AFRICANA STUDIES (African American, African Diaspora)
About
This guide directs the user to resources in Africana Studies, defined as encompassing the historical and cultural experiences of African Americans, blacks in the Diaspora and on the African continent. The following bibliography is a selective guide to resources available in the J. Paul Leonard Library or through the Internet.
Also, consult the Ethnic Studies research guide and research guides in other academic areas depending on your topic.
Locating Books
Books at SF State:
To find books go to the Library homepage, [www.library.edu], and select Find Books & More. You can search InvestiGator, the Library’s online catalog, by “Keyword”, “Author”, or “Title”. Also, you can search by “Subject”, using Library of Congress (LC) subject heading terms. Below is a list of LC subject terms used in the SFSU catalog. The following links take you directly to a current list of books and other resources for each topic in the SFSU Library.
Africa–Civilization
African Americans–History
African Americans–California––History
African Americans–Relations with Africans
African Diaspora
Afro–centrism
American literature–African American authors
Black nationalism
Blacks–Brazil [note: the subject heading Blacks is used for populations outside of the U.S]
Caribbean Area–Blacks––History
Garvey, Marcus, 1887–1940 [note: for books about Garvey, not written by him]
Gullahs––History
Pan–Africanism
Women – Africa –Political activity
Books at Other Libraries:
1. From the Library homepage under “FIND: More”, select Link+, a union catalog of more than 30 California libraries, all in one searchable database; borrowing books is free, and they usually arrive within 3–5 days. To use Link+, SFSU students, faculty, and staff must go to the Library’s Home Page to set up a Library PIN.
2. From the Library homepage under “FIND: More”, select WorldCat. This database contains records for books in libraries nationwide and internationally. To order the books you locate, first search InvestiGator (the SFSU library catalog) to see if we have the book here. If we do not, SFSU students, faculty and staff may request (free of charge) books through Document Delivery Services. Try Link+ first; if it's not available there, use the iLLiad service. This process can take anywhere between 3 days - 3 weeks, so you need to plan ahead!
More info: Finding Books research guide
LOCATING JOURNAL, MAGAZINE, & NEWSPAPER ARTICLES
SFSU databases can be accessed from the Library’s homepage under “Find : Articles & Databases.” To access databases off-campus, SFSU students, faculty, and staff should create a Library PIN from the link “Library Services: Library Accounts & PIN” provided on the Library’s homepage.
More info on how to search: Finding Articles research guide
| Source | Content | Location |
|---|---|---|
| Most useful: | ||
| AMERICA: HISTORY & LIFE | Scholarly/research journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada. Includes articles published from 1964-present | ONLINE |
| HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS | Scholarly/research journal articles on the history of the world (non-United States/Canada) from 1500–present. Includes articles published from 1955–present. | Scholarly⁄research journal articles on the history of the world (non–United States⁄Canada) from 1500–present. Includes articles published from 1955–present. |
| International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text | Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean––and full–text coverage of 25 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward). | ONLINE |
| PsycINFO | Indexes journals, book chapters and records in Psychology and related disciplines. | ONLINE |
| Sociological Abstracts | Indexes journals and dissertations in Sociology, with many full–text links. | ONLINE |
| Also useful: | ||
| Academic Search Premier | Multi-disciplinary, provides full-text and/or abstracts for peer-reviewed publications and general magazine articles. | ONLINE |
| African-American Artists on Disc | A comprehensive, annotated bibliography of black artists and art in the United States, spanning nearly three centuries. Available upon request at Reference desk, 1st floor. | REFERENCE DESK |
| Black Thought and Culture | Database of primary sources, including, monographs, speeches, essays articles, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from earliest times to 1975. Includes the full run of The Black Panther – the party's newspaper – and 2,500 pages of oral history interviews recorded by the former Black Panther, David Hilliard. | ONLINE |
| Black Studies on Disc | Available on CD-ROM by request at Reference Desk, 1st floor. Includes cumulative catalog of the Schomburg Center. | Reference Desk |
| ERIC | Journal articles and unpublished research reports in education, curriculum studies, teaching. | ONLINE |
| Ethnic Newswatch | Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic & minority presses in the U.S. & abroad. | ONLINE |
| GenderWatch | A full–text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. | ONLINE |
| GPO (Government Printing Office) | Citations to U.S. federal documents published from 1976 to present. | ONLINE |
