San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Cinema

About

This is a selective list of CINEMA resources -- books, periodicals, databases, and websites -- located in the J. Paul Leonard Library. For the latest information about library services and resources, go to the Library web site (http://www.library.sfsu.edu). Library locations are:

Reference (Ref), 1st floor
Periodicals, 2nd floor
Main, 1st -- 4th floors

While addresses to selected web sites are listed throughout this guide, two general web sites are: The Internet Movie Database, http://www.imdb.org and the All Movie Guide, https://www.allmovie.com.

Books

In the J. Paul Leonard Library.

Use InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog, to locate materials owned by the Library. Search by keyword, title, author, or Library of Congress subject headings (LCSH). Below are selected LCSH related to Cinema.

AFRICAN AMERICANS IN MOTION PICTURES
LESBIANS IN MOTION PICTURES
ANIMATION CINEMATOGRAPHY
MOTION PICTURE ACTORS AND ACTRESSES
BLACKS IN MOTION PICTURES
MOTION PICTURE AUTHORSHIP (for screenwriting)
CINEMATOGRAPHY
MOTION PICTURE PLAYS (for film scripts)
CINEMATOGRAPHY -- LIGHTING
MOTION PICTURE PRODUCERS AND DIRECTORS
COMEDY FILMS MUSICAL FILMS
DETECTIVE AND MYSTERY FILMS
SCIENCE FICTION FILMS
DOCUMENTARY FILMS
SCREENWRITERS
EXPERIMENTAL FILMS (for avant garde)
SILENT FILMS
FILM NOIR
VIOLENCE IN MOTION PICTURES
HISPANIC AMERICANS IN MOTION PICTURES
WESTERN FILMS
HOMOSEXUALITY IN MOTION PICTURES WOMEN IN MOTION PICTURES
HORROR FILMS

In Other Libraries - Borrowing Items (Document Delivery Services)

If a book is not "available" or not owned by the Library, click the Search Link+ button at the top of the InvestiGator screen. Link+ (http://csul.iii.com/) is an online catalog for other California academic and public libraries. If a book is not available from Link+, go to Borrowing Items From Other Libraries (Document Delivery Services) (http://www.library.sfsu.edu/services/requesting/index.html).

Periodicals

In the J. Paul Leonard Library.

Most periodicals are on the 2nd floor. Arrangement is alphabetical by title. Current issues are in Current Periodicals, back issues are bound or in microformat (microfilm or fiche). For a specific title, e.g. Sight and Sound, do a "journals" title search in InvestiGator, the online catalog. To find if a periodical is available electronically, check the Electronic Journal List. To find periodicals by subject, do a "subject heading" search in InvestiGator, e.g. "motion pictures--periodicals." Can't find the periodical? Ask a reference librarian or try Borrowing Items from Other Libraries.

In Other Libraries - Borrowing Items (Document Delivery Services).

For Information and online order forms go to Borrowing Items from Other Libraries.

Articles by Topic

Use databases to find periodical articles by topic. Databases are electronic indexes that identify periodical (newspapers, magazines, journals, etc.) articles by topic. To access databases the Library subscribes to, at the Library home page, click Find Articles & Databases under Quick Links. For an overview, refer to the Finding Articles Guide. Some electronic databases include the full text of the articles they cite; some include an e-mail delivery feature. Most are also available off-campus to SFSU students, faculty, and staff. For information see "Off-Campus Database Access."

Cinema Databases, Indexes, and Abstracts

American Film Scripts Online (database, SFSU users only). 800+ scripts with "detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts."

FIAF- International Federation of Film Archives (database, SF State users only). Several databases which can be searched together or separately. Included are the Index to Film Periodicals and the Index to Television Periodicals.

Film & Television Literature Index (database, SFSU users only). Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred publications. Replaces the printed Film Literature Index which is no longer published.

Film Literature Index (Reference Index Tables) 1973- . Cover-to-cover indexing for 150 popular and scholarly film and television periodicals. International in scope. The free web version provides citations to articles published from 1976-2001, http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/index.jsp

International Index to Film Periodicals. (Reference Index Tables) 1977- .

