st floor)
Chicano Database Articles from scholarly/academic journals and other sources that focus on Mexican-Americans, as well as Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.  Includes some history articles. ONLINE
GenderWatch Articles from scholarly/academic journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more on gender/women's studies and sexuality studies.  Includes some history articles. ONLINE
International Index to Black Periodicals Articles from scholarly/academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and Caribbean on black studies.  Includes some history articles. ONLINE
Humanities Full Text Articles from scholarly/academic journals across the humanities.  Includes some history articles. ONLINE
Web of Science
(Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Social Science Citation Index)
Articles from scholarly/academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The "CITED REF SEARCH" option allows you to find sources that have cited a particular article. ONLINE
 

LOCATING DISSERTATIONS & THESES


SF State Master's Theses:

Search the library's online catalog InvestiGator.



Dissertations & Theses Written Nationwide

1. America: History & Life (U.S. history) and Historical Abstracts (world history) both include history-related dissertations.  Only summaries are available; to see if an online, full text copy is available, search:

2. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes information on dissertations (most) and theses (some) written at colleges/universities nationwide.  Summaries are available for most.  Many dissertations published after 1996 are available online in full-text as PDF documents.

More info: Master's Theses & Dissertations research guide



MAJOR GUIDES TO RESEARCH SOURCES & METHODS

To locate guides and bibliographies on more specific topic, search InvestiGator by Keyword, adding the word "Bibliography" (example search: African Americans and history and bibliography).

1. American Historical Association. Guide to Historical Literature. New York: Macmillion Co., 1995. (Ref. Z6201 A55)
A very comprehensive and useful guide to historical materials. Covers all the countries and regions of the world from ancient times to present.

2. Brundage, Anthony. Going to the Sources: a Guide to Historical Research and Writing. Wheeling, Ill: Harlan Davision, 1997. (D16 B893 1997)

3. D'Aniello, Charles A. ed. Teaching Bibliographic Skills in History. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1993. (Ref. Z675 H5 T4)
A good source book for historians and librarians who have to teach beginning research courses in history.

4. Foner, Eric and John A. Garraty, eds. The Reader's Companion to American History. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 1991. (Ref. E. 174 R43)

5. Fischer, Gayle V., ed. Journal of Women's History Guide to Periodical Literature. Bloomington: Indiana Univ. Press, 1992. (Z7962. F57 1992)

6. Freidei, Frank, ed. Harvard Guide to American History. rev. ed. Cambridge, Ma: Belknap Press if Harvard University Press, 1974. 2 vols. (Ref. Z 1236 F77).

7. Hellstern, Mark. The History Student Writer's Manual. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1998 (Ref.D13 H 4147 1998)

8. Li, Tze-chung. Social Science Reference Sources: a Practical Guide. Rev. and enl. 2nd ed. New York: Greenwood Press, 2000. (Ref. Z 7161 L5)

9. Marius, Richard. A Short Guide to Writing About History. New York: Longman, 1999. (D13 .M294 1999)

10. Nunis, Doyce B. and Gloria Ricci Lothrop. Guide to the History of California. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. (Ref. Z1261 G85)

11. Poulton, Helen J. Historian's Handbook: a Descriptive Guide to Reference Works. Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma. 1972. (Ref. Z6201 P65)

12. Prucha, Francis Paul. Handbook for Research in American History: A guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press, 1970. 1994. (Ref. Z1236 P78)

13. Reagan, Patrick. History and the Internet: A Guide. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2002. (D16.117 .R43 2002).

14. Rocq, Margaret Miller. California Local History: a Bibliography and Union List of Library Holdings. 2nd ed., rev. and enl. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1970, Supplement, 1976. (Ref. Z 1261 R63).

15. Slavens, Thomas P. Sources of Information for Historical Research. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1994. (Ref Z6201 S64)

16. U. S. Library of Congress. Guide to the Study of the United States of America. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1960, Supplement, 1976. (Ref. Z 1215 U53)

17. Writing, Teaching, and Researching History in the Electronic Age: Historians and Computers. Armonk, NY: ME Sharpe, 1998 (Ref. D16 W95 1998)



OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES


Biographical Sources

1. Biography and Genealogy Master Index

2. Biography Index, 1946- (Reference Index Area)
Index to newspaper and periodical articles and books.

3. Dictionary of American Biography. New York: Scribner, 1928-, (Ref. E 176 D56)
Includes deceased people from colonization to 1990.

4. Historical Biographical Dictionaries Master Index. Detroit: Gale, 1980. (Ref. Z5305 U5 H57)

5. Who Was Who in America. (1607-). Chicago: Marquis, 1963-. (Ref. E 663 W54)

6. Who's Who in America. Chicago: Marquis. Annual since 1899. (Ref. E 76 W642)

This is an extremely selective list. There are special biographical sources for other countries, for women, professions, etc. Search InvestiGator for the profession, person's names, country, or region and the keyword, "Biography." Example searches:  anthropologists and biography; Latin American and biography; presidents and United States and biography; women and biography.

