San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Gerontology

About

This bibliography is a selective guide to sources in the library that can help you locate information on gerontology. Most sources are located in the Reference Area (Ref), 1st floor. Other locations are:

Locations
Main main book stacks by call number
Govt Government Publications, 5th floor

Databases listed in this bibliography are available remotely to those with SF State Internet accounts. For information about access to these databases, go to the Library's Web page http://www.library.sfsu.edu and select "Databases."

How to find Books on Gerontology

Use the InvestiGator, the library's online catalog to locate books by subject, author or title. When searching by subject consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate the best subject terms for your topic. Examples of relevant subject headings are:

Subject Headings
Aging Gerontology
Old Age
Aged


How to Find Articles on Gerontology

These indexes/databases will lead you to articles and statistics about gerontology.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology, online 2000- , index 1990- . (continues Current Literature on Aging)


Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost), database, dates vary.


Current Literature on Aging, index 1973-1989.


Family & Society Studies Worldwide, database, 1970- .


GPO, database. U.S. Government Publications.


IngentaConnect, database 1988-.


LexisNexis Academic, database, dates vary.


LexisNexis Statistical, database 1992- .


PsycINFO, database 1887- ; Psychological Abstracts, index 1974- .


Sage Family Studies Abstracts, online 1999-, index 1979- .


Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective, database 1983- ; Social Sciences Index, index

1974- .

Social Work Abstracts Plus, database 1977- ; Social Work Abstracts,index 1979- .


Sociological Abstracts, database 1974- ; Sociological Abstracts, index 1953-

Reference Books

Guides to the Literature

Blank, Thomas O. ed. Topics in Gerontology: Selected Annotated Bibliographies. Westport, Conn: Greenwood, 1993. (Main Z 7164 .O4 T66 1993)

 

Folts, W. Edward. Aging Well: a Selected, Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995. (Main Z 7164 .O4 A37 1995)

 

Harris, Diana K. Sociology of Aging: An Annotated Bibliography & Sourcebook. New York: Garland, 1985. (Main Z 7164 .O4 H374 1985)

 

Hayslip, Bert. Psychology of Aging: an Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995. (Main Z 7204 .A42 H392 1995)

 

Kausler, Donald H. & Barry C. Kausler. The Graying of America: an Encyclopedia of Aging, Health, Mind, and Behavior. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2001. (Main HQ 1064.U5 K39 2001)

 

Norquist, Joan, comp. Women & Aging: A Bibliography. Santa Cruz, CA: Reference & Research Services, 1994. (Main Z 7963 .A4 N67)

 

Publications: National Institute on Aging. Bethesda, Md.: National Institutes of Health, 1997. (Govt HE 20.3863:N 21/997)

 

Thompson, Edward H. Men and Aging: a Selected, Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996. (Main Z 7164 .O4 T5 1996)

 

Zito, Dorothea R. and George V. Zito. A Guide to Research in Gerontology: Strategies and Resources. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. (Ref Z 7164 .O4 .Z57 1988)

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Bettelheim, Adriel. Aging in America A to Z. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2001. (Ref HQ 1064.U5 B379 2001)

 

Birren, James E. Encyclopedia of Gerontology: Age, Aging and the Aged. San Diego: Academic Press, 1996. (Ref RC 952.5 E58) 2 vols.

 

Kausler, Donald H. & Barry C. Kausler. Graying of America: an Encyclopedia of Aging, Health, Mind, and Behavior . Urbana: University of Illinois Press, c2001. (Main HQ 1064.U5 K39 2001)

 

Maddox, George L., ed. Encyclopedia of Aging. New York: Springer, 1995 (2nd ed.).
(Ref HQ 1061 .E53 1995)

 

Roberts, Pamela, ed. Aging. Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 2000. (Ref HQ 1061 .A42453 2000)

 

Roy, F. Hampton & Charles Russell. Encyclopedia of Aging & the Elderly. N.Y.: Facts on File, 1992. (Ref HQ 1061 .R69 1992)

Statistics

Darney, Arsen J. ed. Statistical Record of Older Americans. Detroit: Gale, 1994.
(Ref HQ 1064 .U5 .S685 1994)

 

Kinsella, Kevin G. An Aging World: 2001. Wash. D.C.: GPO, 2001. (Govt c3.186:P-95/01-1)

 

The Older Population in the United States [microform]: March 2000 detailed tables and documentation. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Census Bureau, 2001. (Internet C 3.223/25:PPL-147)

 

Schick, Frank L., ed. Statistical Handbook on Aging Americans. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1994 (2nd ed.). (Ref HQ 1064 .U5 .S343)

 

World Population Ageing, 1950-2050. New York: United Nations, 2002. (Govt ST/ESA/SER.A/207)

Directories

Krol, John ed. Older Americans Information Directory. Detroit: Gale, 1994. (Ref HV 1457 .O42 1994)

 

Montrey, Charles B. ed.Senior Citizens Services (Western States) Detroit: Gale, 1993. (Ref HV 1468 .A17 .S46)

Document Delivery Services

If the library does not own the periodical or book you need, you may request that Document Delivery Services obtain a photocopy of an article or borrow the book from another library. Document Delivery Services is located in the Circulation Services area, 1st floor.

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.