International Index to the Performing Arts (database, SF State users only). All aspects of the world of performing arts, including cinema, from 130 international periodicals. Abstracts.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Premiere (database, SF State users only).

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (database, SF State users only). For citations and abstracts to articles about the technical aspects of film-making.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index -- via Web of Science (database, SF State users only)

Art Full Text (database, SF State users only)

Art Index Retrospective (database, SF State users only)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (database, SF State users only)

Humanities Full-Text (database, SF State users only)

MLA International Bibliography (database, SF State users only).

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (database, SF State users only)

Film Reviews / Film Criticism

(LCSH: film criticism, motion pictures evaluation)

Articles. To find film reviews in periodicals, use periodical indexes and abstracts. The print indexes and abstracts are shelved alphabetically by title in the Reference Area. To access the electronic indexes the Library subscribes to, at the Library home page, click "Find Articles & Databases" under Quick Links.

Some electronic databases include the full text of the articles they cite; some include an e-mail delivery feature. To locate articles that are not full text, see the PERIODICALS section of this guide.

Index
 
Academic Search Premiere (database, SF State users only)
 
Film & Television Literature Index (database, SFSU users only)
 
Film Literature Index (Reference Index Tables)
(1973-2004. Ceased publication.)
 
Film Review Index (Reference Index Tables)
Vol. 1: 1882-1949
Vol. 2: 1950-1985
 
International Index to Film (Reference Index Tables)
 
International Index to Performing Arts
(database, SF State user only) 
Search
 
film title and motion pictures -- reviews
(e.g. Army of Shadows and motion pictures -- reviews)  
film title and motion pictures -- reviews
(e.g. Army of Shadows and motion pictures -- reviews)
 
film title  
 
 
film title  
 
 
 
film title
 
keyword= film title and document type=film review
(e.g. keyword=Sideways and document type=film review)

Collections and Excerpts. The following Magill's titles provide a summary of the story line along with an examination of the directing, acting, cinematography, editing, etc. Also included are principal characters and some credits.

Magill, Frank N.:
Magill's survey of cinema: English language films. (Ref PN 1995 M3x)
Magill's survey of cinema: English language films, second series. (Ref PN 1995 .M3 1981x)
Magill's survey of cinema: foreign language films. (Ref PN 1993.45 M34)
Magill's survey of cinema: silent films. (Ref PN 1993.5 U6 M34x). Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press

Other Collections:
The New York Times film reviews. New York: The Times. (Ref PN 1995 N4)
Variety film reviews. New York: Garland. (Ref PN 1995 V34

Films

In the J. Paul Leonard Library.

A complete list of the films, videos, video discs, and DVDs in the both the Library and AV department collections, can be found in InvestiGator, the Library's online catalog. Viewing of materials from the University's collection is in the Media Viewing & Listening. The media is sent via cable from the AV Center. Reservations are recommended and must be made in person at the Media Desk; no phone reservations. This service is not available on weekends.

 

Resources by Topic

Adaptations
Foreign
African Americans
Genres
Annuals (books that review the year in film)
Hispanics
Archives
Horror
Awards
LGBT
Biography
Musicals
Catalogs
Production
Characters
Quotation
Dictionaries
Science Fiction
Directors
Screenplays/Screenwriting
Documentaries
Silent
Festivals
Westerns
Film Noir Women


Adaptations

Baskin, Ellen. Enser's filmed books and plays: a list of books and plays from which films have been made, 1928-1991. (Ref Z 5784 M9 B385)

Fenton, Jill Rubinson, et al. Women writers from page to screen. (Ref PN 1997.85 W58)

Rothwell, Kenneth S. and Annabelle Henkin Melzer. Shakespeare on screen: an international filmography and videography. (Ref PR 3093 R68)

Tibbets, John C. Encyclopedia of novels into film. (Ref PN 1997.85 T54 1998)


African Americans (LCSH: African Americans in motion pictures)

Black Film Center/Archive http://www.indiana.edu/~bfca/

Bogle, Donald. Blacks in American films and television: an encyclopedia. (Ref PN 1995.9 N4 B58). Films, actors, television series.

