San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Fashion and Costume

About

The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources in the J. Paul Leonard Library.

Other bibliographies and research guides available at the Reference Desk, 1st floor, may also be useful for doing fashion and costume research. Some of these include:

Business Research: Company Information, Business Research: Industry Information, Business Research: Marketing, Business Research: International Marketing, History, and Consumer Protection Information.

Library Web Page
http://www.library.sfsu.edu

Use the Library's web page to connect to the InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog and electronic databases accessible via the Internet.

Locating Books

Use InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog to locate books. You may search by author, title, subject and other identifiers. InvestiGator will also tell you if a book is checked out or in a special location such as the Reserve Book Room. Information Guides explaining how to use InvestiGator, as well as floor plans and other aids, are available at the Research Assistance Desk and the Information Desk, 1st floor.

A Library PIN (Personal Identification Number) allows you to electronically place a hold on books, order materials through Link+ or Document Delivery Services, see the list of books you have checked out, renew books online, and find the current status of your order requests. From the Library Web site, select "Library Pin/Patron Record" to establish your Library PIN.

Periodical Indexes and Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts are used to locate newspaper and periodical articles on particular subjects. The indexes and abstracts you use depend on what aspect of costume or fashion you are working on. Indexes/Abstracts in print are located in the Reference Area. For more information about databases, go to the Library home page on the web and select "Databases: Find Articles and More".

ABI/Inform, database 1971-

Academic Search Elite (EBSCOHost)
, databases, dates vary-

America: History and Life
, print 1964- ; database 1982-

Applied Science and Technology Index
, print 1958- ; database 1983-

Art Index
, print 1929- ; database 1983-

Artbibliographies Modern
, print 1971- ; database 1984-

BHA
, print and database 1991-

Business Reference Suite
, database 1994-

Clothing Index, print 1970-1982

Clothing and Textile Arts Index, print 1983-

Consumers Index to Product Evaluations..., print 1981-

Design and Applied Arts Index, print 1989-

Historical Abstracts
, print 1955- ; database 1982-

Infotrieve, database 1966- (coming soon)

IngentaConnect
, database 1988-

LexisNexis Academic
, databases, dates vary-

PAIS International
, print 1915- ; database 1972-

ProQuest Newspapers
, database, dates vary-

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, print 1900-

Social Sciences Index
, print 1974- ; database 1983-

Sociological Abstracts
, print 1953- ; database 1963-

Textile Arts Index, print 1950-1987

Subject headings used in the various indexes differ. Examples of headings for fashion and related areas include: Apparel, Clothing & Dress, Costume, Fashion, Garments, Textiles, etc. To determine if the Library has a periodical title, check InvestiGator.

Document Delivery Service

If our library does not own the book you need or it is checked out, you may be able to request it through Link+ from another library. Select the Link+ button when you are at the catalog record in InvestiGator. If if is available from a Link+ library, you can make your request online. When the book arrives (usually 2-4 days) it will be held for you at the Circulation check-out desk. Check "View Your Own Record" for status of your request.

If our library does not own or provide electronic access to the periodical you need, you may request that Document Delivery Services obtain a copy for you. For more information about these services or to make requests, go to the Library's Web site and select "Document Delivery Services." To order materials, select "Online Order Forms."

If you would rather visit another library in person, you can connect to the online catalogs of many other libraries from the Library's Web site under "Other Libraries."

Basic Reference Works

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Baclawski, Karen. The Guide to Historic Costume. New York: Drama Book Publishers, 1995. (Ref GT 730 .B335 1995)

 

Callan, Georgina O'Hara. The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1998. (Ref GT 507 .O53 1998)

 

Complete Footwear Dictionary. Malabar, FL: Krieger Publishing , 1994. (Ref TS 947 .R67 1994)
Illustrated dictionary of terms and shoe styles.

 

Encyclopedia of Textiles. 3rd ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1980. (Ref fTS 1445 .A18 1980)
Illustrated sourcebook on textiles.

 

Gioello, Debbie Ann. Profiling Fabrics: Properties, Performance & Construction Techniques. New York: Fairchild, 1981. (Ref TS 1765 .G56x)
Arranged by types of fabrics, includes: photos of fabric close up and draped, its properties, and recommended construction aids.

 

Hardingham, Martin. Illustrated Dictionary of Fabrics. London: Studio Vista, 1978. (Ref TS 1309 .H25)
Explanations of types of plant fibres and man-made fibres; includes list of obsolete fabrics.

 

Harrold, Robert. Folk Costumes of the World. Poole, Dorset, England: Blandford Press, 1978. (Ref GT 511 .H38)
Describes traditional costumes from countries throughout the world; includes a general essay on the development of costume.

