San Francisco State University
Library Home page Welcome to your university library

J. Paul Leonard Library

Find Research Help Services About
site navigation
display graphic

Art and Architecture

About

Other Bibliographies & Research Guides that may be helpful include: Broadcasting, Cinema, History, Literary Criticism, Philosophy, etc. Printed copies are available at the Research Assistance Desk, 1st floor, and most titles are on the library's web site.

The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources located in the J. Paul Leonard Library and to selected Internet sources.

The library's web site provides the most current information about library services and collections. For more information on the location of and access to databases mentioned in this guide, go to the home page, then select "Find Articles and More." Though many are available remotely to current SF State students, faculty, and staff, some electronic resources on this list may only be available in the JPL Library.

For more information about remote access, a guide on Accessing Databases from Off-Campus is available in print form in the Reference Area, 1st floor, or on the library's web site.

Locating Books

InvestiGator

InvestiGator, the library's online catalog, is the primary resource for finding out about books, periodicals, media and SF State masters' theses owned or subscribed to by the library. Most government documents and maps are not yet included. You may search InvestiGator by word, subject, title, author and other identifiers.

Web Access: From the library's home page, you may connect to InvestiGator, the library online catalog as well other electronic resources.

Other Libraries' Online Catalogs and Union Catalogs

Access to several other online catalogs is available via the library's home page.


Periodicals Indexes, Abstracts and Related Sources

To locate newspaper and periodical articles on particular subjects, use the indexes and abstracts (print and database formats) available in the Reference Area and remotely (for most databases). To determine if the library has a particular periodical, consult InvestiGator, the online catalog and the Electronic Journal List.

Major Indexes and Abstracts for Art and Architecture:

African-American Artists on Disc, database (stand alone, Ref).
AATA Online (Art and Archeology Technical Abstracts), database 1955- .
Art Full Text, database 1984- .
Art Index Retrospective, database 1929-84.
ARTbibliographies Modern, print and database, 1971- .
Arts and Humanities Citation Index, print 1977-90, database 1975- (via Web of Science).
ARTstor, image database 2004-.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, database, 1977- .
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art, incs. RILA & RAA), database 1973- .
Design and Applied Arts Index, 1989- .
Women Artists on Disc, database (stand alone, Ref).

Other Useful Indexes and Abstracts:

Academic Search Elite (EBSCOHost), database, current.
America: History and Life, database 1982- .
ArticleFirst, database 1990- .
Clothing and Textile Arts Index, 1970- .
Contemporary Women's Issues, database 1992- .
Ethnic Newswatch, database 1991- .
Film Literature Index, 1973- .
Historical Abstracts, database 1967- .
Humanities Abstracts Full Text, database 1984- .
Humanities Index, 1974- .
IngentaConnect, database, generally 1989- .
International Index to the Performing Arts, database, 1998- .
MLA Bibliography, database 1884- .
Project Muse, 1995/96- .
ProQuest Newspapers, database, dates vary.
Web of Science, database, dates vary.

General Reference Sources

Atkins, Robert. Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords. New York: Abbeville, 1990. (Ref N 6490 A87 1990)

The Dictionary of Art. Ed. Jane Turner. NY: Grove, 1996. (Ref N 31 D5 1996 v.1-34) and Groveart (Grove Dictionary of Art Online)
The most comprehensive art encyclopedia in English.

eHRAF(access database from the Library's Web site).
Electronic database of the Human Relations Area Files. Collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject.

International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture. Ed. Randall J. Van Vynckt. Detroit: St. James, 1993. Vol. 1-Architects, Vol. 2-Architecture. (Ref NA 40 I48 1993 v. 1-2)

Great Events from History II: Arts and Culture Series. Ed. Frank N. Magill. Pasadena: Salem, 1993. (Ref NX 456 G72 1993 v.1-5)
Outlines events, arranged chronologically, covers 1897-1992.

Mayer, Ralph. A Dictionary of Art Terms and Techniques. New York: Crowell, 1969. (Ref N 33 M36)

Oxford Companion to Art. Ed. Harold Osborne. Oxford: Clarendon, 1970. (Ref N 33 O9)

The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture. Ed. Peter and Linda Murray. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1996. (Ref N 7830 M87 1996)

Oxford Companion to the Decorative Arts. Ed. Harold Osborne. Oxford: Clarendon, 1975. (Ref NK 28 O8x)

Reid, Jane Davison. Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. (Ref NX 650 M9 R45 v.1-2)

The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture. London: Phaidon, 2004. (Ref NA 680 P378 2004)

Robertson, Jack. Twentieth-Century Artists on Art: An Index to Writings, Statements, and Interviews by Artists, Architects, and Designers. 2nd enlarged ed. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1996. (Ref NX 456 R59 1996)

Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 20th ed. Ed. Dan Cruickshank. Oxford: Architectural Press, 1996. (Ref NA 200 F63 1996)

Walker, John A. Glossary of Art, Architecture, & Design Since 1945. 3rd ed. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1992. (Ref N 34 W34 1992)

Selected Biographical Sources

Biography and Geneology Master Index. Gale Research, 1980- . (Ref Z 5305 U5 B57 and Internet Access Available)

Benezit, E. Dictionnaire Critique et Documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs.... Nouvelle edition. Paris: Librairie Gruend, 1999. (Ref N 40 B47 1999 v. 1-14)

Contemporary Architects. Ed. Ann Lee Morgan and Colin Naylor. 2nd ed. Chicago: St. James Press, 1987. (Ref NA 680 C625)

Contemporary Artists. Ed. Joann Cerrito. 4th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1996. (Ref N 6490 C6567)

Contemporary Designers. Ed. Sara Pendergast. 3rd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997. (Ref NK 1390 C655)
Includes graphic art, industrial product, fashion, textiles, interior design, theatre and film costume.

Contemporary Graphic Artists. Ed. Maurice Horn. Detroit: Gale, 1988. (Ref NC 999.2 C65 v. 1-3)

Contemporary Photographers. Ed. Martin Marix Evans. 3rd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1995. (Ref TR 139 C664 1995)

Contemporary Women Artists. Ed. Laurie Collier Hillstrom and Kevin Hillstrom. Detroit: St. James Press, c1999. (Ref N 8354 .C66 1999)

Dictionary of Women Artists. Ed. Delia Gaze. London: Fitzroy, 1997. (Ref N 8354 D53 1997 v. 1-2)

Gealt, Adelheid M. Painting of the Golden Age: A Biographical Dictionary of Seventeenth-Century European Painters. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1993 (Ref ND 459 G43 1993)

Havlice, Patricia. Index to Artistic Biography. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1973. 2 vols., suppl. 1981. (Ref N 40 H38)

Heller, Jules and Nancy G. Heller, eds. North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Garland, 1995 (Ref N 6503 N67 1995)

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. Ed. Adolf K. Placzek. London: Collier Macmillan, 1982. 4 vols. (Ref NA 40 M25 1982)

Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993- . (Ref N 7112 S67 1993, v.1-4)

St. James Guide to Black Artists. Ed. T. Riggs. Detroit: Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture, 1997 (Ref N 40 S78 1997)

St. James Guide to Native North American Artists. Ed. R. Matuz. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998. (Ref E 98 A7 S8 1998)

Thieme, Ulrich and Felix Becker. Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kuenstler. Leipzig: E.A. Seeman, 1907-1950. 37 vols., suppl. 1953-1961. 5 vols. (Ref N 40 T4)
Known as Thieme-Becker's Kuenstler-Lexicon. Extensive, definitive biographical dictionary of artists. In German.

Who's Who in American Art. NY: R.R. Bowker. Vol. 1 1936/1937- . (Ref N 6536 W5)
Biographical sketches of living American artists.

Themes, Symbols and Symbolism

Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane. Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art. New York: Continuum, 1996. (Ref N 7793 W65 A66 1996)

Appleton, LeRoy H. and Stephen Bridges. Symbolism in Liturgical Art. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1959. (Ref N 7825 A7)

Daniel, Howard. Encyclopedia of Themes and Subjects in Painting: Mythological, Biblical, Historical, Literary, Allegorical, and Topical. NY: Abrams, 1971. (Ref ND 1288 D3 1971)

Earls, Irene. Renaissance Art: A Topical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood, 1987. (Ref N 6370 E27 1987)

Hall, James. Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art. Revised edition. New York: Harper & Row, 1979. (Ref N 7560 1979x)

Roberts, Helene E., ed. Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998. (Ref N 7560 E53 1998 v.1-2)

Whittlesay, Eunice S. Symbols and Legends in Western Art: A Museum Guide. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1972. (Ref N 7740 W53)

Reproductions

Clapp, Jane. Sculpture Index. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1970. (Ref NB 36 C55 v. 1-2)

Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1977. 2 vols. and suppls. (Ref ND 45 H38)

Monro, Isabel Stevenson and Kate M. Monro. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1948. First Supplement, 1964. (Ref ND 205 M57)

Munro, Isabel Stevenson and Kate M. Monro. Index to Reproductions of European Paintings. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1956. (Ref ND 45 M6)

Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Contemporary Art and Artists: An Index to Reproductions. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1978. (Ref N 6490 P3234)

Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Photography Index: A Guide to Reproductions. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1979. (Ref TR 199 P37)

Parry, Pamela Jeffcott and Kathe Chipman. Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1983. (Ref NE 90 P17 1983)