Mapp, Edward. Directory of blacks in the performing arts. (Ref PN 1590 B53 M3)

Richards, Larry. African American films through 1959: a comprehensive, illustrated filmography. (Ref PN 1995.9 N4 R54 1998). Films; companies; actor, director, and producer credits.


Annuals (books that review the previous year in film)

International motion picture almanac. (Ref PN 1993.3 I55)

Magill, Frank N. Magill's cinema annual. (Ref PN 1993.3 M34)

Variety. International film guide. (Ref PN 1993.3 I544)

Willis, John. Screen world. (Ref PN 1993.3 D3)


Archives

British Pathe Film Archive http://www.britishpathe.com/

International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections -- via FIAF (database, SF State users only). "Information about collections of paper archives, scripts, press materials, stills, posters, and all other film documentation held in film archives and libraries world-wide."

Pacific Film Archive (PFA) http://www.bampfa.berkeley.edu/pfa_programs/

National Film Preservation Board http://www.loc.gov/film/ ; National Film Preservation Board Foundation http://www.filmperservation.org/

U.S. National Film Registry http://www.loc.gov/film/filmnfr.html


Awards

Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences http://www.oscars.org/index.html ; Academy Award Winners http://www.filmsite.org/oscars.html

Shale, Richard. The Academy Awards index: a complete categorical and chronological record. (Ref PN 1993.92 S53)

Hollywood Foreign Press Association http://www.hfpa.org/

Orange British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) http://www.bafta.org/site/page120.html

Franks, Don. Entertainment awards: a music, cinema, theatre and broadcasting guide, 1928 through 2003. (Ref PN 2270 .A93 F68 2005)


Biography

Contemporary theatre, film, and television: a biographical guide. (Ref PN 2285 C58)

Jarvis, Everett Grant. Final curtain: deaths of noted movie and television personalities, 1912-1996. (Ref PN 1998.2 .J37 1996)

Katz, Ephraim. The film encyclopedia. (Ref PN1993.45 K34)

Maltin, Leonard. Movie encyclopedia. (Ref PN 1998.2 M34).

Thomas, Nicholas. International dictionary of films and filmmakers. (Ref PN 1997.8 I58)

Thomson, David. The new biographical dictionary of film. (Ref PN 1998.2 .T49 2002)

Variety obituaries. (Ref PN 1583 V35)

Who's who in entertainment. (Ref PN 1583 W467x)


Catalogs

The American Film Institute catalog of motion pictures produced in the United States. (Ref PN 1998 A57). This multi-volume set aims to "provide complete cataloging of every feature, short, and newsreel produced by the American film community since 1893." Films are listed alphabetically.

Gifford, Denis. The British film catalogue, 1895-1985: a reference guide. (PN 1993.5 G7 G53). The British film catalogue, fiction, 1895 - 1994. (Ref PN 1993.5 .G7 B75 2000. The British film catalogue, non-fiction. (Ref PN 1993.5 G7 B75 2000)

Lauritzen, Einar & Gunnar Lundquist. American film index, 1908-1915 & 1916-1920. (Ref PN 1998 L26) These two volumes are a filmography: an alphabetical list of the titles of motion pictures produced and distributed in the United States; with title, production information, and credits on more than 33,000 American films produced from 1908-1920. An INDEX to these two volumes is: American Film Personnel and Company Credits, 1908-1920 by Paul E. Spehr with Gunnar Lundquist. (Ref PN 1998 L26...Index)


Characters

Lieberman, Susan. Memorable film characters: an index to roles and performers, 1915 - 1983. (Ref PN 1995.9 C36 L5 1984)

Nowlan, Robert Anthony and Gwendolyn Wright Nowlan. The name is familiar ...who played who in the movies? A directory of title characters. (Ref PN 1995.9 C36 N696)

Pickard, Roy. Who played who on the screen. (Ref PN 1995.9 C36 P54)


Dictionaries (LCSH: motion pictures dictionaries)

Glossary of Film Terms http://homepage.newschool.edu/~schlemoj/film_courses/glossary_of_film_terms/

Gartenberg, Jon. Glossary of filmographic terms. (Ref PN 1993.45 G36). Film terms in several languages.