| Humanities Full Text | Scholarly journal articles on the humanities, including history. Particularly useful for those researching pre–1500 historical topics. | ONLINE |
| JSTOR | Full–text to back files of core scholarly⁄academic journals in a number of disciplines. Does not include the most recent two or three years. | ONLINE |
| Literature Online (LION) | Full-text of English & American literary texts. Also, includes the MLA International Bibliography, critical & scholarly articles on world literature, and a collection of African American poetry from the earliest times to the 20th century. | ONLINE |
| Worldwide Political Science Abstracts | Provides citations and abstracts to political science articles. | ONLINE |
Electronic Journal List
In addition to using library databases to find articles, you can search specific journals online if they are covered in the Library’s Electronic Journal List. From the Library’s homepage, select “Find: Electronic Journal List.” You can search by title or by broad subject categories. Some relevant online journals for Africana Studies include:
- Africa Today (1990– )
- African American Review (1994– )
- African Studies Review (1970–)
- Black Scholar (1988– )
- Callaloo (1976– )
- Journal of African American Studies (2003– )
- Journal of Black Studies (1970– )
- Obsidian II (1999– )
- Research in African Literatures (1993–)
- Western Journal of Black Studies (1996– )
Retrieving Books and Articles not in the SFSU Library
If a book is not in the Library's collection or not "available," you may be able to request it through Link+, at the top of the screen where you were searching for books. If our library does not own the periodical, book or other publication you need, go to the Library's homepage and select “Library Services – Requesting Items We Don't Have”. There is no charge for this service for SFSU students, faculty and staff.
Goverment Publications
The Government Publications Department, 5th floor, houses many useful publications relevant to Black studies research. The collection includes materials published by city, state, federal, foreign, and international organizations. Government publications are particularly valuable as sources of statistical information.
For information on major indexes, databases, and Internet sites for locating government documents and statistical information, go to the Government Information and Finding Statistical Information: a Basic Toolkit.
Also, the Government Publications Department has U.S. government census data by race and other social indicators in print and CD-ROM formats for various years.
Selected Documents & Sites:
- Black family research : records of post–Civil War federal agencies at the National Archives (Govt Stacks AE 1.124:108/2006 )
- Black Population in the United States (U.S. Census Bureau) http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/race/black.html
- Mail fraud charges against Marcus Garvey : hearing before the Subcommittee on Criminal Justice of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundredth Congress, first session … July 28, 1987 (Govt Stacks Y 4.J 89/1:100/69 )
- Racial and ethnic health disparities : a review of selected state programs (Govt Stacks California, etc.)
- Status and Trends in the Education of Blacks (U.S. Dept. of Education) http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS38554
MEDIA ACCESS CENTER AND COMPUTER LAB
The Media Access Center, 3rd floor, houses non-print media and equipment for use by students and faculty. The collection includes DVD’s, CD’s, films, video cassettes, sound cassettes, musical scores, and software. Most of the media collection is listed in the Library's online catalog. In addition, the Media Access Center's computer lab has an array of computers available for personal computing.
Academic Technology, located on the ground floor of the Library, also has an extensive collection of films which may be used in SF State courses with the instructor present or by individual students and faculty members in viewing booths, in the Media Access Center.
The following titles represent examples from the collection related to Africana Studies:Africa : a Voyage of Discovery with Basil Davidson [Video recording] (Videotape 85161–85163)
- Brother minister [video recording] : the assassination of El–Hajj Malik Shabazz (DVD 50202)
- Harriet Tubman and the Underground Railroad [Video recording] (Videotape 90668)
- Remembering Slavery: African Americans Talk About Their Personal Experiences of Slavery and Emancipation [ Sound Recording] (Audiocassette CT–568)
- Scramble for Africa [Video recording] (Academic Technology Videotape 851561)
- The Trans–Atlantic slave trade [computer file] (Software 1 115 CD)
- West Africa: Drum, Chant, & Instrumental Music (Compact Disc CD–05165)
- The World, A Television History. Africa Before the Europeans, 100–1500. [Video recording] (Videotape 91946)
Reference Sources
Bibliographies
- Africa Bibliography(1984–current) (Reference Index Area)
- G.K. Hall interdisciplinary bibliographic guide to Black studies (Ref Z1361.N39 S373a 2001 )
Biography
- African American Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. (Ref E185 .A253 2001)