More info: Biography research guide


Book Reviews

The best source for locating scholarly book reviews for history books are the history-related databases:

1. America: History & Life

2. Historical Abstracts

More info: Book Reviews research guide


Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Chronologies

1. Annual Register: A Record of World Events. London: Longman, 1578-1880 (scattered holdings), 1945 -. Ref. D 2 A7)
Summarizes the year's important events, includes the text of major documents. Latest year only in Reference. Previous years are located on the 3rd. floor under the call number (D2 A7)

2. Boyer, Paul S. and Melvyn Dubofsky, eds. The Oxford Companion to United States History. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 2001. (Ref. E174 .O94 2001)

3. CountryWatch

4. Dictionary of American History. New York: Scribner, 1973. 8 vol. (Ref. E 174 D52 1976)
Political, economic, social, cultural and industrial aspects of America history. No Biographies.

5. Dictionary of the History of Ideas. New York: Scribner, 1973. 5 vol. (Ref. CB 5 D52)
Substantial articles on philosophical/political/social theories and movements.

6. Encyclopedia Britannica Online

7. Grun, Bernard. The Timetable of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People and Events. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1979. (Ref. D 11 G 78 1979)

8. Mellersh, H.E.L. Chronology of World History. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999. (Ref. D11 .M39 1999)

9. Stearns, Peter S. The Encyclopedia of World History: Ancient, Medieval, and Modern, Chronologically Arranged. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001. (Ref. D21 .E578 2001)

10. Super, John C., ed. Encyclopedia of North American History. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1999. (Ref. folio E45 .E49 1999)

11. Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century. New York: CEL Educational Resources. 1986. (Media Access Center Videodisk 86000; 3rd floor of the library)
A collection of motion pictures & videotape recordings documenting the social, political and cultural history of the 20th century: basic set of 38 videodisks.

Geographical Sources

1. Hammond Atlas of World History. Maplewood, N.J.: Hammond, 1999. (Ref. G 1030 .H34 1999)

2. Times Atlas of the World History. (Ref. G 1030 T54 1993).
The Map and Atlas Collection on the 4th floor of the library has 1999 edition of this map and other more up-to-date maps.

3. The Columbia-Lippincott Gazetteer of the World. (Ref. G103 C645 1998).

More info: Map & Atlas Collection research guide


Statistical Sources

1. Historical Statistics of the United States. Also available in print: U.S. Census Bureau. Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. Washington, D. C.: GPO, 1975. (Re. HA 202 A 385 1976)

2. European Historical Statistics, 1750-1975. 2nd rev. ed. New York: New York University Press, 1982. (HA 1107 M5 1981x)

3. International Historical Statistics: Africa and Asia. New York: New York University Press, 1982. (HA 4675 M55 1982)

More info: Finding Statistical Data research guide


Government Publications

Most government publications are located in a separate collection on the 5th floor of this library. The collection includes documents from the United Stated government, California State government, international organizations (such as the United Nations and the League of Nationals), and a few from Great Britain. This department also includes regulatory and other legal materials. Although the majority of the collection in this library is post-World II, there are major historical sets, including:

1. California State Publications, 1945-.

2. Congressional Information Service Index, 1970-.

3. GT. Britain. British and Foreign State Papers, 1812 - 1930. (Microfiche)

4. GT. Britain. Public Record Office. "Rolls" public records dating back to the 14th century.

5. LexisNexis Congressional, full text U.S. Bills, Hearings, Documents, Reports and Committee Prints, Congressional Record, Laws and Regulations, and more.

6. Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1895 -. (1976-present available online as GPO (Government Printing Office) Catalog.)

7. Treaty Series from the League of Nations, United Nations and United States.

8. U.S. Census Bureau.

9. 1774-1789 Journals of the Continental Congress.

10. 1789-1834 Annals of Congress (Or Debates & Proceedings)

11. 1789-1923 American State Papers (Legislatives & executive documents) (Film)

12. Congressional Record (under various titles and various formats). (Microfiche)

13. U. S. Treaties. Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869. (Microfilm)

14. U. S. War Department, Official Records of the War of the Rebellion for Union & Confederate Armies and Navies.

15. U. S. State Dept. Foreign Relations of the U. S., 1861-date. Also known as Diplomatic Correspondence.

More info: Government Information research guides (scroll down to G).


Primary Sources: Primary Sources research guide

SELECTED INTERNET SITES


Resource & Research Guides

Doing History: A Guide to Historical Research
http://www.lawrence.edu/dept/history/HistoryResearchGuides.htm

H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online
http://www.h-net.msu.edu/
Discussion networks focused on historical topics; many networks have additional resources such as bibliographies, syllabi, and web links.

History Guide
http://www.historyguide.de/index.php
Annotated links to websites focusing on historical topics.

History Journals guide
http://www.history-journals.de/
Detailed online directory to journals published in the field of history.

Historian's Toolbox
http://www.lib.csusb.edu/history/index.html
Research skills tutorial.

The Labryinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/

Merlot - history
http://www.merlot.org/
Annotated links to websites useful for teaching and learning; click on HUMANITIES -> HISTORY.

Organizations

American Historical Association
http://www.historians.org/

Organization of American Historians
http://www.oah.org/

Primary Sources: Primary Sources research guide

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.