Konigsberg, Ira. The complete film dictionary. (Ref PN 1993.45 K66 1997)

Stevens, Matthew. International film television and video acronyms. (Ref PN 1993.45. S76)


Directors (LCSH: Motion picture producers and directors)

Bushnell, Brooks. Directors and their films: a comprehensive reference, 1895-1990. (Ref PN 1998 B85)

Directors Guild of America. Directory of members (Ref PN 1998 A1 D52). Includes addresses.

Singer, Michael. Film directors: a complete guide. (Ref PN 1998 A2 D568)

Wakeman, John. World film directors. (Ref PN 1998.2 W67) Vol. 1: 1890-1945, Vol. 2: 1945-1985


Documentaries (LCSH: documentary films)

International Documentary Association. http://www.documentary.org

Point-of-View (P.O.V.) Interactive http://www.pbs.org/pov/

Reel Life Stories http://library.berkeley.edu/MRC/reellife/


Festivals

Cannes http://www.festival-cannes.fr/

San Francisco Film Society/SF International Film Festival http://www.sffs.org/

Sundance Institute http://institute.sundance.org/

Directory of International Film and Video Festivals http://www.britfilms.com/festivals/

Film Festivals Archives http://www.filmfestivals.com/htmlus/archus.shtml

Gore, Chris. The ultimate film festival survival guide. (PN 1993.4 G67 2004)


Film Noir (LCSH: film noir)

Keaney, Michael F. Film noir guide: 745 films of the classic era, 1940-1959. (Ref PN 1995.9 F54 K43 2003)

Ottoson, Robert. A reference guide to the American film noir, 1940-1958. (Ref PN 1993.5 U6 O9)

Silver, Alain and Elizabeth Ward. Film noir: an encyclopedic reference to the American style. (Ref PN 1995.9 F54 F55)

Stephens, Michael L. Film noir: a comprehensive, illustrated reference to movies, terms, and persons. (Ref PN 1995.9 F54 S74 1995)


Foreign (LCSH: motion pictures brazil, motion pictures china, motion pictures france, etc.)

Balski, Grzegorz. Directory of Eastern European Film-makers and films, 1945-1991. (Ref PN 1998.2 D55)

Bergan, Ronald and Robyn Karney. The Faber companion to foreign films. (Ref PN 1995.9 F67 B42)

Dannen, Fredric. Hong Kong Babylon: an insider's guide to the Hollywood of the East. (Ref PN 1993.5 .H6 D36 1997)

Magill. Frank N. Magill's survey of cinema: foreign language films. (Ref PN 1993.45 M34)

The Oxford History of World Cinema. (Ref PN 1993.5 A1 O96)

Rajadhysksha, Ashish. Encyclopedia of Indian cinema. (Ref PN 1993.5 I8 R277 1999)

Stewart, John. Italian film: a who's who. (Ref PN 1998.2 S74 1994)


Genres (LCSH: film genres)

Armstrong, Richard B. Encyclopedia of film themes, settings, and series. (Ref PN 1997.8 .A76 2001)

Gehring, Wes D. Handbook of American film genres. (Ref PN 1993.5 U6 H335)

Karsten, Eileen. From real life to reel life: a filmography of biographical films. (Ref PN 1995.9 B55 K37)

Lopez, Daniel. Films by genre: 775 categories, styles, trends and movements defined, with a filmography for each. (Ref PN 1998 L63)

Within our gates: ethnicity in American feature films, 1911-1960. (Ref PN 1995.9 .M56 W58 1997)


Hispanics (LCSH: Hispanic Americans in motion pictures)

Keller, Gary D. A biographical handbook of Hispanics and United States film. (Ref PN1995.9.H47 K46 1997)

Reyes, Luis. Hispanics in Hollywood: an encyclopedia of film and television. (Ref PN 1995.9 H47 R49 1994)

Richard, Alfred Charles. The Hispanic image on the silver screen: an interpretive filmography from silents into sound, 1898-1935. (Ref PN 1995.9 L37 R55). Contemporary Hollywood's negative Hispanic image: an interpretive filmography, 1956-1993. (Ref PN 1995.9 L37 R54 1994)


Horror (LCSH: horror films)

Classic- Horror: Reviewing the history of terror. http://www.classic-horror.com

Lentz, Harris M. Science fiction, horror & fantasy film and television credits. (Ref PN 1995.9 S26 L46 2001)

Milne, Tom. The Overlook film encyclopedia -- Horror. (Ref PN 1995.6 H6 M5 1994)


LGBT

(LCSH: bisexuality in motion pictures, homosexuality in motion pictures, lesbians in motion pictures)

Frameline. http://www.frameline.org Presenter of the San Francisco International LGBT Festival and the "only educational distributor solely dedicated to LGBT film and video".

