San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Company Information Guide

About

This is a selective list of library resources. For the latest information about library services and resources, go to the
Library web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu).

Library locations are:

Reference (Ref), 1st floor
Periodicals, 2nd floor
Main, 1st -- 4th floors

Books

In the J. Paul Leonard Library.

Use InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog, to locate materials owned by the Library. Search by keyword, title, author, or Library of Congress subject headings (LCSH). Below are selected LCSH related to Business.

Big Business
Business Enterprises
Business Enterprises - Directories
Business Planning (for business plans)
Consolidation and Merger of Corporations
Consulting Firms
Corporate Reorganizations
Corporations
Corporations - United States - Case Studies
Holding Companies
Management
Negotiation in Business
Organization Charts
Private Companies
Small Business
Social responsibility of business

For books about a company, do a subject search by company name, e.g.
Apple Computer, General Electric Company, Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Company, etc.

In Other Libraries - Borrowing Items (Document Delivery Services)

If a book is not "available" or not owned by the Library, click the Search Link+ button at the top of the InvestiGator screen. Link+ (http://csul.iii.com/) is an online catalog for other California academic and public libraries. If a book is not available from Link+, go to Borrowing Items From Other Libraries (Document Delivery Services) (http://www.library.sfsu.edu/services/requesting/index.html).

Periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers)

In the J. Paul Leonard Library.

Most periodicals are on the 2nd floor. Arrangement is alphabetical by title. Current issues are in Current Periodicals, back issues are bound or in microformat (microfilm or fiche). For a specific title, e.g. Business Week, do a "journals" title search in InvestiGator, the online catalog. To find if a periodical is available electronically, check the Electronic Journal List. To find periodicals by subject, do a "subject heading" search in InvestiGator, e.g. "management--periodicals." Can't find the periodical? Ask a reference librarian or try Borrowing Items from Other Libraries.

In Other Libraries - Borrowing Items (Document Delivery Services).

For Information and online order forms go to Borrowing Items from Other Libraries.

Periodical Articles by Topic

Use databases to find periodical articles by topic. Databases are electronic indexes that identify periodical (newspapers, magazines, journals, etc.) articles by topic. To access databases the Library subscribes to, at the Library home page, click Find Articles & Databases under Quick Links. For an overview, refer to the Finding Articles Guide. Some electronic databases include the full text of the articles they cite; some include an e-mail delivery feature. Most are also available off-campus to SFSU students, faculty, and staff. For information see "Off-Campus Database Access."

Click here for an overview of the Content and Search Features of some of the databases.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM
Dateline (database, SFSU users only). Local and regional business publications.
Global (database, SFSU users only). Indexing for journals in business, management and related disciplines. Full text for many.
Trade & Industry (database, SFSU users only). Major industry periodicals and newsletters. News, market trends, product and competitive information. Full-text for many articles.

Business & Industry. See Business Reference Suite.

Business Reference Suite (database, SFSU users only). Indexes core business publications, trade association reports, investment research firms, statistical annuals, etc. The two Suite databases, which can be searched separately or together, are: Business & Industry for company and industry news, market research data; and Tablebase for tabular data, market share, rankings, etc. from full text articles.

Business Source Premiere (database, SFSU users only). Full text articles and PDF images for several thousand journals including the Harvard Business Review. Also company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, market research, and product reviews.

Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) (database, SFSU users only). US and international newspapers, journals, and newswires, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as company financials, industry ratios, stock prices and indexes, exchange rates.

LexisNexis Academic (database, SFSU users only). Articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers and business, trade, and general interest journals. Also SEC filings and legal and tax documents.

Tablebase. See Business Reference Suite.

Other Useful Article Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost) (database, SFSU users only)
Regional Business News (database, SFSU users only)
Web of Science (database, SFSU users only)

Companies

SIC and NAICS Codes

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes identify products or major services offered by a company. Many directories have SIC indexes which help to identify companies in the same industry. In 1997, a new classification system, the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) was jointly developed by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. Among other things, it provides a consistent framework for classifying the activities of North American companies. Manuals for both systems are located in Reference (1st floor) and Government Publications (5th floor).

For NAICS to SIC and SIC to NAICS, http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

Directories

Company listings provide general information such as: name and address; sales volume and number of employees; executives; affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions; and products or services, usually identified by SIC code. Listings are alphabetical by name and frequently geographical and by SIC code. Financial data is usually limited.

Directory of Corporate Affiliations
(Ref HG 4057 A217). Overview of the corporate structure of companies including subsidiaries, divisions, and affiliates. Begin with the Master Index to all volumes.

Million Dollar Database (Dun & Bradstreet/D&B) (database, SFSU users only). Private and publicly held companies with sales of over $9M or 180 or more total employees.

