Computer Science Research
Library Web Page
Use the Library's web page to connect to InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog and electronic databases accessible via the Internet. From the home page, select either InvestiGator Catalog - Find Books & More or Find Articles & Databases.
InvestiGator (Online Catalog)
Use InvestiGator, the library's online catalog, to locate all books and periodicals owned by the Library, as well as audio-visual and other non-print materials. InvestiGator will tell you if a book is checked out or in a special location such as the Reserve Book Room. Searches on InvestiGator may be done two ways--by browse (exact match of author, title or subject) or by keywords. Information Guides explaining how to use InvestiGator, as well as floor plans and other aids, are available at the Reference Desk and the Information Desk, 1st floor. You can access InvestiGator remotely by using the library's web page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and selecting InvestiGator Catalog - Find Books & More.
Examples of relevant subject headings for Computer Science include the following:
| Subject Headings for Computer Science | |
|---|---|
| Algorithms | Data Structures |
| Artificial Intelligence | Distributed Systems Electronic Data Processing |
| Compilers | Information Storage and Retrieval Systems |
| Computer Aided Design | Internet (Computer Network) |
| Computer Graphics | Logic Programming |
| Computer Networks | Neural Networks |
| Computer Science | Object-Oriented Programming |
| Computer Software | Operating Systems |
| Computer Vision | Programming Languages |
| Computers | Robotics |
| Software Engineering | Telecommunication |
Reference Books
Encylopedias
Feibel, Werner. The Network Press Encyclopedia of Networking. 3rd ed. Alameda, Calif.: Sybex, 2000. (Ref TK 5102 .F444 2000)
Henderson, Harry. Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology. New York: Facts On File, 2003. (Ref QA 76.15 .H43 2003)
Jones, Steve, ed. Encyclopedia of New Media: an Essential Reference to Communication and Technology. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2003. (Ref QA 76.575 .E5368 2003)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. 9th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2002. (Ref Q 121 .M3 2002)
Muller, Nathan J. Desktop Encyclopedia of Telecommunications. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000. (Ref TK 5102 .M85 2000)
Muller, Nathan J. Desktop Encyclopedia of the Internet. Boston, Mass.: Artech House, 1999. (Ref TK 5105.5 .M85696 1999)
Ralston, Anthony; Edwin D. Reilly; David Hemmendinger, eds. Encyclopedia of computer science. 4th ed. London: Nature Pub. Group, 2000. (Ref QA 76.15 .E48 2000)
Webster, John G., ed. Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, 1999. 24 vols. (Ref TK 9 .E53 1999)
Dictionaries
American Heritage Dictionaries, Editors. Dictionary of Computer and Internet Words: an A to Z Guide to Hardware, Software, and Cyberspace. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001. (Ref QA 76.15 .D5255 2001)
Botto, Francis. Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications. New York: Wiley, 1999. (Ref TK 5105.875 .I57 B64 1999)
Cisco Systems Inc. Dictionary of Internetworking Terms and Acronyms. Indianapolis, IN: Cisco Press, 2001. (Ref TK 5102 .D524 2001)
Collin, S. M. H. Dictionary of Personal Computing and the Internet. 3rd ed. Teddington: Peter Collin, 2000. (Ref QA 76.15 .C587 2000)
Dyson, Peter. Dictionary of Networking. 3rd ed. Alameda, Calif.: Sybex, 1999. (Ref TK 5105.5 .D97 1999)
Freedman, Alan. The Computer Glossary: the Complete Illustrated Dictionary. 9th ed. New York: AMACOM, 2001. (Ref QA 76.15 .F733 2001)
Grotta, Daniel. The Illustrated Digital Imaging Dictionary. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998. (Ref TA 1509 .G76 1998)
Hargrave, Frank. Hargrave's Communications Dictionary. New York: IEEE Press, 2001. (Ref TK 5102 .H37 2001)
Illingworth, Valerie and Daintith, John, eds. The Facts On File Dictionary of Computer Science. 4th ed. New York: Facts on File, 2001. (Ref QA 76.15 .F345 2001)
LaPlante, Philip A., ed. Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press and IEEE Press, 1999. (Ref TK 9 .C575 1999)
LaPlante, Philip A., ed. Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press, 2001. (QA 76.15 .D5258 2001)
Mastin, Robert. Telecom & Networking Glossary: Understanding Communications Technology. 2nd ed. Newport, R.I.: Aegis Pub. Group, Ltd., 2001. (Ref TK 5102 .T42 2001)
Microsoft Computer Dictionary. 4th ed. Redmond, Wash.: Microsoft Press, 1999. (Ref QA 76.15 .M538 1999)
Newton, Harry. Newton's Telecom Dictionary: the Official Dictionary of Telecommunications & the Internet. 16th ed. New York: Telecom, 2000. (Ref TK 5102 .N48 2000)
Pfaffenberger, Bryan. Webster's New World Dictionary of Computer Terms. 8th ed. Foster City, Calif.: IDG Books Worldwide, 2000. (Ref QA 76.15 .P395 2000)
Raynor, William J. The International Dictionary of Artificial Intelligence.