- African–American Biographies (Ref E185.96 .H38 1992–)
- African–American Political Leaders (Ref E185.96 .C18 2004)
- African American Writers (Ref PS153 .N5 A344 2001)
- African Americans in Science, Math, and Invention (Ref Q141 .S6285 2003)
- Black Women in America (Ref E185.86 .B542 2005)
- Contemporary Black Biography (Ref E185.96 .C6
- Notable Black American Men (Ref E185.96.N68 1999)
- Notable Black American Women (Ref E185.96 .N68 1992)
- Who's Who Among African Americans (Ref E185.96 .W52 19th ed. 2006)
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks/Yearbooks/Atlases
- Africa South of the Sahara (Ref DT351 .A37)
- Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (Ref DT14 . A37435 2005)
- The Atlas of African–American History and Politics: From the Slave Trade to Modern Times (Ref E185 .S574 1998)
- A Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Egypt (Ref DT83 .D2 1996)
- The Black Handbook: the People, History, and Politics of Africa and the African Diaspora (Ref DT20 .B86 1997)
- Black Literature Criticism: excerpts from criticism of the most significant works of Black authors over the past 200 years (Ref PS153.N5 B556 1992)
- Dictionary of Afro–Latin American Civilization (Ref F1408.3 .N86)
- Encyclopedia of African–American Culture & History (Ref E185 .E54 1996)
- Encyclopedia of African–American Education (Ref LC2717 .E53 1996)
- Encyclopedia of African American Religions (Ref BR563 .N4 E53 1993)
- Encyclopedia of African American Society [Electronic Resource–Access via Investigator] [SFSU users only]
- Encyclopedia of African History (Ref DT20 .E53 2005)
- Encyclopedia of Black Studies [Electronic resource – Access from InvestiGator] [SFSU users only]
- Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature (Ref PN849 .C3 E53 2006)
- Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America (Ref E185.61 .E544 1998)
- Encyclopedia of Pre–colonial Africa (Ref DT2 .E53 1997)
- Microsoft Encarta Africana [computer file] (Media Access Center Software I 101 CD)
Directories
- Financial Aid for African Americans (Ref LB2338 .F5643 2006-08)
- Organizing Black America: an Encyclopedia of African American Associations (Ref E185.5 .O74 2001)
Statistics
- Black Demographic Data, 1790–1860: A Sourcebook (Main E185.18 .C73 1997)
- Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook (Ref E185 .B55x 2006)
- Historical Statistics of Black America (Ref E185 .H543 1995)
Primary Sources
Also see the Library Guide: History: Primary Sources.
SF State Library Databases
The SF State library subscribes to many databases that contain full-text (reproductions and/or transcripts) of historic documents:
- Black Thought & Culture. Full-text primary sources –– books, speeches, essays, interviews, and oral histories documenting African American teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, entertainers, and more up to 1975. Includes a full run of The Black Panther (the party's newspaper) and extensive oral history interviews recorded by former Black Panther, David Hilliard.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800). Full–text reproductions of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States and American colonies from 1639 to 1800. See section : Blacks as Authors.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819). Full–text reproductions of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States from 1801 to 1809 (collection will eventually include up to 1819). Also contains full-text copies of state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions. See section: Slave Narratives.
- Oral History Online. Full–text transcripts and audio/video files of oral history interviews from a wide range of subjects. See subjects beginning with African Americans or search for individuals, i.e., A Philip Randolph.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers The Chicago Defender :1905-1975. (Continuing coverage in Ethnic NewsWatch)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Los Angeles Sentinel: 1946-2005 . The oldest & largest African–American owned newspaper in the U.S.(Continuing coverage in Ethnic NewsWatch)
SFSU Primary Resources in Print and Microform
- African American History in the Press, 1851–1899: From the Coming of the Civil War to the Rise of Jim Crow as Reported and illustrated in Selected Newspapers of the Time (Ref E185.2 .A25 1996)
- Afro–American History Series. (Periodicals :Special Collections Microfiche) Collections
- Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830–1865. (Main E449 .B624 1985)
- Colored American Magazine (May 1900–November 1909) (Periodicals Microfiche)
- Liberia (1892–1909) (Bound Periodical Stacks)
- National Negro Voice (1941) (Bound Periodical Stacks)
- Opportunity: Journal of Negro Life (1923–1949) (Bound Periodical Stacks)
- Pacific Appeal (California African American newspaper) (April 5, 1862–June 12, 1880; incomplete run)(Periodicals Microfilm)
- Radical Abolitionist. (1855–1858)(Bound Periodical Stacks)
- Voice of the Negro (1904–1907) (Bound Periodical Stacks)
Selected Bay Area Libraries with Primary Collections