Also:

California Manufacturers Register (Ref T 12 C15)
Consultants & Consulting Organizations (Ref HD 69 C6 C65)
Directory of California Wholesalers and Service Companies (Ref HD 9981.7 C2 C34).
Dun's Regional Business Directory--San Francisco (Ref HG 4058 S4 D86).
Principal International Businesses (Ref HF 54 U5 P74).
Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies (Ref HF 5805 .S72)
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (Ref T12 T6 and http://www.thomasregister.com).

Financials

Annual reports are the principal document through which publicly-held corporations communicate to their shareholders. Generally, they include a description of the corporation's operations, its balance sheet and income statement. As their content is up to each company's discretion, an annual report could also include non-financial information such as marketing plans, forecasts, descriptions of new facilities, etc. A more detailed annual financial report, called the 10-K, must also be filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). This report is supplemented with quarterly financial reports, called 10-Qs, and other SEC filings as necessary. THE LIBRARY DOES NOT KEEP ANNUAL REPORTS OR SEC FILINGS. They are often available at a company's homepage under the Investor Relations link.

Private companies are not subject to the same financial disclosure laws as public companies and do file detailed financial reports such as annual reports to shareholders and 10K reports, etc. However, it is sometimes possible to find basic financial information regarding sales, etc., in periodical articles. Also check Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database (database, SFSU users only).

Disclosure--access via LexisNexis Academic (database, SFSU users only). Select Business > Company Profiles > Select Sources > Disclosure.

EDGAR http://www.sec.gov. The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system. For SEC filings, e.g. 10-Ks, 10-Qs, etc.

Factiva (Dow Jones & Reuters) (database, SFSU users only). Select "Companies/Markets," then "Company" for financial reports.

LexisNexis Academic (database, SFSU users only)

For 10-K's, 10-Q's, annual reports, etc: Business > SEC Filings > Select Sources
For Disclosure: Business > Company Profiles > Select Sources > Disclosure
For Hoover's: Business > Company Profiles > Select Sources > Hoover's
For Standard & Poor's: Business > Company Profiles > Select Sources > Standard & Poor's

Mergent (formerly Moody's)
Mergent Online (database, SFSU users only). Financial data for U.S. and international public companies. Annual reports in PDF format. SEC filings.

Mergent Manuals (Ref HG 4961). Financial information for publicly traded companies is presented in separate manuals, i.e., Bank and Finance, Industrials, etc. which are located in the general area Ref HG 4961. News Reports, http://www.mergent.com/publish/news_reports.asp, provide interim financial statements, merger proposals, etc. Use the Complete Corporate Index (Ref 4961 .M66) to locate companies listed in the manuals.

Value Line Investment Survey (Periodicals Desk). Brief public company overviews written for investors.

Profiles/History

Hoover's (database, SFSU users only). Business description, location, summary financials, executives, subsidiaries, and competitors, etc. for public and some private companies. Also available via LexisNexis (database, SFSU users only) by selecting Business > Company Profiles > Select Sources > Hoover's.
The library also subscribes to the following Hoover's manuals:

  • Hoover's Handbook of American Business (Ref HG 4057 A28622)
  • Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies (Ref HG 4057 .A25)
  • Hoover's Handbook of World Business (Ref HG 4009 H66)

International Directory of Company Histories (Ref HD 2721 .I63 1988). Historical profiles of the world's largest companies. Includes U.S. companies. Each volume covers different industries. Cumulative company/person index in final volume.

Notable Corporate Chronologies (Ref HG 4009 .N68). Chronologies for "significant companies currently operating in the U.S. and abroad." Timelines include key dates followed by a brief bibliography of sources relevant to the company's history.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (database, SFSU users only). Select Publication= Company Profile, then search by company name or ticker.

Worldscope--access via LexisNexis Academic (database, SFSU users only). Financials for public companies in the U.S. and abroad. Select Business > Company Profiles > Select Sources > Worldscope.

Rankings

Ranked lists of companies, e.g. the Fortune 500, Forbes 2000, Chronicle 200, are annually published in a variety of publications. Two sources for identifying published ranked lists are Business Rankings Annual (Ref HG 4050 .B88) and Gary Price's List of Lists, (http://www.specialissues.com/lol/).

LexisNexis Academic (database, SFSU users only). Business > Dossier Create a Company List. Fill out desired criteria. To sort results by sales in descending order, select "customize list."

Million Dollar Database (Dun & Bradstreet/D&B) (database, SFSU users only). Use to create customized ranked lists, e.g. the top 50 computer companies in the 408 area code.

San Francisco Business Times Book of Lists (Ref Desk HF 5068 .S42x). Published annually, usually in January, this is a compilation of all the lists published in the weekly San Francisco Business Times during the previous year.

Tablebase. See Business Reference Suite.


Rev GMC 9/24/2007

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.