Smith, Lynn Wall and Nancy Dustin Wall Moure. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings Appearing in More Than 400 Books, Mostly Published Since 1960. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1977. (Ref ND 205 S575)

Teague, Edward H. World Architecture Index: A Guide to Illustrations. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. (NA 202 T4 1991)

Williams, Lynn Barstis. American Printmakers 1880-1945: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1993. (Ref NE 507 W53 1993)

Chronologies

Brownstone, David and Irene Franck. Timelines of the Arts and Literature. New York: HarperCollins, 1994. (Ref NX 447.5 B76 1994)

Freeman-Grenville, G.S.P. Chronology of World History: A Calendar of Principal Events from 3000 BC to AD 1976. 2nd ed. London: Rex Collins, 1978. (Ref D 11 F75 1978)

Mair, Roslin. Key Dates in Art History: From 600 BC to the Present. Oxford: Phaidon, 1979. (Ref N 5300 M35x)

Paxton, John and Sheila Fairfield. Calendar of Creative Man. New York: Facts on File, 1980. (Ref NX 447.5 P38)

Yarwood, Doreen. A Chronology of Western Architecture. London: B.T. Batsford, 1987. (Ref NA 200 Y37 1987b)

Guides to the Literature

These sources provide a guide to major resources available in a subject field.

Arntzen, Etta. Guide to the Literature of Art History. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980. (Ref Z 5931 A67)

Ehresmann, Donald L. Applied and Decorative Arts: A Bibliographic Guide. 2nd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1993. (Ref Z 5956 A68 E47 1993)

Ehresmann, Donald L. Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks. 3rd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1990. (Ref Z 5931 E47 1990)

Ehresmann, Donald L. Architecture: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1984. (Z 5941 E38 1984 Bib Room)

Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information and the Internet: How to Find It, How to Use It. Phoenix: Oryx, 1999. (Ref N 59 J66 1999)

Marmor, Max and Alex Ross. Guide to the Literature of Art History 2. Chicago: American Library Association, 2005. (Ref Z 5931 M374 2005)

Wayne, Kathryn M. Architecture Sourcebook: a Guide to Resources on the Practice of Architecture. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1997. (Ref Z 5943 .A72 A75 1997)

Directories

American Art Directory. New York: Jacques Cattell Press, annual. (Ref N 50 A54)
Provides information about art schools, museums and galleries, scholarships and fellowships, major art periodicals and newspapers, etc.

International Directory of Arts. Munich: K.G. Saur, bi-annual. (Ref N 50 I6 v. 1-3)
Lists museums, galleries, associations, dealers, publishers, booksellers, auctioneers, etc.

The Official Museum Directory. New Providence, NJ, irregular. (Ref AM 10 A2 O4 2001)

Citing Sources

The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003. (Ref Z 253 U69 2003)

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed. New York: Modern Languages Association of America, 2003. (Ref LB 2369 .G53 2003)

Document Delivery Services

If the library does not have the periodical or book you need, you may be able to obtain a photocopy of the article or borrow the book from another library. For more information about DDS and how to order materials, go the Library Home Page and select Document Delivery, or ask at the DDS desk in the library, 1st floor. The IngentaConnect database offers unmediated document delivery for selected periodical articles not in the library. Link+ allows SF State students, faculty and staff to request books from other cooperating libraries if a book is unavailable at the JPL Library.

 

Selected Internet Sites

The following is a selective list of internet sites that may be useful, depending on your specific research interests. You may find additional websites and information by using web search services such as Yahoo, Google, etc., accessible by going to the JPL Library home page (http://www.library.sfsu.edu).

Sites on the World Wide Web are proliferating exponentially and it would be impossible to keep any list of art internet sites up-to-date. But here is a glimpse of some sites that might be of interest.

Artcyclopedia. http://Artcyclopedia.com/
Allows you to search artists represented on Internet sites of museums, image archives, and other online resources.

Art in Context. http://www.artincontext.org/
Online reference source for information about artists and where to find their work.

Art Source. http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html
Database compiled by art librarians, artists and art historians, provides pointers to selected art and architecture-related Internet resources.

AskART.com. http://www.askart.com
Provides information on American artists, including books, periodical articles, biographies, auction records, etc.

SF State Creative Arts Events. http://www.collegeofcreativearts.org/visual_arts/finearts_events.html
Listing of events sponsored by the College of Creative Arts, SF State.

Worldwide Arts Resources. http://wwar.com/
A registry of arts information, includes selective information about artists, galleries & museums, schedules, art history, antiques, crafts, resources on film/theatre/dance, etc.

 

SF State Home
J. Paul Leonard Library, 1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 - 415.338.1854 - libweb@sfsu.edu
JPLL uses valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, and valid CSS.