Chicago: Glenlake Pub.; New York: AMACOM, 1999. (Ref Q 334.2 .R39 1999)
Thing, Lowell, contributor. The Whatis?com's Encyclopedia of Technology Terms. Indianapolis, Ind.: Que, 2002. (Ref QA 76.15 .W43 2002)
Thomas, Thomas M. Thomas' Concise Telecom and Networking Dictionary. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000. (Ref TK 5102 .T465 2000)
Handbooks and Directories
Gale Directory of Databases. Detroit: Gale Research, semi-annual. (Ref QA 76.9 .D32 D575)
Also available electronically. To access the electronic version of this directory, go to the Library's home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select Find Articles & Databases. Then type in the words "Ready Reference Shelf" in the Database Name box on the next screen and click on the "Go" button. Then click on the name of the database from the list of results.
Goldberg, Jan; revised by Mark Rowh. Great Jobs for Computer Science Majors. 2nd ed. Lincolnwood, Ill.: VGM Career Horizons, 2003. (Ref QA 76.25 .G62 2003)
Hart, Anne. Winning Resumes for Computer Personnel. New York: Barron's Educational Series, 1998. (Ref HF 5383 .C368 1998)
Henderson, Harry. Career Opportunities in Computers and Cyberspace. New York: Facts on File, 1999. (Ref QA 76.25 .H46 1999)
Lee, J.A.N. Computer Pioneers. Los Alamitos, Calif.: IEEE Computer Society Press, 1995. (Ref QA 76.2 .A2 L44 1995)
Mathematicians and Computer Wizards. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. (Ref QA 28 .M374 2001)
Reilly, Edwin D. Milestones in Computer Science and Information Technology. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003. (Ref QA 76 .R434 2003)
Tucker, Allen B. Jr., editor-in-chief. The Computer Science and Engineering Handbook. CRC Press in cooperation with ACM, 1997. (Ref QA 76 .C57315 1997)
Periodicals Abstracts & Texts
The vast majority of current research in computer science is published in journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Periodical indexes and abstracts are an excellent resource for locating this type of material. The indexing and abstracting services listed below are available in the Reference Area. Some of these indexes are also available via remote access. For a list of these and other databases available electronically, go to the library's web page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu) and select: Databases - Find Articles & Databases. To connect to a specific database, type in the name of the database you wish to search in the Database Name box on the next screen and click on the "Go" button. Then click on the name of the database from the list of results. The recommended databases for locating periodical articles, etc. on computer science topics include:
- ABI/Inform, database, 1971-present.
- Indexes general business and management publications. Many articles are available in full-text.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost), database, current; start dates vary depending upon title.
- Indexes news magazines, and scholarly journals and popular magazines in all disciplines. Many articles are available in full-text.
- Applied Science and Technology Abstracts, database, October 1983-present.
- Indexes the core physical and applied science (including computer science) scholarly journals. In order to determine if SF State can provide you with access to an electronic version of the journal article in which you are interested, click on the yellow Full Text box on the complete record screen.
- Computer Literature Index, print, 1980-present.
- Indexes computer related trade publications, general business and management periodicals, and publications of computer and professional societies and organizations.
- Computing Reviews, database, 1969-present.
- Reviews current publications in any area of the computing sciences.
- Engineering Village 2, website.
- This site provides access to the Compendex database (1969-present) which indexes journals, technical reports, books, and conference proceedings in all of the engineering disciplines. In order to determine if SF State can provide you with access to an electronic version of the journal article in which you are interested, click on the SFX link on the detailed record screen. DO NOT click on the yellow Full Text box.
- IngentaConnect, database, generally 1988-present.
- Indexes popular, trade and scholarly journals in all disciplines.
- Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts, 2000-present.
- Indexes magazine articles and news items on micrcomputing and related subjects as well as reviews of software, hardware, and books.
- MathSciNet, database, 1940-present.
- Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and books from the mathematics, statistics, and computer science disciplines. In order to determine if SF State can provide you with access to an electronic version of the journal article in which you are interested, click on the SFX link.
- Software and CD-ROM Reviews on File, print, current 3 years only (Ref QA 76.75 .S64)
- This publication is a compilation of extracts of reviews of microcomputer software programs that appeared in popular and professional publications.
- Web of Science, database, 1991-present.
- Indexes scholarly journals in all of the scientific disciplines. Use this database to conduct cited reference searches (that is, search for articles that cite a specific author or article).
Selected Internet Sites
Association of Computing Machinery
(http://www.acm.org)
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
(http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography)
This site is an index to much of the scientific literature (journal
articles, conference papers, and technical reports) in computer
science. The site can be searched by specific topic or one can browse
by broad subject areas.
CompInfo - The Computer Information Center
(http://www.compinfo-center.com/)
This site is a "one-stop reference resource on topics such as
applications, systems, Internet, data capture, networks, operating
systems, software, storage, telecommunications, and more."
Computer Science Technical Reports
(http://www.nzdl.org/cgi-bin/cstrlibrary?a=p&p=about)
This site is an index to computer science technical reports that have
been downloaded from selected sites on the Internet. The full-text of
nearly 46,000 technical reports is available. A few PhD dissertations
are also included. Every single word on every page of every report is
indexed.
IEEE Computer Society
(http://www.computer.org)
This site contains technical and career resources for computer professionals.
Scirus
(http://www.scirus.com/srsapp/)
This award-winning site states that it is "the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet."
Virtual Computer Library
(http://www.utexas.edu/computer/vcl/)
This searchable directory provides online information about computers
and computing. The links are subdivided into the following categories:
Academic Computing; Book Reviews; Computer Technology; Conferences;
Documentation; Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs); Internet Information;
Journals/Magazines; News/Press Releases; Nonprofit/Govt Organizations;
Online Books/Dictionaries; Publishers; User Groups/Associations; WWW
Information; Vendors Index. From the University of Texas at Austin.


