San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Dance

Library Web Site

The library's web site provides the most current information about library services and collections. From the home page, connect to the Library's online catalog, databases, research guides, other library catalogs, and much more.

Locating Books

InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog, is the primary resource for finding out about books, periodicals, media and SFSU masters' theses owned or subscribed to by the library. Most older government documents and maps are not yet included. You may search by words, title, author, subjects, and other identifiers.

From the Library home page, select Search Other Libraries to access the online catalogs of many other libraries and PHAROS, the CSU system-wide catalog.

A Library PIN (Personal Identification Number) allows you to electronically place a hold on books, renew books online, order materials not available in our library through Link+ or Document Delivery Services.

Periodical Indexes, Abstracts and Related Sources

Indexes and abstracts (print and electronic databases) are used to locate newspaper and periodical articles on particular subjects. Print sources are located in the Reference Area, 1st floor. Electronic databases are accessible from the library's home page by selecting 'Databases--Find Articles and More.' To determine if the library has a particular periodical, consult InvestiGator, the online catalog.

Most databases are available remotely. To find more information about remote access, a guide on Accessing Databases from Off-Campus is available in print at the Reference Desk, or on the library's web site.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost), database, dates vary-
Anthropological Index Online, database 1965-
Art Index, print 1929- ; Art Index Retrospective, database 1929-84; and Art Full Text, database 1984-
Art and Humanities Citation Index (ISI), print 1977- ; database 1975-
Bibliographic Guide to Dance, print 1975-90.
Completed Research in Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance, print 1959-94.
Education Index, print 1929- ; Education Full Text, database 1983-
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), print and database, 1966-
eHRAF (Collection of Ethnography), database, dates vary-
Ethnic Newswatch, database 1991-
Humanities Index, print 1974 ; Humanities Full Text, database 1984-
Index to Dance Periodicals, print 1990-
International Index to the Performing Arts, database c.1864-
Music Index, print 1949-
Physical Education Index, print 1978-
ProQuest Newspapers, database, dates vary-
SportDiscus, database 1975-

Periodicals and newspapers in print and microformats are located on the 2nd floor, Library. To find more information about full-text electronic journals, access the guide 'Access to Periodical Articles in Electronic Format,' available from the Library web site or in print at the Reference Desk.

Document Delivery Service (DDS)

If the periodical article or book you need is not available in the library, you may be able to obtain a photocopy of the article or borrow the book from another library. For more information about options available for ordering materials (Link+, IngentaConnect, interlibrary loan, etc.), go to the Library home page, and select 'Document Delivery' from the QuickLinks box.

General Reference Sources

Bibliographic Guide to Dance, New York Public Library Dance Collection. NY: NYPL, 1975. (Main, Z 7514 .D2 N462 1974, v.1-10; continued by Bibliographic Guide to Dance in Ref Indexes/Abstracts area, 1975-90; continued by Index to Dance Periodicals in Ref Indexes/Abstracts area, 1990- )

Complete Book of Ballet: A Guide to the Principal Ballets of the 19th and 20th Centuries, by Cyril W. Beaumont. London: Putnam, 1949. (Ref GV 1787 .B35 1949)

Dance Handbook, by Allen and Hutera Robertson. NY: GK Hall, 1990. (Ref GV 1601 .R63 1990)

Encyclopedia of Physical Education, Fitness, and Sports: Sports, Dance, and Related Activities, ed. by Reuben B, Frost and Thomas K. Cureton Jr. Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley, 1977. (Ref GV 567 .E49, v.3)

International Encyclopedia of Dance, ed. by Selma Jeanne Cohen. NY: Oxford University Press, 1998. (Ref GV 1585 .I586 1998, v.1-6)

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance, ed. by Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000. (Ref GV 1585 .C78 2000)

The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature, by Linda Keir Simons. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1994. (Ref Z 6935 .S56 1994)

Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources, by Mary S. Bopp. NY: GK Hall, 1994. (Ref Z 7514 .D2 B6 1994)

The Simon and Schuster Book of the Ballet: A Complete Reference Guide--1581 to the Present. NY: Simon and Schuster, 1980. (Ref GV 1787 ,B275313)

Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Dance, by Barbara Naomi Cohen-Stratyner. NY: Schirmir, 1982. (Ref GV 1785 .A1 C58 1982)

Biography and Geneology Master Index (Database)

Biography Index. NY: HW Wilson, 1946- . (Ref Indexes/Abstracts area)

Biography Resource Center and The Complete Marquis Who's Who (Database)

Current Biography. NY: HW Wilson, 1940- . (Ref Indexes/Abstracts area)

Selected Internet Sites

@URL Internet Arts Resources--Dance (http://url.co.nz/arts/dance.html) Links to dance sites: dance resources, software for dance, video/film/CD-ROMS, programs, festivals, etc.

Cyberdance-Ballet on the Net (http://www.cyberdance.org/) Dance schools, colleges, people and organizations, etc.

Dance & Technology Zone (http://art.net/~dtz/) Resource site for dancers using technology to enhance live performances.

Dance Heritage Coalition (http://digilib.nypl.org:80/dynaweb/dhc) Dance research resources, finding aids for archival collections.

Dance Links (http://www.dancer.com/dance-links/) List school, companies, newsgroups, funding sources, Dance web indices.

New York Public Library for Performing Arts (http://web.nypl.org/research/lpa/lpa.html) Dance collection of 'largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance.' Online catalog.

Voice of Dance (http://www.voiceofdance.org) Dance reviews from all over the country.

Other Libraries

San Francisco Performing Arts Library & Museum 401 Van Ness Avenue San Francisco 415-255-4800 Web site: http://sfpalm.library.net

San Francisco Public Library 100 Larkin Street 4th floor--Art & Music Dept. San Francisco 415-557-4525 Web site: http://sfpl.lib.ca.us/

DT/rev. 4-02

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.