Parish, James Robert. Gays and lesbians in mainstream cinema: plots, critiques, casts and credits for 272 theatrical and made-for-television Hollywood releases. (Ref PN 1995.9 H55 P37)

Stewart, Steve. Gay Hollywood film & video guide: over 75 years of male homosexuality in the movies. (Ref PN 1995.9 H55 S74)


Musicals (LCSH: musical films)

Hemming, Roy. The melody lingers on: the great songwriters and their movie musicals. (Ref ML 2075 H44 1986x)

Hischak, Thomas S. The American musical film song encyclopedia. (Ref ML 102 .M68 H57 1999)

Parish, James Robert and Michael R. Pitts. The great Hollywood musical pictures. (Ref PN 1995.9 M86 P37)


Production (LCSH: motion pictures production and direction)

Bension, Shmuel. The producer's masterguide: the international production manual for motion pictures, broadcast television, commercials, cable and videotape industries. (Ref PN 1993.5 U77 B46a)

Blu-book: Hollywood's complete guide to film, television & video production. (Ref PN 1998 A1 H6)

Carlson, Syliva. Professional cameraman's handbook. (Ref TR 850 C37)

Kemps film TV & video yearbook: a comprehensive, international production guide to the film, television and video industries. (Ref PN 1998 A1 K39)

LA411: the professional reference guide for television commercial & music video production. (Ref PN 1993.5 U65 L22)

The Reel directory. (Ref PN 1995.9 P7 R25x). Lists production services & facilities for Northern California.

Samuelson, David. "Hands-on" manual for cinematographers. (Ref TR 850 .S314 1994)


Quotations

Corey, Melinda. The dictionary of film quotations: 6,000 provocative movie quotes from 1,000 movies. (Ref PN 1994.5 .C67 1995)

A dictionary of cinema quotations from filmmakers and critics: over 3400 axioms, criticisms, opinions, and witticisms from 100 years of the cinema. (Ref PN 1994.9 .D53 2000)


Science Fiction (LCSH: science fiction films)

Hardy, Phil. The encyclopedia of science fiction movies. (PN 1995.9 S26 H3)

Lentz, Harris M. Science fiction, horror & fantasy film and television credits. (Ref PN S26 L46 2001)


Screenplays/Screenwriting (LCSH: motion picture plays, screenwriters, motion picture authorship)

Writers Guild of America. http://www.wga.org

Film Writers. (Ref PN 1996 .F448)

Langman, Larry. A guide to American screenwriters: the sound era, 1929-1982. (Ref PN 1998 L24)


Silent (LCSH: silent films)

Silent Era. http://www.silentera.com

Treasures from the Film Archives -- via FIAF (database, SF State users only). "Unique information about silent film holdings in international film archives."

Magill, Frank N. Magill's survey of cinema: silent films. (Ref PN 1993.5 U6 M34x)

Doyle, Bill. H. The ultimate directory of the silent screen performers: a necrology of births and deaths and essays on 50 lost players. (Ref PN 1998.2 .D69 1995)


Westerns (LCSH: western films)

Lentz, Harris M. Western and frontier film and television credits 1903-1995. (Ref PN 1995.9 .W4 L383 1996)


Women (LCSH: women in motion pictures)

Kuhn, Annette and Susannah Radstone. Women in film: an international guide. (Ref PN 1995.9 W6 W657)

Segrave, Kerry and Linda Martin. The post-feminist Hollywood actress: biographies and filmographies of stars born after 1939. (Ref PN 1998.2 S44)

The St. James women filmmakers' encyclopedia: women on the other side of the camera. (Ref PN 1998.2 S683 1999). Directors, editors, producers, writers, etc.

9/20/07

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.