- The African American Museum and Library at Oakland http://www.oaklandlibrary.org/AAMLO/
- San Francisco African American Historical and Cultural Society Library http://www.sfblackhistory.org/OurMission.asp
- UC Berkeley's Library—African American Microforms Collection http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/doemoff/afr_amer/microform.html
Selected Books in SFSU Library
- Beasley, D. The Negro Trail Blazers of California (Main E185.C2 B4 1997)
- Broussard, Albert S. Black San Francisco : the struggle for racial equality in the West, 1900–1954
- Crouchett, L. P. Visions Toward Tomorrow: the History of the East Bay Afro–American Community, 1852-1977. (Main F869.02 .C76 1989)
- De Graaf, L., ed. Seeking El Dorado: African Americans in California (Main F870.N4 S44 2001)
- Lapp, R. Afro–Americans in California. (Main E185.93.C2 L35 1987)
- Lapp, R. Blacks in Gold Rush California (Main E185.93.C2 L36)
- Wheeler, B. Black California: The History of African-Americans in the Golden State (Main E185.93.C2 W47 1993)
Internet Sites
- African Americans in California (UC Berkeley, Bancroft Library) http://bancroft.berkeley.edu/reference/africanamerican/
- Cultural History: African Americans.: A History of Black Americans in California (Sierra Nevada Virtual Museum) http://www.sierranevadavirtualmuseum.com/docs/galleries/history/culture/afican.htm
Selected Internet Resources
- Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources http://www-sul.stanford.edu/africa/guide.html
- African–American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/african/intro.html
- African Diaspora (Columbia University Libraries) http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/cuvl/diaspora.html
- African Diaspora: Latin American Resources (University of Texas) http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/african/
- African Literature Literatures Written in English (Voice of the Shuttle) (US Santa Barbara) http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2719#id149
- Africana Subject Guides (John Henrik Clarke Africana Library, Cornell University) http://www.library.cornell.edu/africana/guides/
- African Timelines (Cora Agatucci, University of Oregon) http://web.cocc.edu/cagatucci/classes/hum211/timelines/htimelinetoc.htm
- allAfrica http://allafrica.com/ “AllAfrica aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources”.
- American Memory Online Collections Includes African-American Pamphlet Collection, African–American Sheet Music, Frederick Douglass Papers, Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, Southern Black Churches texts, First-Person Narratives of the American South, etc.
- Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record http://hitchcock.itc.virginia.edu/Slavery/index.php
- BBC News: Africa http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/default.stm
- Black Press USA http://www.blackpressusa.com/news/NationalNews.asp National website featuring news exclusively from African-American journalists and Black community publications
- BlackPast.Org (Quintard Taylor, University of Washington) http://www.blackpast.org/
- Blacks in Latin America and the Caribbean: Selected Bibliographic (University of Texas http://www.lib.utexas.edu/benson/bibnot/bn-54-1.html
- Brown vs. the Board of Education Digital Archive (University of Michigan) http://www.lib.umich.edu/exhibits/brownarchive/index.html
- The Digital Schomburg (NY Public Library) http://www.nypl.org/research/sc/digital.html Digital collections and exhibits include African American Women Writers of the 19th Century, Images of African Americans from the 19th Century, and Selected Clips from the Louis Armstrong Jazz Oral History Project.
- Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill) http://docsouth.unc.edu/ First-person narratives of the American South, North American slave narratives, etc.
- The Dred Scott Case (Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.) http://library.wustl.edu/vlib/dredscott/ Digital images and transcriptions of 85 original documents from the Dred and Harriet Scott cases tried in St. Louis courts between 1846 and 1852.
- Internet African History Sourcebook (Fordham University) http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/africa/africasbook.html
- Martin Luther King Jr. Papers Project (Stanford University) http://www.stanford.edu/group/King/mlkpapers/
- Minority Literatures: African American Literature (Voice of the Shuttle) (UC Santa Barbara) http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2746
- Resources in Black Studies: The African Diaspora (Sylvia Curtis, UC Santa Barbara) http://www.library.ucsb.edu/subjects/blackstudies/black.html
- Recommended African American Websites (Garcia, Iowa State University) http://www.public.iastate.edu/~savega/afr_amer.htm
- Resources in Black Studies (UCSB Libraries) http://www.library.ucsb.edu/subjects/blackstudies/black.html
- World Wide Virtual History: U.S.: African American History (George Laughead) http://vlib.iue.it/history/USA/african-american.html
- Yahoo's African American Studies links http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Ethnic_Studies/African_American/?skw=Yahoo%27s+African+American+Studies+links


