San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Design and Industrial Arts

Overview

The following is a selective guide to sources providing information about design-related topics.

Library Web Page

http://www.library.sfsu.edu/
Use the library's web page to connect to selected library catalogs and electronic resources accessible via the internet.

Books & Journals

InvestiGator is the SF State Library's online catalog. The catalog includes books, periodical titles, and media materials owned or subscribed to by the library.

How to find journals/periodicals in a specific subject area:
Journals/periodicals at the SF State library are not arranged by subject, they are arranged alphabetically, by title. To find journals in a specific subject area, do a SUBJECT search in the INVESTIGATOR library catalog, using this format: "SUBJECT - periodicals":

sample search in InvestiGator

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN periodicals
ADVERTISING periodicals
ART periodicals
DESIGN periodicals
DECORATIVE ARTS periodicals

Library Databases

For useful databases to search for articles and abstracts go to the list of suggested databases for Design & Industry.

.

General Rerources

Search for these titles in the Investigator Catalog for updated location information.

The Design Encyclopedia. Byers, Mal. NY: John Wiley, 1994.

Contemporary Designers. 3rd ed. Sara Pendergast, ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997.

Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, 2nd ed. De Chiara, Joseph, Julius Panero and Martin Zelnik.New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001.

Encyclopedia of Interior Design. Joanna Banham, ed. London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online (SFSU Users only)

An Encyclopaedia of the History of Technology. McNeil, Ian. London:
Routledge, 1990.

The Second World Almanac Book of Inventions. Giscard d/Estaing, Valerie-Anne. NY: World Almanac, 1986.

Travers, Bridget, ed. World of Invention: Historyís Most Significant Inventions and the People Behind Them. Detroit: Gale Research, 1994.

Levy, Richard C. The Inventor's Desktop Companion. Revised & updated ed. Detroit: Visible Ink, 1995.

Stramler, James H., Jr. The Dictionary for Human Factors / Ergonomics. Boca Raton: CRC, 1993.

Woodson, Wesley E. Human Factors Design Handbook: Information and Guidelines for the Design of Systems, Facilities, Equipment, and Products for Human Use. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1992.

Tver, David F. and Roger W. Bolz. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Industrial Technology: Materials, Processes and Equipment. NY: Chapman and Hall, 1984.

How products are made : an illustrated guide to product manufacturing. Detroit, MI : Gale Research Inc., 1994-

Fiell, Charlotte and Peter. Industrial Design A-Z. Köln; New York: Taschen, 2000.

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology. NY: John Wiley, 1986.

Philbin, Tom. The Encyclopedia of Hardware. NY: Hawthorn Books, 1978.

Chronologies

Bunch, Bryan and Alexander Hellemans. The Timetables of Technology: A Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in the History of Technology. NY: Simon & Schuster, 1993.

Desmond, Kevin. A Timetable of Inventions and Discoveries: From Pre-history to the Present Day. NY: M. Evans, 1986.

Directories

Burnette, Charles. Directory to Industrial Design in the United States: A Comprehensive Guide to People, Capabilities, and Information. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1992.

Directory of American Research and Technology 1993: Organizations Active in Product Development for Business. 27th ed. New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker, 1992.

[Phone Books] Business/Yellow pages are often very useful in doing product research. Use http://www.switchboard.com/ or http://www.bigbook.com/ (includes street maps) to find addresses and phone numbers.

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. NY: Thomas Publishing, annual. also available via web at:http://www.thomaspublishing .com/

Document Delivery Service

If the library does not have the periodical or book you need, use the library's Document Delivery Service (DDS).  The IngentaConnect service offers unmediated document delivery for selected periodical articles not in the library. Link+ allows SF State students, faculty and staff to request books from other cooperating libraries, if a book is unavailable at the JPL Library.

Selected Internet Sites

SF State Design and Industry Department home page (DAIWEB). [http://dai.sfsu.edu]

CORE Industrial Design Network. [http://www.core77.com]

Cyburbia.org: internet resources for the built environment. [http://www.cyburbia.org]

Design Site: a Web site for Architecture & Design related info, products and services. [http://www.design-site.net/]

ErgoWeb Inc.: Web site on ergonomics. [http://www.ergoweb.com]

Industrial Designers Society of America. [http://www.idsa.org]

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. [http://www.uspto.gov/]

Yahoo: Architecture. [http://yahoo.co m/Arts/Design_Arts/Architecture/]

Yahoo: Design Arts. [http://yahoo.com/Arts/Design _Arts/]

Yahoo: Graphic Design. [http://yahoo. com/Arts/Design_Arts/Graphic_Design/]

Other Resources

  • San Francisco Public Library, Civic Center, San Francisco, CA 94102 Phone: 415-557-4400

    SFPL has the basic tools to start a patent or trademark search. SFPL has complete patents for the years 1871-1911, and (on microfilm or CD-ROM) from 1994 forward. The Patent & Trademark workstation allows searching by keyword to all currently active trademark registrations and pending applications. SFPL has the Official Gazette that contains trademarks and patent abstracts covering 1790 to present.
     
  • Sunnyvale Center for Innovation, Invention and Ideas, 465 South Mathilda Avenue, Suite 300, Sunnyvale, CA 94086 Phone: 408-730-7290 or 408-730-7289
     
    SCIII is one of 79 depository libraries in the federal Patent and Trademark Depository Library System. Fees are charged for many services, but there are also many reference sources that can be searched for free.
SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.