 

Pile, John. Dictionary of 20th-Century Design. New York: Facts on File, 1990. (Ref NK 1390.P53 1990)
Includes information on fashion industry by company, designer and specific style.

 

Tortora, Phyllis G. Survey of Historic Costume: A History of Western Dress. 3rd ed. New York: Fairchild, 1998. (Ref GT 580 .T67 1998)

 

Yarwood, Doreen. The Encyclopedia of World Costume. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1978. (Ref GT 507 .Y37)
Defines terms related to fashion and costumes throughout the world.

Directories

The Fashion Guide, 1990: International Designer Directory. New York: Fashion Guide, 1989. (Ref TT 495 .F37)
An international directory of designers, fashion houses, companies, associations, stores and buyers, and fashion journalists.

 

Lambert, Eleanor. World of Fashion: People, Places, Resources. New York: R.R. Bowker, 1976. (Ref TT 515 .L16)
Offers information on designers, educational institutions, fashion archives, publications, and associations.

Biographical Sources

Contemporary Designers. 2nd ed. Chicago: St. James Press, 1990. (Ref NK 1166 .C66 1990x folio)
Biographical sketches of contemporary fashion designers. Bibliographies included.

 

Current Biography. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1940- .
(Index Table) Monthly (except December), cumulated annually. Biographical essay with photo, address, and references. Emphasis on Americans.

 

McDowell, Colin. McDowell's Directory of Twentieth Century Fashion. New York: Prentice Hall, 1987. (Ref TT 505 .A1 .M37 1987)
Biographical sketches of designers and image makers in fashion.

Statistical Sources

ASI - American Statistics Index, 1974-

SRI - Statistical Reference Index, 1980-

IIS - Index to International Statistics, 1983-

LexisNexis Statistical (contains ASI, SRI, and IIS), database 1973-

Please note that many of the Fairchild Publications are available on SRI microfiche (in Government Publications, 5th floor) under section C3400, including: Fairchild Fact File, Fairchild's Textile and Apparel Financial Directory, and Fairchild's Financial Manual of Retail Stores.

HRAF (Human Relations Area File) / eHRAF (database version)

Original ethnographic source material to facilitate cross-cultural research. Microfiche collection located in the Reference Area and database on the Internet (connect from the Electronic Databases list on Library Web site). Specific subject classifications exist for clothing, adornment and related areas. Subject headings include : garment, dress, clothing, costume, leather, textile, fabrics. For more information on HRAF ask for the guide How to Use HRAF (#41), at the Research Assistance Desk, or use the online explanations in eHRAF.

Special Collections

Located on the 6th floor, Special Collections houses rare books, and portfolios of original renderings and reproductions of historical costumes. Titles, call numbers, etc. for these materials can be found on the InvestiGator, the online catalog.

Selected Internet Sites

The sites listed below may be useful depending upon your research interests. The number of sites is always expanding so update this list as needed. You may find additional websites and information by conducting a search on any available search engines. Try, for example, a search for Academy Award winners in Costume Design on Yahoo or the topic of fashion industry in Alta Vista.

Apparelnews.net
(http://apparelnews.net)
News, classifieds, fashion forecasts, industry links.


CNN-Style
(http://www.cnn.com/STYLE)
Full-text articles and news about fashion.


The Costume Gallery
(http://www.costumegallery.com/)
Provides links to costume designers, goods and services, costume history and recreational sites.


The Costume Page
(http://www.library.ubc.ca/finearts/COSTUME.html)
Index of costume and costume-related links for those interested in fashion, textile art and costume history. Provides links to online images, bibliographies, dictionaries, museums & exhibits, and classes & schools.


The Costume Site
(http://www.milieux.com/costume/)
Useful especially for ethnic costume information, provides access to costume, ethnic, and theatrical images, museums and history, organizations, etc.


Fashion Click
(http://www.fashionclick.com/)
Online fashion and style magazine, covers fashion and collections.


Fashion Planet
(http://www.fashion-planet.com/)
Online magazine includes daily updated fashion industry news plus feature articles and columns.


Fashiondex
(http://www.fashiondex.com)
Apparel industry site for links to directories and source books.


Firstview Collections
(http://www.firstview.com)
Many images of top designer's collections.


Hint Magazine
(http://www.hintmag.com/contents/contents.php)
Online fashion magazine.


The Look On-Line
(http://www.lookonline.com/)
New York fashion industry e-zine.


San Francisco Fashion Industries
(http://www.sffi.org/)
Public service Internet site covering the Northern California apparel industry.


SHOES ON THE NET - YOUR SHOE RESOURCE
(http://shoesonthenet.com/)
Provides information on variety of topics related to footwear industry, including Trade Show dates for U.S and overseas, job listings, chat lines, importing information.

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.